Eco, Umberto Baudolino

ISBN 13: 9780099422396

Baudolino

3.7 avg rating
( 15,195 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099422396: Baudolino

An extraordinary epic, brilliantly-imagined, new novel from a world-class writer and author of The Name of the Rose. Discover the Middle Ages with Baudolino - a wondrous, dazzling, beguiling tale of history, myth and invention.

It is 1204, and Constantinople is being sacked and burned by the knights of the fourth Crusade. Amid the carnage and confusion Baudolino saves a Byzantine historian and high court official from certain death at the hands of the crusading warriors, and proceeds to tell his own fantastical story.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

In Baudolino the ever ingenious Umberto Eco draws on the medieval legends surrounding Prester John--a mythical Christian emperor of the Far East--to create a sprawling, picaresque adventure yarn.

The eponymous Baudolino is the book's hero and chief, although deeply unreliable, narrator. After a brief foray into Baudolino's youthful attempts at autobiography, the novel opens in Constantinople in 1204, at the time of the Fourth Crusade. Baudolino has helped Niketas Choniates, the chancellor of the basileus of Byzantium, to flee the city. As the men make their way to safety Baudolino begins to recount, with numerous digressions and contradictions, his extraordinary life story. Born an Italian peasant, Baudolino claims to have been adopted as a boy by the Holy Roman Emperor Frederick Barbarossa. Sent to Paris to learn "the art of saying well that which may or may not be true" Baudolino fell in with a band of good fellows and fell in love with his stepmother. After being embroiled in the canonisation of Charlemagne; finding the sacred remains of the Magi and helping Frederick with a siege or two, Baudolino and chums, armed with the Holy Grail, set off on a particularly monster strewn journey to find the holy Prestor John. Teaming with Eco's customary metafictional games, intellectual jokes and elaborate (and even ludicrous) theological discussions, this novel is possibly his most accessible, and arguably enjoyable, since The Name of the Rose. --Travis Elborough

Review:

"A whirlwind of an adventure- and has everything - myths, marvels, monsters, murders, mysteries" ( Financial Times)

"Here is the Eco of The Name of the Rose...poised, mischievous and erudite, the fruit of extraordinary knowledge" ( Washington Post)

"[Eco] has given us, in the book's central character, a grand and sympathetic figure in the tradition of Candide and Sancho Panza" ( Independent on Sunday)

"Mixing pages of intellectual discussion and exhilarating comedy - further reveals Eco's practically inexhaustible erudition" ( Irish Times)

"A richly entertaining novel" ( Sunday Times)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. An extraordinary epic, brilliantly-imagined, new novel from a world-class writer and author of The Name of the Rose. Discover the Middle Ages with Baudolino - a wondrous, dazzling, beguiling tale of history, myth and invention. It is 1204, and Constantinople is being sacked and burned by the knights of the fourth Crusade. Amid the carnage and confusion Baudolino saves a Byzantine historian and high court official from certain death at the hands of the crusading warriors, and proceeds to tell his own fantastical story. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099422396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Eco, Umberto
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 1674543-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. An extraordinary epic, brilliantly-imagined, new novel from a world-class writer and author of The Name of the Rose. Discover the Middle Ages with Baudolino - a wondrous, dazzling, beguiling tale of history, myth and invention. It is 1204, and Constantinople is being sacked and burned by the knights of the fourth Crusade. Amid the carnage and confusion Baudolino saves a Byzantine historian and high court official from certain death at the hands of the crusading warriors, and proceeds to tell his own fantastical story. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099422396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Eco, Umberto
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800994223960000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Vintage (2003)
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2003. Book Condition: New. It is April 1204, and Constantinople, the splendid capital of the Byzantine Empire, is being sacked and burned by the knights of the Fourth Crusade. Amid the carnage and confusion, one Baudolino saves a Byzantine historian and high court official from certain death at the hands of the crusading warriors, and proceeds to tell his own story. Num Pages: 528 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 32. Weight in Grams: 378. . 2003. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099422396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. It is April 1204, and Constantinople, the splendid capital of the Byzantine Empire, is being sacked and burned by the knights of the Fourth Crusade. Amid the carnage and confusion, one Baudolino saves a Byzantine historian and high court official from certain death at the hands of the crusading warriors, and proceeds to tell his own story. Num Pages: 528 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 32. Weight in Grams: 378. . 2003. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099422396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Vintage 2003-10-02 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 2003-10-02, 2003. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00487639

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Eco, Umberto
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 33mm. Paperback. An extraordinary epic, brilliantly-imagined, new novel from a world-class writer and author of The Name of the Rose. Discover the Middle Ages with Baudolino - a wondrous, dazzling, beguili.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 528 pages. 0.364. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099422396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Eco, Umberto
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; An extraordinary epic, brilliantly-imagined, new novel from a world-class writer and author of The Name of the Rose. Discover the Middle Ages with Baudolino - a wondrous, dazzling, beguiling tale of history, myth and invention. It is 1204, and Constantinople is being sacked and burned by the knights. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099422396_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.85
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Eco, Umberto
Published by Vintage (2003)
ISBN 10: 0099422395 ISBN 13: 9780099422396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Green Books
(Wicklow, Ireland)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New Book. Shipping: Once your order has been confirmed and payment received, your order will then be processed. The book will be located by our staff, packaged and despatched to you as quickly as possible. From time to time, items get mislaid en route. If your item fails to arrive, please contact us first. We will endeavour to trace the item for you and where necessary, replace or refund the item. Please do not leave negative feedback without contacting us first. All orders will be dispatched within two working days. If you have any quesions please contact us. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099422396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.23
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book