Fiction Clare Colvin The Mirror Makers

ISBN 13: 9780091794408

The Mirror Makers

3.32 avg rating
( 38 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780091794408: The Mirror Makers

Louis XIV, at the height of his powers and grandiose ambitions, dreams of constructing a great Hall of Mirrors in the palace of Versailles. But the only craftsmen who know the secret are in Murano, prisoners of the Venetian Republic. The promise (via Louis XIV's controller of finances, Jean-Louis Colbert) of riches, adventure, a new life, prompts Sandro Allegri and a renegade group of mirror-makers, to risk not only his father's wrath but the severest punishment by the Venetian authorities. And, once in the Sun King's Court, Sandro finds himself caught up, not only with dangerous palace politics, but with one of the King's mistresses. Inventive, romantic and exciting, Clare Colvin's novel is a magical evocation of a glittering period of history.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'A dazzling tapestry of intrigue' -- The Independent on Sunday, July 2003

'A well-crafted historical novel' -- The Daily Mail, June 2003

Clare Colvin skilfully weaves a novel of romance and revenge, bringing details of the time colourfully to life. -- Yorkshire Gazette and Herald, July 2, 2003

Clare Colvin uses great imaginative skill to recreate and illuminate a historical epoch. -- Daily Express, July 19, 2003

It entertains with a full range of ribbons-and-lace debauchery, and serves as a pleasant refresher course in history. -- The Independent, July 23, 2003

Book Description:

In the tradition of Restoration and Tulip Fever, Clare Colvin takes a historical theme with a novel about the secret Venetian process of mirror-making and the Court of Louis XIV.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Clare Colvin
Published by Hutchinson 05/06/2003 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson 05/06/2003, 2003. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780091794408

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Clare Colvin
Published by Hutchinson 05/06/2003 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson 05/06/2003, 2003. Book Condition: Very Good. This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780091794408

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Clare Colvin
Published by Hutchinson 05/06/2003 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson 05/06/2003, 2003. Book Condition: Good. This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780091794408

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Clare Colvin
Published by Hutchinson 05/06/2003 (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson 05/06/2003, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 6545-9780091794408

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.79
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Colvin, Clare
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
FORTIUS LTD
(Aylesbury, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Bookseller Inventory # TT00567946B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Colvin, Clare
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
PreLoved ltd
(AYLESBURY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Bookseller Inventory # PL01494444B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Colvin, Clare
Published by Hutchinson (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Goldstone Books
(Ammanford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002614063

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Colvin, Clare
Published by Hutchinson (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000495398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Colvin, Clare
Published by Hutchinson (2003)
ISBN 10: 0091794404 ISBN 13: 9780091794408
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Alpha 2 Omega Books BA
(Southampton, HANTS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very good. 1st Edition. VGC.Hutchinson,2003.First edition-first printing(1 3 5 7 9 10 8 6 4 2).Black hardback(gilt lettering to the spine,scratch on the front cover) with Dj(two small creases,nicks and scratch on the Dj cover),both in VGC.Nice and clean pages but with scribbles,in red pen,on the front page and fifth page of the book,small pencil mark impression on the edge of the first blank page of the book.The book is in VGC except for the pen scribbles on the two pages of the book.406pp.Price un-clipped. Bookseller Inventory # 2676

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
13.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds