Poesie Lauren Oliver Rooms: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780062344472

Rooms: A Novel

3.3 avg rating
( 10,705 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062344472: Rooms: A Novel

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

After her New York Times bestselling novels for young adults, Lauren Oliver returns with her first book for adults, a spellbind­ing novel that confirms her place as one of our finest storytellers. Rooms is a mesmerizing and suspenseful story of guilt, love, and family secrets.

Estranged patriarch Richard Walker has died, leaving behind a country house. His alienated family arrives for their inheritance—but they are not alone. Two restless ghosts linger within the house's walls. Both the living and dead are haunted by painful truths that surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama, as haunting as it is resonant.

About the Author:

Lauren Oliver is the author of the YA bestselling novels Before I Fall, Panic, and Vanishing Girls and the Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages and are New York Times and international bestselling novels. She is also the author of three novels for middle grade readers: The Spindlers; Liesl & Po, which was an E. B. White Read Aloud Award nominee; and Curiosity House: The Shrunken Head, co-written with H. C. Chester, and a novel for adults, Rooms. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU’s MFA program, Lauren Oliver is also the cofounder of the boutique literary development company Paper Lantern Lit.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lauren Oliver
ISBN 10: 0062344471 ISBN 13: 9780062344472
New Quantity Available: 12
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623444720000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Oliver, Lauren
Published by Harper Collins USA
ISBN 10: 0062344471 ISBN 13: 9780062344472
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins USA. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062344472

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Oliver, Lauren
Published by Ecco Press (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062344471 ISBN 13: 9780062344472
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 224 pages. 8.90x5.90x0.90 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0062344471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
28.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lauren Oliver
Published by Ecco (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062344471 ISBN 13: 9780062344472
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
California Spanish Books
(buenos aires, Argentina)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062344472

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
40.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Argentina to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds