Oulton, Caroline Unsafe Attachments

ISBN 13: 9780091921095

Unsafe Attachments

0 avg rating
( 0 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780091921095: Unsafe Attachments

'On a summer evening, if you stand still and listen, you can hear the whole honeycomb of the city ticking and humming with infidelity...' "Unsafe Attachments" explores the relationships of a loosely interlinked group of Londoners. Caught off guard at key points, they face moments of sudden temptation in their busy, established lives, as well as increasingly difficult choices. Dinah, harried and pregnant, is haunted by images of death on her way to Heathrow. Abi, a senior civil servant, embarks upon an affair with a Nigerian journalist as her teenage daughter 'kind of shags' her teacher. Alex, increasingly keen to settle down, numbly accompanies his ex-girlfriend to an abortion clinic.A glance at a party turns into a fumbling grope and then a guilty hangover for Roger, whose live-in girlfriend is smugly satisfied that her life is on course. Lonely cafe-owner Carey spots his married shrink passionately kissing another woman in a park. Tina's desperate wish for a child jeopardises everything that is important to her. Relationships are acutely observed - the delights and tensions of living together, cheating on one another and trying to make lasting connections in this vast modern city. Love - real or imaginary - causes hearts to crack and lives to crumble but there is also hope, and sometimes there are second chances. This enticing collection buzzes with a passion for human life in all its complexity. Here, deftly delineated, are alluring women and compromised professionals, footloose mothers and heartless boys, the confused, the conscientious and the carefree. Racily told with wit and brio, these stories introduce a stunning new voice in women's fiction.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'A sad, funny, closely observed set of tales' -- Ham & High

'The stories loiter disturbingly in the memory, a terrific compendium of messy lives, betrayals, heartbreaks and tragedies' -- Independent on Sunday

A witty, observant and passionate collection of stories
-- Woman & Home

Funny, infectious, exuberant, sharp, sad and beautifully observed -- Sarah Dunant

Book Description:

An original and incisive new voice in fiction for fans of Zoe Heller and Julie Myerson

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Oulton, Caroline
Published by Hutchinson (2008)
ISBN 10: 0091921090 ISBN 13: 9780091921095
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bestsellersuk
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service â" all orders are dispatched next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000198314

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Oulton, Caroline
Published by Hutchinson (2008)
ISBN 10: 0091921090 ISBN 13: 9780091921095
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0091921090

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
34.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Oulton, Caroline
Published by Hutchinson (2008)
ISBN 10: 0091921090 ISBN 13: 9780091921095
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New item. Bookseller Inventory # QX-244-09-2853002

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
49.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds