Colvin, Clare The Mirror Makers

ISBN 13: 9780091794408

The Mirror Makers

3.32 avg rating
( 38 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780091794408: The Mirror Makers

Louis XIV, at the height of his powers and grandiose ambitions, dreams of constructing a great Hall of Mirrors in the palace of Versailles. But the only craftsmen who know the secret are in Murano, prisoners of the Venetian Republic. The promise (via Louis XIV's controller of finances, Jean-Louis Colbert) of riches, adventure, a new life, prompts Sandro Allegri and a renegade group of mirror-makers, to risk not only his father's wrath but the severest punishment by the Venetian authorities. And, once in the Sun King's Court, Sandro finds himself caught up, not only with dangerous palace politics, but with one of the King's mistresses. Inventive, romantic and exciting, Clare Colvin's novel is a magical evocation of a glittering period of history.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'A dazzling tapestry of intrigue' -- The Independent on Sunday, July 2003

'A well-crafted historical novel' -- The Daily Mail, June 2003

Clare Colvin skilfully weaves a novel of romance and revenge, bringing details of the time colourfully to life. -- Yorkshire Gazette and Herald, July 2, 2003

Clare Colvin uses great imaginative skill to recreate and illuminate a historical epoch. -- Daily Express, July 19, 2003

It entertains with a full range of ribbons-and-lace debauchery, and serves as a pleasant refresher course in history. -- The Independent, July 23, 2003

Book Description:

In the tradition of Restoration and Tulip Fever, Clare Colvin takes a historical theme with a novel about the secret Venetian process of mirror-making and the Court of Louis XIV.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Colvin, Clare
Published by Hutchinson (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. The Mirror Makers This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780091794408

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Colvin, Clare
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
PreLoved ltd
(AYLESBURY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Bookseller Inventory # PL01494444B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Colvin, Clare
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
FORTIUS LTD
(Aylesbury, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Bookseller Inventory # TT00567946B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Colvin, Clare
Published by Hutchinson (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000495398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Colvin, Clare
Published by Hutchinson (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Andrew James Books
(Cardiff, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine. 1st Edition. 8vo - over 7¾ - 9¾" tall. With unclipped dust jacket, no inscription, clean throughout. A historical novel about the secret process of mirror making and the Court of Louis XIV. The Sun King at the height of his powers and ambition, dreams of constructing a great Hall of Mirrors at the Palace of Versaille, to reflect his glory. but the only craftsmen who know the secret of the mirrors are in Murano, jealously guarded by the Venetian Republic. The King's controller of Finances, Jean-Baptiste Colbert, launches a campaign of industrial espionage to steal the knowledge for the profit of France. In this inventive, romantic and exciting novel Colvin has produced a magical evocation of a fascinating period of history. Bookseller Inventory # 000397

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
6
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 13.57
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Colvin, Clare
Published by Hutchinson (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Alpha 2 Omega Books BA
(Southampton, HANTS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very good. 1st Edition. VGC.Hutchinson,2003.First edition-first printing(1 3 5 7 9 10 8 6 4 2).Black hardback(gilt lettering to the spine,scratch on the front cover) with Dj(two small creases,nicks and scratch on the Dj cover),both in VGC.Nice and clean pages but with scribbles,in red pen,on the front page and fifth page of the book,small pencil mark impression on the edge of the first blank page of the book.The book is in VGC except for the pen scribbles on the two pages of the book.406pp.Price un-clipped. Bookseller Inventory # 2676

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
13.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.05
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds