Dancing with the Virgins (Cooper & Fry Mysteries)

3.85 avg rating
( 1,714 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062350435: Dancing with the Virgins (Cooper & Fry Mysteries)

The second in the series set in the Derbyshire Peak District, Dancing with the Virgins is a tense psychological thriller, and is the sequel to Stephen Booth’s stunning debut Black Dog.

In a remote part of the Peak District stand the Nine Virgins, a ring of stones overshadowed by a dark legend. Now, as winter closes in, a tenth figure is added to the circle – the body of Jenny Weston is discovered, her limbs arranged so she appears to be dancing.

Weeks earlier another woman had been attacked on the moors. Maggie Crew was found by a local farmer's wife, severely traumatized, her face savagely cut open. Is there a maniac at loose, knifing woman at random? Unlocking the memories trapped in Maggie's mind is now a matter of utmost urgency, and Detective Sergeant Diane Fry is given the task of drawing the truth out of her.

For DC Ben Cooper there are too many lines of enquiry leading to too few answers. Two travellers, sleeping rough near the scene of the murder, baffle the detectives with their strange rituals and language which may or may not be hiding vital information. Then there is the Park ranger, Owen Fox, whose past hides a shameful secret. And what of the farmer, Warren Leach, on whose land the Nine Virgins stand: a desperate man whose own children fear him.

Against the dramatic backdrop of the White Peak, Ben and Diane struggle to make sense of a murder that seems motiveless. But the moors have witnessed more bloodshed than either realize, and violence is to beget more violence before the answer is found.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for Black Dog:

‘Stephen Booth creates a fine sense of place and atmosphere in his first novel… the unguessable solution to the crime comes as a real surprise’
Susanna Yager, Sunday Telegraph

‘Stephen Booth is a real find, and his book is almost impossible to categorize… It is a crime novel, or rather a novel about people who are connected with the crime. The characterisation is brilliant, and the motivation for everything that occurs is too credible. A real winner’
Shots

‘Booth has achieved a tour de force in this his first outing. In fact, it is hard to believe that he is a first time author… Highly recommended’
Mysterybooks.com

From the Back Cover:

A brooding psychological thriller from the acclaimed author of 'Black Dog'

In a remote part of the Peak District stand the Nine Virgins, a ring of stones overshadowed by a dark legend. Now, as winter closes in, a tenth figure is added to the circle – the body of Jenny Weston is discovered, her limbs arranged so she appears to be dancing.

Weeks earlier another woman had been attacked on the moors. Maggie Crew was found by a local farmer's wife, severely traumatized, her face savagely cut open. Is there a maniac at loose, knifing woman at random? Unlocking the memories trapped in Maggie's mind is now a matter of utmost urgency, and Detective Sergeant Diane Fry is given the task of drawing the truth out of her.

For DC Ben Cooper there are too many lines of enquiry leading to too few answers. Two travellers, sleeping rough near the scene of the murder, baffle the detectives with their strange rituals and language which may or may not be hiding vital information. Then there is the Park ranger, Owen Fox, whose past hides a shameful secret. And what of the farmer, Warren Leach, on whose land the Nine Virgins stand: a desperate man whose own children fear him.

Against the dramatic backdrop of the White Peak, Ben and Diane struggle to make sense of a murder that seems motiveless. But the moors have witnessed more bloodshed than either realize, and violence is to beget more violence before the answer is found.

Praise for 'Black Dog'

”An exceedingly good first novel: wholly engrossing, it has well-drawn characters and a real sense of place”
TJ BINYON, 'Evening Standard'

”In this atmospheric debut, Stephen Booth makes high summer in Derbyshire as dark and terrifying as midwinter”
VAL McDERMID

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Booth, Stephen
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 21182916-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.13
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062350439

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.83
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Booth, Stephen
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623504350000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062350439 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 17204722

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 172 x 110 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she s dancing.Now another young woman has been found, savagely wounded and severely traumatized, but alive. Ben Cooper and Diane Fry must unlock the memories trapped inside her mind before more blood is shed amongst the stones . . . Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062350435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 172 x 110 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she s dancing.Now another young woman has been found, savagely wounded and severely traumatized, but alive. Ben Cooper and Diane Fry must unlock the memories trapped inside her mind before more blood is shed amongst the stones . . . Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062350435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TB9780062350435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.32
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner-- perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she's dancing.Now another young woman has been found, savagely wounded and severely traumatized, but alive. Ben Cooper and Diane Fry must unlock the memories trapped inside her mind before more blood is shed amongst the stones . . . Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0062350439

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # BKTY9780062350435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness Impulse 2014-04-22 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062350439 ISBN 13: 9780062350435
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse 2014-04-22, 2014. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062350435

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book