North of Normal: A Memoir of My Wilderness Childhood, My Unusual Family, and How I Survived Both

4.15 avg rating
( 3,469 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062289872: North of Normal: A Memoir of My Wilderness Childhood, My Unusual Family, and How I Survived Both

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Person, Cea Sunrise
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622898720000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Person, Cea Sunrise
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 006228987X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Cea Sunrise Person
Published by Harper Paperbacks, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 202 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Sex, drugs, and . . . bug stew? In the vein of The Glass Castle and Wild, Cea Sunrise Person s compelling memoir of a childhood spent with her dysfunctional counter-culture family in the Canadian wilderness--a searing story of physical, emotional, and psychological survival. In the late 1960s, riding the crest of the counterculture movement, Cea s family left a comfortable existence in California to live off the land in the Canadian wilderness. But unlike most commune dwellers of the time, the Persons weren t trying to build a new society--they wanted to escape civilization altogether. Led by Cea s grandfather Dick, they lived a pot-smoking, free-loving, clothing-optional life under a canvas tipi without running water, electricity, or heat for the bitter winters. Living out her grandparents dream with her teenage mother Michelle, young Cea knew little of the world beyond her forest. She spent her summers playing nude in the meadow and her winters snowshoeing behind the grandfather she idolized. Despite fierce storms, food shortages, and the occasional drug-and-sex-infused party for visitors, it seemed to be a mostly happy existence. For Michelle, however, now long separated from Cea s father, there was one crucial element missing: a man. When Cea was five, Michelle took her on the road with a new boyfriend. As the trio set upon a series of ill-fated adventures, Cea began to question both her highly unusual world and the hedonistic woman at the centre of it--questions that eventually evolved into an all-consuming search for a more normal life. Finally, in her early teens, Cea realized she would have to make a choice as drastic as the one her grandparents once had in order to save herself. While a successful international modeling career offered her a way out of the wilderness, Cea discovered that this new world was in its own way daunting and full of challenges. Containing twenty-four intimate black-and-white family photos, North of Normal is Cea s funny, shocking, heartbreaking, and triumphant tale of self-discovery and acceptance, adversity, and strength that will leave no reader unmoved. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780062289872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Cea Sunrise Person
Published by Harper Paperbacks, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 202 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Sex, drugs, and . . . bug stew? In the vein of The Glass Castle and Wild, Cea Sunrise Person s compelling memoir of a childhood spent with her dysfunctional counter-culture family in the Canadian wilderness--a searing story of physical, emotional, and psychological survival. In the late 1960s, riding the crest of the counterculture movement, Cea s family left a comfortable existence in California to live off the land in the Canadian wilderness. But unlike most commune dwellers of the time, the Persons weren t trying to build a new society--they wanted to escape civilization altogether. Led by Cea s grandfather Dick, they lived a pot-smoking, free-loving, clothing-optional life under a canvas tipi without running water, electricity, or heat for the bitter winters. Living out her grandparents dream with her teenage mother Michelle, young Cea knew little of the world beyond her forest. She spent her summers playing nude in the meadow and her winters snowshoeing behind the grandfather she idolized. Despite fierce storms, food shortages, and the occasional drug-and-sex-infused party for visitors, it seemed to be a mostly happy existence. For Michelle, however, now long separated from Cea s father, there was one crucial element missing: a man. When Cea was five, Michelle took her on the road with a new boyfriend. As the trio set upon a series of ill-fated adventures, Cea began to question both her highly unusual world and the hedonistic woman at the centre of it--questions that eventually evolved into an all-consuming search for a more normal life. Finally, in her early teens, Cea realized she would have to make a choice as drastic as the one her grandparents once had in order to save herself. While a successful international modeling career offered her a way out of the wilderness, Cea discovered that this new world was in its own way daunting and full of challenges. Containing twenty-four intimate black-and-white family photos, North of Normal is Cea s funny, shocking, heartbreaking, and triumphant tale of self-discovery and acceptance, adversity, and strength that will leave no reader unmoved. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780062289872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Person, Cea Sunrise
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2015)
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New Quantity Available: 17
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062289872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Person, Cea Sunrise
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New Paperback Quantity Available: 17
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 8365573

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Person, Cea Sunrise
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 23333929-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Person, Cea Sunrise
Published by Harper Paperbacks (2015)
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 006228987X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.40
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Cea Sunrise Person
Published by Harper Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, North of Normal: A Memoir of My Wilderness Childhood, My Unusual Family, and How I Survived Both, Cea Sunrise Person. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062289872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Person, Cea Sunrise
Published by Harper Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 006228987X ISBN 13: 9780062289872
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 006228987X. Bookseller Inventory # Z006228987XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book