Alexander Kent Stand into Danger

ISBN 13: 9780091412203

Stand into Danger

4 avg rating
( 1,373 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780091412203: Stand into Danger

A historical sea novel in which Richard Bolitho, newly appointed Third Lieutenant on the 28-gun frigate Destiny, learns to accept his new responsibilities as a King's officer as the company face the hazards of conspiracy, treason and piracy whilst on a secret mission. From the author of ENEMY IN SIGHT.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Alexander Kent, pen name of Douglas Edward Reeman, joined the British Navy at 16, serving on destroyers and small craft during World War II, and eventually rising to the rank of lieutenant. He has taught navigation to yachtsmen and has served as a script adviser for television and films. His books have been translated into nearly two dozen languages.

Review:

Critics of his first two books dubbed Kent a worthy successor to C.S. Forester. . . . This hardly seems fair for Kent's writing is fresh, singular, and worthy of judgement solely on its own high merit -- Philadelphia Bulletin

The sea story is one of the most enduring and enjoyable staples in popular literature. Tales of stout men under sail, hurling iron across the water at one another were absolute dynamite when Frederick Marryat held a huge readership wired to their seats in the early 19th century with his stories about Midshipman Easy. The Horatio Hornblower novels of C.S. Forester were among the most genuinely satisfying novels of the last forty years, and now that Alexander Kent is patrolling the same sea lanes, the stories are as good as ever . . .

Kent's winning hero is Richard Bolitho, who is squarely in the tradition of Captain Hornblower and Midshipman Easy. All of the heroic elements are here . . . Good, solid stuff that still packs a wallop and will probably continue to do so when another writer comes along 30 years from now to tell the old stories again to a new generation.

My heart still belongs to C.S. Forester because I grew up with him, but Alexander Kent is a worthy successor to the master -- The New York Times, July 18, 1976

There's nothing like a good sea novel as a setting for a protagonist who is a man's man-wise, humane, decisive and courageous. All the briny echoes of fictional marine heroes can be heard again in these rip-rousing tales of naval warfare . . . as the stalwart Bolitho gains the trust of his crew and admiration of his superiors.

For adventure and action, a prize -- Saturday Evening Post, November 9, 1968

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alexander Kent
Published by Hutchinson (1980)
ISBN 10: 009141220X ISBN 13: 9780091412203
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 1980. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # SONG009141220X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kent, Alexander
Published by Hutchinson (1980)
ISBN 10: 009141220X ISBN 13: 9780091412203
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 1980. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11009141220X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
35.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kent, Alexander
Published by Hutchinson
ISBN 10: 009141220X ISBN 13: 9780091412203
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 009141220X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1779502

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Alexander Kent
ISBN 10: 009141220X ISBN 13: 9780091412203
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800914122031.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
66.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Alexander Kent
Published by Hutchinson (1980)
ISBN 10: 009141220X ISBN 13: 9780091412203
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hutchinson, 1980. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX009141220X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
71.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds