V. M. Whitworth The Bone Thief: (Wulfgar 1)

ISBN 13: 9780091948740

The Bone Thief: (Wulfgar 1)

3.64 avg rating
( 170 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780091948740: The Bone Thief: (Wulfgar 1)

A time of turmoil. A kingdom in dispute. An unlikely hero...Edward, son of Alfred the Great, has inherited the Kingdom of Wessex and achieved a precarious set of alliances through marriage and military conquest. But the alliance is uneasy and the kingdom of Mercia has more reason than most to fear the might of Wessex. Their Lord is elderly and perhaps mortally sick, and his wife fears that she does not have the power to withstand hostile takeover. She also knows too well what her neighbour is capable of - after all, King Edward is her brother. The chance to rescue St Oswald's bones, beloved patron saint, to consecrate her new church and unite the people behind her, is too good an opportunity to miss. But they are rumoured to be buried a long way north - outside Lincoln, deep in hostile territory. Her secretary, Wulfgar, groomed for the priesthood since he was a boy in the elegant cloisters of Winchester cathedral but a naive in the ways of the wider world - is surprised to be sent on this mission. It will prove an incredibly dangerous journey, requiring resources and courage Wulfgar did not know he had, and support from surprising allies along the way including a maverick priest and a Viking adventuress whose loyalties are far from clear...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"VM Whitworth's gripping tale combines convincing historical details with a well constructed plot, but its greatest asset is undoubtedly its central character. In Wulfgar, she has created an immensely appealing hero whose further adventures readers will anticipate with relish." ( BBC History Magazine)

"Excellent - definitely for Sansom/Parris readers." ( Bookseller)

"Once you're in, you will be hooked." ( Weight Watchers Magazine)

"...an excellent debut whodunit with a Viking theme which is to be followed next year by The Traitors' Pit, to which I am already looking forward." (Mike Russell The Sunday Herald)

Book Description:

A major new historical epic set in Anglo Saxon England... in the tradition of C.J. Sansom and Rory Clements

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want