Danielle Paige Dorothy Must Die

ISBN 13: 9780062347046

Dorothy Must Die

3.85 avg rating
( 45,017 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062347046: Dorothy Must Die

Oz has turned into a savage dystopia under Dorothy s rule and now a new girl from Kansas must take her down. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz meets Kill Bill in this edgy, fast-paced fantasy adventure. Somewhere over the rainbow...something has gone terribly wrong. A twister has hit Kansas again, and this time it whisks away a girl named Amy Gumm. At first, Amy is thrilled to have left her trailer park life behind. But instead of the magical land where troubles melt like lemon drops that she knows from the books and the movies, she discovers the place has been destroyed. And it s all Dorothy s fault. Amy soon joins up with the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked a group of deposed witches and warlocks who are determined to end Dorothy s oppressive reign, and who need Amy's help. They teach her the secrets of witchcraft and combat and then they give her an impossible mission: steal back the Tin Woodman s heart, the Scarecrow s brain, and the Lion s courage. And when she s done, Dorothy must die. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Gregory Maguire, this gripping, action-packed debut puts a fierce and compelling new spin on a beloved classic. Debut author Danielle Paige transforms the lush land of Oz that we all know and love into an edgy world where nothing is ever what it seems.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

The New York Times bestselling first book in a dark new series that reimagines the Oz saga, from debut author Danielle Paige.

I didn't ask for any of this. I didn't ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I've read the books. I've seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little blue birds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can't be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There's still a road of yellow brick—but even that's crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm—and I'm the other girl from Kansas. I've been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I've been trained to fight. And I have a mission: Remove the Tin Woodman's heart. Steal the Scarecrow's brain. Take the Lion's courage. And—Dorothy must die.

Review:

“Readers of Baum’s books will take special delight in seeing new twists on the old characters, and they will greet the surprise climactic turnabout with the smugness of insiders.” (Kirkus)

“Dorothy Must Die is kind of the ultimate in girl-powered literature. You’ve got empowered heroines, sure, but Paige also conjures a formidable villainess in Dorothy and some manipulative lady revolutionaries. Here, women and girls are allowed to be anything. This really is a woman’s world.” (Nerdist.com)

“Gone are the days of rainbows, Lollipop Guilds and pretty much anything to sing about in a major key. For those willing to go on a quest with a heroine more attuned to our times than the Dust Bowl era, there’s no place like it.” (USA Today)

“Debut author Paige doesn’t hold back in this fast-paced action novel. Give this cinematic upper-YA novel to fans of A. G. Howard’s Splintered, Frank Beddor’s Looking Glass Wars, and TV shows such as Once Upon a Time and Grimm.” (School Library Journal)

“Paige delivers a solid, intense, and strange narrative that draws deeply on its source material.” (Publishers Weekly)

“[Dorothy Must Die] strikes a similar tone to Marisa Meyer’s Cinder series, with its blend of fantasy, humor, and horror, and it will likely inspire fans of that series to make their way to the Emerald City.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Paige has spirited readers back to The Wizard of Oz. It’s a classic made more sinister.” (ALA Booklist)

“The Wizard of Oz as you’ve never seen it.” (Teen Vogue)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Danielle Paige
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New Quantity Available: 17
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623470460000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Danielle Paige
Published by HarperCollins 2014-07-03 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 2014-07-03, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05120277

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Danielle Paige
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New Paperback Quantity Available: 17
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; The New York Times bestselling first book in a dark new series that reimagines the Oz saga, from debut author Danielle Paige. I didn't ask for any of this. I didn't ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado-taking you with it-you have no choice but to go along. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780062347046_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Paige, Danielle
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New Softcover Quantity Available: 17
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Book Condition: New. 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780062347046

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Danielle Paige
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New Paperback Quantity Available: 17
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Dorothy Must Die, Danielle Paige, The New York Times bestselling first book in a dark new series that reimagines the Oz saga, from debut author Danielle Paige. I didn't ask for any of this. I didn't ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado-taking you with it-you have no choice but to go along, you know? Sure, I've read the books. I've seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little blue birds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can't be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There's still a road of yellow brick-but even that's crumbling. What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe. My name is Amy Gumm-and I'm the other girl from Kansas. I've been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I've been trained to fight. And I have a mission: Remove the Tin Woodman's heart. Steal the Scarecrow's brain. Take the Lion's courage. And-Dorothy must die. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062347046

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Paige, Danielle
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New Softcover Quantity Available: 17
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Book Condition: New. 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780062347046

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Danielle Paige
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc 2014-07-03, New York (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc 2014-07-03, New York, 2014. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062347046

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Danielle Paige
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780062347046

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.33
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Paige, Danielle
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 464 pages. 8.19x5.43x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0062347047

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Danielle Paige
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062347047 ISBN 13: 9780062347046
New Quantity Available: 17
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # GB-9780062347046

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book