Blood on the Tongue (Cooper & Fry Mysteries)

3.9 avg rating
( 1,599 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062350442: Blood on the Tongue (Cooper & Fry Mysteries)

Booth has crafted an evocative, gorgeously written work of multilayered, thinking personUs crime fiction. Building toward its astonishing climax with subtlety and elegance, Blood on the Tongue ripples with authentic emotional tension and genuine surprise.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Nottingham Evening Post" Subtlety of characterization, density of plot, powerful distillation of atmosphere, intimate local knowledge, and a serious exploration of issues, both moral and philosophical, elevate this book into the realms of the serious novel.

From the Back Cover:

It wasn’t the easiest way to commit suicide. But Marie Tennent seemed to have just curled up in the freezing snow on Irontongue Hill and stayed there until her body was frosted over like a supermarket chicken. And hers isn’t the only death the police have to contend with either – not after the discovery of a baby in the wreckage of an old Airforce bomber, and the body of a man dumped by a roadside.

As if three bodies on her hands isn’t enough, snow and ice have left half of ‘E’ Division out of action and Diane Fry is forced to partner DC Gavin Murfin. She and Ben Cooper were never a match made in heaven, but next to Murfin, working with Ben starts to look like a dream.

He’s on a trail of his own, though – and one as cold as the Peak District January. In an equally bitter winter in 1945 an RAF bomber crashed on Irontongue Hill killing everyone except the pilot, who walked away and disappeared. Now his grand-daughter, Alison Morrissey, is in Derbyshire desperate to clear his name, and Ben can’t help taking an interest.

But is a fifty-year-old mystery really the best use of police time? Or does a vicious attack in the dark Edendale backstreets prove that the trail’s not quite as cold as he’d thought? Could the past be the only clue to present violence as an icy winter looks set to get even chillier?

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Booth, Stephen
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623504420000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. 168 x 108 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Stephen Booth returns with an evocative mystery perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.It s a new year for Ben Cooper and Diane Fry, and that means new mysteries to solve in the icy depths of a bitter winter.It isn t the easiest way to commit suicide, but the dead woman seems to have simply curled up in the freezing snow and lain there until her heart stopped. There was no one to observe her death but the foxes and the hares. Yet she is riddled with bruises. Her demise is horrifying. Is it also suspicious?When two more bodies are found, Cooper and Fry begin to wonder whether these tragedies are connected and whether they will survive the winter . . . Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062350442

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. 168 x 108 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Stephen Booth returns with an evocative mystery perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.It s a new year for Ben Cooper and Diane Fry, and that means new mysteries to solve in the icy depths of a bitter winter.It isn t the easiest way to commit suicide, but the dead woman seems to have simply curled up in the freezing snow and lain there until her heart stopped. There was no one to observe her death but the foxes and the hares. Yet she is riddled with bruises. Her demise is horrifying. Is it also suspicious?When two more bodies are found, Cooper and Fry begin to wonder whether these tragedies are connected and whether they will survive the winter . . . Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062350442

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse 2014-04-22 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse 2014-04-22, 2014. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062350442

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reissue edition. 600 pages. 6.75x4.25x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-0062350447

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Avon Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Avon Books, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TB9780062350442

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.33
From Germany to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062350447 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 17204438

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.75
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062350447

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12.24
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062350447

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.38
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse
ISBN 10: 0062350447 ISBN 13: 9780062350442
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062350447 Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9780062350442

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 24.47
From Canada to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book