Creative Truths in Provincial Policing

4 avg rating
( 13 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780091958893: Creative Truths in Provincial Policing

It doesn’t take much to tip the world into chaos. You don’t even have to mean to do it. You might be an honest family man; a police chief in a small town in Central Vietnam, say, with no desire whatsoever to unleash catastrophe. A man such as Chief Duong, with simple dreams of domestic happiness and future immortality by means of a small statue on a roundabout.

But the problem with dreams is it’s often hard to look ahead. To see that borrowing money for your daughter’s marriage to a local bigwig will lead to the kidnap of a footballer from Scunthorpe, the downfall of a global soft drinks empire, incidents of attempted matricide, public murder, re-arranged marriage, hypnotic malpractice, and one unfortunate act of geriatric perversion. And that’s not to mention what happens to the town’s monkeys.

Because every action has a consequence.

And were she asked Mrs Duong could consult her astrological charts and tell her husband exactly that.

But it’s not just the chief who needs telling. There’s roving British blogger, J C Bone, with an illegal marriage contract on his hands, and Global Human Resource Manager, Sherry-Sioux with a celebrity surveillance programme to keep under wraps. There’s a chief superintendent with lucrative investment plans and a physician with trail-blazing psychological ambitions. And then there’s Chief Duong’s freedom-fighting children.

You see the biggest problem with chaos is that once it’s unleashed, everyone’s involved.

And once everyone’s involved, how on earth is one little police chief ever going to put things right?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

An exuberant, wildly original and darkly comic tale of family, ambition and talking monkeys – for fans of AM Homes, Ned Beauman, Nick Harkaway and The Number One Ladies Detective Agency.

About the Author:

Paula Lichtarowicz’s debut The First Book of Calamity Leek was described as ‘hypnotic…one of the hottest reads of the year’ ( Elle) and 'a mash-up of Roald Dahl and Margaret Atwood' ( Lady). She lives in London and works in television production.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lichtarowicz, Paula
Published by Hutchinson (2015)
ISBN 10: 009195889X ISBN 13: 9780091958893
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Travel-Bookshop
(Hertfordshire, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. PLEASE NOTE THAT THE BOOK IS NEW & UNUSED BUT THERE IS A TINY AMOUNT OF DAMAGE TO THE SIDE EDGE OF A FEW PAGES. Brand new books and maps available immediately from a reputable and well rated UK bookseller - not sent from the USA; despatched promptly and reliably worldwide by Royal Mail; Bookseller Inventory # BOO04159780091958893

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lichtarowicz, Paula
Published by Hutchinson (2015)
ISBN 10: 009195889X ISBN 13: 9780091958893
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 009195889X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
29.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lichtarowicz, Paula
Published by Hutchinson (2015)
ISBN 10: 009195889X ISBN 13: 9780091958893
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 432 pages. 8.82x5.67x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk009195889X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
32.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds