Dancing with the Virgins (Cooper & Fry Mysteries)

3.85 avg rating
( 1,787 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062350435: Dancing with the Virgins (Cooper & Fry Mysteries)

The second in the series set in the Derbyshire Peak District, Dancing with the Virgins is a tense psychological thriller, and is the sequel to Stephen Booth’s stunning debut Black Dog.

In a remote part of the Peak District stand the Nine Virgins, a ring of stones overshadowed by a dark legend. Now, as winter closes in, a tenth figure is added to the circle – the body of Jenny Weston is discovered, her limbs arranged so she appears to be dancing.

Weeks earlier another woman had been attacked on the moors. Maggie Crew was found by a local farmer's wife, severely traumatized, her face savagely cut open. Is there a maniac at loose, knifing woman at random? Unlocking the memories trapped in Maggie's mind is now a matter of utmost urgency, and Detective Sergeant Diane Fry is given the task of drawing the truth out of her.

For DC Ben Cooper there are too many lines of enquiry leading to too few answers. Two travellers, sleeping rough near the scene of the murder, baffle the detectives with their strange rituals and language which may or may not be hiding vital information. Then there is the Park ranger, Owen Fox, whose past hides a shameful secret. And what of the farmer, Warren Leach, on whose land the Nine Virgins stand: a desperate man whose own children fear him.

Against the dramatic backdrop of the White Peak, Ben and Diane struggle to make sense of a murder that seems motiveless. But the moors have witnessed more bloodshed than either realize, and violence is to beget more violence before the answer is found.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner-- perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she's dancing.

Now another young woman has been found, savagely wounded and severely traumatized, but alive. Ben Cooper and Diane Fry must unlock the memories trapped inside her mind before more blood is shed amongst the stones . . .

Review:

Praise for Black Dog:

‘Stephen Booth creates a fine sense of place and atmosphere in his first novel… the unguessable solution to the crime comes as a real surprise’
Susanna Yager, Sunday Telegraph

‘Stephen Booth is a real find, and his book is almost impossible to categorize… It is a crime novel, or rather a novel about people who are connected with the crime. The characterisation is brilliant, and the motivation for everything that occurs is too credible. A real winner’
Shots

‘Booth has achieved a tour de force in this his first outing. In fact, it is hard to believe that he is a first time author… Highly recommended’
Mysterybooks.com

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062350439

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.73
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Harpercollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062350435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Professor Stephen Booth
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623504350000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Professor Stephen Booth
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 172 x 110 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner-- perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she s dancing. Now another young woman has been found, savagely wounded and severely traumatized, but alive. Ben Cooper and Diane Fry must unlock the memories trapped inside her mind before more blood is shed amongst the stones . . . Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780062350435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 569 pages. 6.75x4.50x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0062350439

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse 2014-04-22 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse 2014-04-22, 2014. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0062350439 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0062350439

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Book Condition: new. Shiny and new! Expect delivery in 2-3 weeks. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062350435-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Stephen Booth
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062350439

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
24.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110062350439

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.34
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Stephen Booth
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. 109mm x 36mm x 168mm. Mass Market Paperback. Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 569 pages. 0.272. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062350435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 21.87
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds