The Kill Call (Cooper & Fry Mysteries)

3.79 avg rating
( 862 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062338983: The Kill Call (Cooper & Fry Mysteries)

An atmospheric new thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill.

On a rain-swept Derbyshire moor, hounds from the local foxhunt find the body of a well-dressed man whose head has been crushed. Yet an anonymous caller reports the same body lying half a mile away. Called in to investigate the discovery, detectives DS Diane Fry and DC Ben Cooper become entangled in the violent world of hunting and hunt saboteurs, horse theft and a little-known sector of the meat trade.

As Fry follows a complex trail of her own to unravel the shady business interests of the murder victim, Cooper realizes that the answer to the case might lie deep in the past. History is everywhere around him in the Peak District landscape - particularly in the ‘plague village’ of Eyam, where an outbreak of Black Death has been turned into a modern-day tourist attraction.

But, even as the final solution is revealed, both Fry and Cooper find themselves having to face up to the disturbing reality of the much more recent past.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Pub Date: 2014-06-03 Pages: 384 Language: English Publisher: HarperCollins On a rain-swept Derbyshire moor. hounds from the local foxhunt find the body of a well-dressed man whose head has been crushed Yet an anonymous caller reports. the same body lying half a mile away. Called in to investigate the discovery. detectives DS Diane Fry and DC Ben Cooper become entangled in the violent world of hunting and hunt saboteurs. horse theft and a little-known sector of the meat trade. As Fry follows a complex trail of her own to unravel the shady business interests of the murder victim. Cooper realizes that the answer to the case might lie deep in the past History is everywhere around him in the Peak District landscape -. particularly in the ' plague village 'of Eyam. where an outbreak of Black Death has been turned into a modern-day tourist attraction. But. even as the final solutio...

Product Description:

On a rain-swept hillside, hounds from the local foxhunt discover the body of a well-dressed man. At that exact moment, an anonymous caller reports the same body . . . lying half a mile away.

It's only the first in a series of baffling clues as Ben Cooper and Diane Fry--partners and rivals on the detective force --plunge into a case involving horses, spectacular wealth, and a mysterious "plague village" where a centuries-old outbreak of Black Death has been transformed into a modern tourist attraction.

As the spring rain falls and the body count rises, Cooper and Fry's investigation twists back to the recent past. A killer lurks in the shadows there--a killer now hiding in plain sight . . .

Atmospheric and ingenious, packed with suspense and secrets, The Kill Call is an unforgettable thriller from an unforgettable writer.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Booth, Stephen
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW0007EF

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.73
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Professor Stephen Booth
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623389830000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062338986

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.73
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Booth, Stephen
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062338983

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Professor Stephen Booth
Published by Witness, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 200 x 134 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. On a rain-swept hillside, hounds from the local foxhunt discover the body of a well-dressed man. At that exact moment, an anonymous caller reports the same body . . . lying half a mile away. It s only the first in a series of baffling clues as Ben Cooper and Diane Fry--partners and rivals on the detective force --plunge into a case involving horses, spectacular wealth, and a mysterious plague village where a centuries-old outbreak of Black Death has been transformed into a modern tourist attraction. As the spring rain falls and the body count rises, Cooper and Fry s investigation twists back to the recent past. A killer lurks in the shadows there--a killer now hiding in plain sight . . . Atmospheric and ingenious, packed with suspense and secrets, The Kill Call is an unforgettable thriller from an unforgettable writer. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780062338983

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Booth, Stephen
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062338983

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Professor Stephen Booth
Published by Witness, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 200 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. On a rain-swept hillside, hounds from the local foxhunt discover the body of a well-dressed man. At that exact moment, an anonymous caller reports the same body . . . lying half a mile away. It s only the first in a series of baffling clues as Ben Cooper and Diane Fry--partners and rivals on the detective force --plunge into a case involving horses, spectacular wealth, and a mysterious plague village where a centuries-old outbreak of Black Death has been transformed into a modern tourist attraction. As the spring rain falls and the body count rises, Cooper and Fry s investigation twists back to the recent past. A killer lurks in the shadows there--a killer now hiding in plain sight . . . Atmospheric and ingenious, packed with suspense and secrets, The Kill Call is an unforgettable thriller from an unforgettable writer. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062338983

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Witness (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062338986

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.34
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Professor Stephen Booth
Published by Witness, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 200 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. On a rain-swept hillside, hounds from the local foxhunt discover the body of a well-dressed man. At that exact moment, an anonymous caller reports the same body . . . lying half a mile away. It s only the first in a series of baffling clues as Ben Cooper and Diane Fry--partners and rivals on the detective force --plunge into a case involving horses, spectacular wealth, and a mysterious plague village where a centuries-old outbreak of Black Death has been transformed into a modern tourist attraction. As the spring rain falls and the body count rises, Cooper and Fry s investigation twists back to the recent past. A killer lurks in the shadows there--a killer now hiding in plain sight . . . Atmospheric and ingenious, packed with suspense and secrets, The Kill Call is an unforgettable thriller from an unforgettable writer. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062338983

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Stephen Booth
Published by Witness
ISBN 10: 0062338986 ISBN 13: 9780062338983
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 464 pages. Dimensions: 7.9in. x 5.3in. x 1.3in.An atmospheric new Fry and Cooper thriller for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald Hill. On a rain-swept Derbyshire moor, hounds from the local foxhunt find the body of a well-dressed man whose head has been crushed. Yet an anonymous caller reports the same body lying half a mile away. Called in to investigate the discovery, detectives DS Diane Fry and DC Ben Cooper become entangled in the violent world of hunting and hunt saboteurs, horse theft and a little-known sector of the meat trade. As Fry follows a complex trail of her own to unravel the shady business interests of the murder victim, Cooper realizes that the answer to the case might lie deep in the past. History is everywhere around him in the Peak District landscape -- particularly in the plague village of Eyam, where an outbreak of Black Death has been turned into a modern-day tourist attraction. But, even as the final solution is revealed, both Fry and Cooper find themselves having to face up to the disturbing reality of the much more recent past. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062338983

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book