The Chill of Night (McCabe and Savage Thrillers)

4.05 avg rating
( 2,047 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062363015: The Chill of Night (McCabe and Savage Thrillers)

The Chill of Night is James Hayman's second instalment in his McCabe and Savage series.

A frozen corpse means a big headache for Detective Michael McCabe

Lainie Goff thinks she has it all. A glamorous young Portland attorney with the brains and looks to match her ambitions, she's on the fast-track to a partnership. Until one cold winter night she discovers that her belief in her ability to handle any situation was misplaced. Now she's just a frozen corpse in the boot of a car at the end of Portland Fish Pier.

And a problem for homicide detective Michael McCabe.

Luckily for McCabe, there's a witness. A mentally disturbed young woman named Abby Quinn saw what happened to Lainie. Unfortunately, Abby mysteriously goes missing the very same night. With a victim who'd known more than her share of bad guys, a list of suspects that seems to get longer and longer and his only witness missing, McCabe has got his work cut out.

But it's only a matter of time before the killer strikes again . . .

Following the success of the first instalment The Cutting, The Chill of Night continues to follow Detective McCabe as he solves Portland's crimes. Fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly will be hooked.

Praise for James Hayman:

'A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller!' Tess Gerritsen

'Supremely accomplished storytelling' Daily Mail

'Taut, suspenseful . . . every bit as dark and sinister as Lehane and Connelly' Richard Montanari

James Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies. He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. This is his third novel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller! ( Tess Gerritsen)

A clever and suspenseful thriller ( Boston Globe Pick of the Week)

McCabe is a formidable detective tested to the limit in Hayman's atmospheric puzzler ( Publishers Weekly)

Packs a terrific punch and comes complete with pace and panache . . . Hayman doesn't write for the faint-hearted . . . Taut, deft and with a delicate sense of place, this is supremely accomplished storytelling ( Daily Mail 2011-01-21)

About the Author:

James Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies. He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. The Cutting was his first thriller featuring Michael McCabe, followed by The Chill of the Night and Darkness First.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hayman, James
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062363018

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hayman, James
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623630150000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

James Hayman
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 201 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A frozen corpse. A missing witness. Strange voices that aren t there. One cold night, Lainie Goff, a glamorous young attorney on the fast track to a partnership at Portland s top firm, is found frozen in the trunk of her BMW on the local fishing pier. Detectives Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage quickly uncover a long list of suspects: Lainie s boss, who was also her lover; an ex-priest who runs a shelter for runaway teens; an abusive stepfather who raped Lainie as a teen; and a creepy landlord who seems to know more than he should about her private life. Still, there is no hard evidence until a mentally ill young woman who hears voices gives an island cop an eyewitness account he doesn t take seriously. But when she too disappears, McCabe and Savage find themselves in a desperate race against time to stop a vicious killer before he rids himself of the only person who knows who he is. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062363015

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hayman, James
Published by AVON BOOKS (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New Quantity Available: 6
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description AVON BOOKS, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062363015

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

James Hayman
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 201 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A frozen corpse. A missing witness. Strange voices that aren t there. One cold night, Lainie Goff, a glamorous young attorney on the fast track to a partnership at Portland s top firm, is found frozen in the trunk of her BMW on the local fishing pier. Detectives Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage quickly uncover a long list of suspects: Lainie s boss, who was also her lover; an ex-priest who runs a shelter for runaway teens; an abusive stepfather who raped Lainie as a teen; and a creepy landlord who seems to know more than he should about her private life. Still, there is no hard evidence until a mentally ill young woman who hears voices gives an island cop an eyewitness account he doesn t take seriously. But when she too disappears, McCabe and Savage find themselves in a desperate race against time to stop a vicious killer before he rids himself of the only person who knows who he is. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062363015

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hayman, James
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 7545020

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hayman, James
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062363018

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.41
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Hayman, James
Published by Witness Impulse
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062363018 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 17338369

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

James Hayman
Published by Witness Impulse
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Chill of Night, James Hayman. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062363015

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

James Hayman
ISBN 10: 0062363018 ISBN 13: 9780062363015
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. 132mm x 28mm x 201mm. Paperback. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 415 pages. 0.318. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062363015

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book