A Beginner's Guide To Acting English

3.83 avg rating
( 920 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780091924775: A Beginner's Guide To Acting English

Hilarious and heartwarming, this memoir is the story of growing up in a strange land where you don't speak the language, everyone smells like milk, and to top it off, the Ayatollah wants you and your family dead In the tradition of Nancy Mitford's The Pursuit of Love and Gerald Durrell's My Family and Other Animals, comes a story of a young narrator in the midst of her eccentric family. But rather than landed gentry or bohemian travelers, it's a mad extended Iran clan who flee Tehran to 1980s Britain after the fall the Shah. Five year old Shappi and her beloved brother Peyvand arrive with their parents in London—all cold weather and strange food—without a word of English. If adapting to a new culture isn't troubling enough, it soon becomes clear that the Ayatollah's henchmen are in pursuit. With the help of MI5, Shappi's family go into hiding. So apart from checking under the family car for bombs every morning, Shappi's childhood is like any other kids—swings in the park, school plays, kiss-chase, and terrorists.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Shappi Khorsandi was born in 1973 in Tehran and moved to London with her family in 1976 who were exiled after the revolution of 1979. A stand-up comedian, she has performed all over the world including her annual sell-out run at the Edinburgh festival.

Review:

"Britain’s best young female comic by any yardstick."  —Guardian

"[Shappi] has a fascinating story to tell, married to one of the warmest, most engaging performance styles I have seen."  —Observer

"An extraordinary story . . . really funny and warm."  —Graham Norton

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Shappi Khorsandi
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800919247750000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Shappi Khorsandi
Published by Ebury Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It s 1977 and life in Iran is becoming unpredictable. The Shah will be overthrown and events are about to take place on the world stage. But for five-year-old Shappi Khorsandi all this means is that she must flee, leaving behind a mad extended Iran clan and everything she has ever known.Shappi and her beloved brother Peyvand arrive with their parents in London - all cold weather and strange food - without a word of English. If adapting to a new culture isn t troubling enough, it soon becomes clear that the Ayatollah s henchmen are in pursuit. With the help of MI5, Shappi s family go into hiding. So apart from checking under the family car for bombs every morning, Shappi s childhood is like any other kids - swings in the park, school plays, kiss-chase and terrorists. An extraordinary story.really funny and warm Graham Norton. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780091924775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Shappi Khorsandi
Published by Ebury Publishing (2010)
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Publishing, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780091924775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Shappi Khorsandi
Published by Ebury Publishing 2010-04-01, [London?] (2010)
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Publishing 2010-04-01, [London?], 2010. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780091924775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Shappi Khorsandi
Published by Ebury Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It s 1977 and life in Iran is becoming unpredictable. The Shah will be overthrown and events are about to take place on the world stage. But for five-year-old Shappi Khorsandi all this means is that she must flee, leaving behind a mad extended Iran clan and everything she has ever known.Shappi and her beloved brother Peyvand arrive with their parents in London - all cold weather and strange food - without a word of English. If adapting to a new culture isn t troubling enough, it soon becomes clear that the Ayatollah s henchmen are in pursuit. With the help of MI5, Shappi s family go into hiding. So apart from checking under the family car for bombs every morning, Shappi s childhood is like any other kids - swings in the park, school plays, kiss-chase and terrorists. An extraordinary story.really funny and warm Graham Norton. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780091924775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Shappi Khorsandi
Published by Ebury Publishing
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, A Beginner's Guide to Acting English, Shappi Khorsandi, It's 1977 and life in Iran is becoming unpredictable. The Shah will be overthrown and events are about to take place on the world stage. But for five-year-old Shappi Khorsandi all this means is that she must flee, leaving behind a mad extended Iran clan and everything she has ever known. Shappi and her beloved brother Peyvand arrive with their parents in London - all cold weather and strange food - without a word of English. If adapting to a new culture isn't troubling enough, it soon becomes clear that the Ayatollah's henchmen are in pursuit. With the help of MI5, Shappi's family go into hiding. So apart from checking under the family car for bombs every morning, Shappi's childhood is like any other kids' - swings in the park, school plays, kiss-chase and terrorists. 'An extraordinary story.really funny and warm' Graham Norton. Bookseller Inventory # B9780091924775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Shappi Khorsandi
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New Quantity Available: 11
Seller
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0091924774. Bookseller Inventory # ST0091924774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Shappi Khorsandi
Published by Ebury Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New Paperback Quantity Available: 17
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Press, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000189069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Shappi Khorsandi
Published by Ebury Press 2010-04-01 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Press 2010-04-01, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BER-00014515

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Shappi Khorsandi
Published by Ebury Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 0091924774 ISBN 13: 9780091924775
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ebury Press, 2010. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780091924775_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book