Blessed are the Dead: A Gabriella Giovanni Mystery (Gabriella Giovanni Mysteries)

4.13 avg rating
( 288 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062338914: Blessed are the Dead: A Gabriella Giovanni Mystery (Gabriella Giovanni Mysteries)

Nominated for a Macavity Award for Best First Mystery Novel and an Anthony Award for Best First Novel, BLESSED ARE THE DEAD, the first book in the Gabriella Giovanni Mystery Series, was inspired by Kristi Belcamino's dealings on the crime beat with a serial killer.

To catch a killer, one reporter must risk it all ...
San Francisco Bay Area newspaper reporter Gabriella Giovanni spends her days on the crime beat, flitting in and out of other people's nightmares, yet walking away unscathed. When a little girl disappears on the way to the school bus stop, her quest for justice and a front-page story leads her to a convicted kidnapper, Jack Dean Johnson, who reels her in with promises to reveal his exploits as a serial killer. But Gabriella's passion for her job quickly spirals into obsession when she begins to suspect the kidnapper may have ties to her own dark past: her sister's murder. Risking her life, her job, and everything she holds dear, Gabriella embarks on a quest to find answers and stop a deranged murderer before he strikes again. Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and Laura Lippman's Tess Monaghan series! This is book 1 in the 4 book series.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Author:

This was the story that wouldn't let me sleep at night.
As the mother of two young girls, memories of a man who sat in a jail cell and told me horrific stories about his life as a killer who preyed on girls made me look at the world a lot differently than the other mothers in my neighborhood.
I sat down to write a book about it and somewhere along the line the story took on a life of it's own and became a work of fiction. In my novel, there are some exact conversations that I had in real life with this serial killer, but fictionalizing the story gave me the freedom to make sure justice was served with a vengeance, something that doesn't always happen in real life.
This book is dedicated to all the girls brutally ripped from their family's arms, especially the ones I wrote about. Along with putting their stories in the newspaper, I have written their names on my heart - Traci McBride, Christina Williams, Polly Klaas, Amber Schwartz, Nikki Campbell, and Xiana Fairchild. They have marked me forever and I will never forget them for as long as I live.

About the Author:


Kristi Belcamino is a writer, crime reporter, and Italian-American mama who makes a tasty biscotti. As a reporter, she flew in an FA-18 jet with the Blue Angels, raced a Dodge Viper at Laguna Seca, and attended barbecues at the morgue. Her first book, BLESSED ARE THE DEAD, based on her dealings with a serial killer, is nominated for the 2015 Anthony and Macavity awards. Find out more at blessedarethedead.com.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kristi Belcamino
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800623389140000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Belcamino, Kristi
Published by Harpercollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062338914

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kristi Belcamino
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. To catch a killer, one reporter must risk it all . San Francisco Bay Area newspaper reporter Gabriella Giovanni spends her days on the crime beat, flitting in and out of other people s nightmares, yet walking away unscathed. When a little girl disappears on the way to the school bus stop, her quest for justice and a front-page story leads her to a convicted kidnapper, Jack Dean Johnson, who reels her in with promises to reveal his exploits as a serial killer. But Gabriella s passion for her job quickly spirals into obsession when she begins to suspect the kidnapper may have ties to her own dark past: her sister s murder. Risking her life, her job, and everything she holds dear, Gabriella embarks on a quest to find answers and stop a deranged murderer before he strikes again. Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and Laura Lippman s Tess Monaghan series!. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062338914

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kristi Belcamino
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. To catch a killer, one reporter must risk it all . San Francisco Bay Area newspaper reporter Gabriella Giovanni spends her days on the crime beat, flitting in and out of other people s nightmares, yet walking away unscathed. When a little girl disappears on the way to the school bus stop, her quest for justice and a front-page story leads her to a convicted kidnapper, Jack Dean Johnson, who reels her in with promises to reveal his exploits as a serial killer. But Gabriella s passion for her job quickly spirals into obsession when she begins to suspect the kidnapper may have ties to her own dark past: her sister s murder. Risking her life, her job, and everything she holds dear, Gabriella embarks on a quest to find answers and stop a deranged murderer before he strikes again. Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and Laura Lippman s Tess Monaghan series!. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780062338914

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kristi Belcamino
Published by Witness Impulse, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. To catch a killer, one reporter must risk it all . San Francisco Bay Area newspaper reporter Gabriella Giovanni spends her days on the crime beat, flitting in and out of other people s nightmares, yet walking away unscathed. When a little girl disappears on the way to the school bus stop, her quest for justice and a front-page story leads her to a convicted kidnapper, Jack Dean Johnson, who reels her in with promises to reveal his exploits as a serial killer. But Gabriella s passion for her job quickly spirals into obsession when she begins to suspect the kidnapper may have ties to her own dark past: her sister s murder. Risking her life, her job, and everything she holds dear, Gabriella embarks on a quest to find answers and stop a deranged murderer before he strikes again. Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and Laura Lippman s Tess Monaghan series!. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062338914

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Belcamino, Kristi
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062338919

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Belcamino, Kristi
Published by Harpercollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062338914

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Belcamino, Kristi
Published by Witness Impulse (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Witness Impulse, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062338919

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Kristi Belcamino
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 288 pages. 0.249. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062338914

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Kristi Belcamino
Published by Gabriella Giovanni Mystery (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062338919 ISBN 13: 9780062338914
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gabriella Giovanni Mystery, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TH9780062338914

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.56
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book