The Brink: Stories (P.S. (Paperback))

3.77 avg rating
( 156 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062362612: The Brink: Stories (P.S. (Paperback))

A brilliant, inventive debut story collection in the vein of Kevin Wilson and Wells Tower.

Brimming with life and unforgettable voices, the stories in Austin Bunn’s dazzling collection explore the existential question: what happens at “the end” and what lies beyond it? In the wry but affecting “How to Win an Unwinnable War,” a summer class on nuclear war for gifted teenagers turns a struggling family upside down. A young couple’s idyllic beach honeymoon is interrupted by terrorism in the lush, haunting “Getting There and Away.” When an immersive videogame begins turning off in the heartbreaking “Griefer,” an obsessive player falls in love with a mysterious player in the final hours of a world.

Told in a stunning range of voices, styles, and settings—from inside the Hale-Bopp cult to the deck of a conquistador’s galleon adrift at the end of the ocean—the stories in Bunn’s collection capture the transformations and discoveries at the edge of irrevocable change. Each tale presents a distinct world, told with deep emotion, energizing language, and characters with whom we have more in common that we realize. They signal the arrival of an astonishing new talent in short fiction.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Brimming with life and extraordinary range, Austin Bunn's dazzling collection explores what happens at "the end" and afterward.

About the Author:

Austin Bunn is a fiction writer, playwright, screenwriter, and former journalist. His writing has appeared in The Atlantic Monthly, Zoetrope, The New York Times Magazine, Wired, Best American Science and Nature Writing, The Pushcart Prize, and elsewhere. He cowrote the screenplay to Kill Your Darlings (Sony Pictures Classics), starring Daniel Radcliffe, Dane DeHaan, and Michael C. Hall, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. He is a graduate of Yale University and the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop, and a recipient of a Michener-Copernicus Fellowship. Currently, he teaches at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Austin Bunn
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36SFFI0003D4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bunn, Austin
Published by Harper Perennial, NY (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Valley Books
(Amherst, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, NY, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 213pp. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 069030

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Austin Bunn
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623626120000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bunn, Austin
Published by HarperPerennial 2015-04-28 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperPerennial 2015-04-28, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062362612B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.60
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Austin Bunn
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A brilliant, inventive debut story collection in the vein of Kevin Wilson and Wells Tower. Brimming with life and unforgettable voices, the stories in Austin Bunn s dazzling collection explore the existential question: what happens at the end and what lies beyond it? In the wry but affecting How to Win an Unwinnable War, a summer class on nuclear war for gifted teenagers turns a struggling family upside down. A young couple s idyllic beach honeymoon is interrupted by terrorism in the lush, haunting Getting There and Away. When an immersive videogame begins turning off in the heartbreaking Griefer, an obsessive player falls in love with a mysterious player in the final hours of a world. Told in a stunning range of voices, styles, and settings--from inside the Hale-Bopp cult to the deck of a conquistador s galleon adrift at the end of the ocean--the stories in Bunn s collection capture the transformations and discoveries at the edge of irrevocable change. Each tale presents a distinct world, told with deep emotion, energizing language, and characters with whom we have more in common that we realize. They signal the arrival of an astonishing new talent in short fiction. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062362612

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Austin Bunn
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A brilliant, inventive debut story collection in the vein of Kevin Wilson and Wells Tower. Brimming with life and unforgettable voices, the stories in Austin Bunn s dazzling collection explore the existential question: what happens at the end and what lies beyond it? In the wry but affecting How to Win an Unwinnable War, a summer class on nuclear war for gifted teenagers turns a struggling family upside down. A young couple s idyllic beach honeymoon is interrupted by terrorism in the lush, haunting Getting There and Away. When an immersive videogame begins turning off in the heartbreaking Griefer, an obsessive player falls in love with a mysterious player in the final hours of a world. Told in a stunning range of voices, styles, and settings--from inside the Hale-Bopp cult to the deck of a conquistador s galleon adrift at the end of the ocean--the stories in Bunn s collection capture the transformations and discoveries at the edge of irrevocable change. Each tale presents a distinct world, told with deep emotion, energizing language, and characters with whom we have more in common that we realize. They signal the arrival of an astonishing new talent in short fiction. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062362612

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Bunn, Austin
Published by Harpercollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062362612

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Bunn, Austin
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062362615

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Austin Bunn
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. A brilliant, inventive debut story collection in the vein of Kevin Wilson and Wells Tower. Brimming with life and unforgettable voices, the stories in Austin Bunn s dazzling collection explore the existential question: what happens at the end and what lies beyond it? In the wry but affecting How to Win an Unwinnable War, a summer class on nuclear war for gifted teenagers turns a struggling family upside down. A young couple s idyllic beach honeymoon is interrupted by terrorism in the lush, haunting Getting There and Away. When an immersive videogame begins turning off in the heartbreaking Griefer, an obsessive player falls in love with a mysterious player in the final hours of a world. Told in a stunning range of voices, styles, and settings--from inside the Hale-Bopp cult to the deck of a conquistador s galleon adrift at the end of the ocean--the stories in Bunn s collection capture the transformations and discoveries at the edge of irrevocable change. Each tale presents a distinct world, told with deep emotion, energizing language, and characters with whom we have more in common that we realize. They signal the arrival of an astonishing new talent in short fiction. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780062362612

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Bunn, Austin
Published by Harpercollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062362615 ISBN 13: 9780062362612
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062362612

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book