Megan Shepherd Her Dark Curiosity

ISBN 13: 9780062326539

Her Dark Curiosity

3.93 avg rating
( 6,076 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062326539: Her Dark Curiosity

Inspired by The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this tantalizing sequel to Megan Shepherd's gothic suspense novel The Madman's Daughter explores the hidden natures of those we love and how far we'll go to save them from themselves. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray.

Back in London after her trip to Dr. Moreau's horrific island, Juliet is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget her father's legacy. But soon it's clear that someone—or something—hasn't forgotten her, as people close to Juliet start falling victim to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes. Has one of her father's creations also escaped the island?

As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, her past bubbling to the surface, and her life threatened by an obsessive killer—Juliet will be lucky to escape alive.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The Madman’s Daughter Series Quiz - What classic novel should you be living in? By Megan Shepherd

One of the best parts about writing the Madman’s Daughter series was rereading a variety of classics to see which I wanted to use as inspiration for Juliet Moreau’s story. The three I based my trilogy on all had to have a common element—dark science—so I chose The Island of Doctor Moreau by H. G. Wells, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson, and Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. While I was flipping back through all these great classics, I started to wonder which one would best fit my personality and be good fits for my friends’ personalities.

1. Which musician do you enjoy the most?

a. Florence + the Machine

b. Taylor Swift

c. Louis Armstrong

d. Rage Against the Machine

e. None. I prefer the sounds of nature.

2. What is your ideal climate?

a. the wind-swept sea

b. a beautiful, sunny spring day

c. summertime in the big city

d. a dark and stormy night

e. a tropical private beach

3. What is your dream occupation?

a. poet

b. wedding planner

c. investment banker

d. doctor

e. park ranger

4. What type of romantic are you?

a. I think there’s a single soul mate for me.

b. I fall in love easily.

c. I tend to love unrequited from afar.

d. I’m too dedicated to my work to look for love.

e. I’m a loner, though I’d like to meet someone.

5. Your favorite food is:

a. Who cares about food if I can’t be with the one I love?

b. birthday cake

c. Does champagne count as food?

d. a perfectly cooked rare steak

e. raw oysters

6. Your ideal pet would be:

a. a wild stallion

b. kittens!

c. a rare tropical fish

d. a snake

e. a dog

RESULTS:

Mostly A’s . . . Wuthering Heights

All you want in the world is to curl up with a cup of tea on a rainy night and write your heart out in a journal. You’re highly emotional, a hopeless romantic, prone to outbursts of anger, joy, and sometimes madness. You’ve been known to stare out at sea and sigh at nothing in particular.

Mostly B’s . . . Pride and Prejudice

You’re a smart, upbeat person with close friends and lots of hopeless crushes. You can usually be found with your nose in a book, unless you’ve been dragged to a party where you have more fun than you expected. Life is full of misunderstandings and adventures.

Mostly C’s . . . The Great Gatsby

There’s nothing wrong with loving the good life. You like money, cars, parties, and money. You dream big, give generously, and don’t let anything stop you, which means your friends and admirers might be taking advantage of you. Still, you look really good on the dance floor.

Mostly D’s . . . Frankenstein

You have a dark personality that’s withdrawn from other people and dedicated to work and science. You might frighten small children. Or you might discover the cure for death. Either way, you’re probably pretty handy with a Band-Aid and a good friend to hang out with around Halloween.

Mostly E’s . . . Robinson Crusoe

No man is an island . . . but a man can be trapped on an island. You’re a natural loner, but that doesn’t mean you don’t like other people. You just can’t get off the island. You love fishing, sunbathing, and building shelters out of palm trees.

From the Back Cover:

Months have passed since Juliet Moreau returned to civilization after escaping her father's island—and the secrets she left behind. Now back in London, she is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget Dr. Moreau's horrific legacy—though someone, or something, hasn't forgotten her.

As people close to Juliet fall victim one by one to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes, Juliet fears one of her father's creations may have also made it off the island. She is determined to find the killer before Scotland Yard does, though it means awakening sides of herself she had thought long banished, and facing loves from her past she never expected to see again.

As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in the midst of a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, past bubbling to the surface, life threatened by an obsessive killer—Juliet will be lucky to escape alive.

With inspiration from Robert Louis Stevenson's The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this is a tantalizing mystery about the hidden natures of those we love and how far we'll go to save them from themselves.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Megan Shepherd
Published by Balzer / Bray Harperteen (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062326538 ISBN 13: 9780062326539
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer / Bray Harperteen, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110062326538

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds