Fiction Kasischke, Laura Mind of Winter

ISBN 13: 9780062284396

Mind of Winter

3.31 avg rating
( 2,549 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062284396: Mind of Winter

A chilling and dark psychological drama, Mind of Winter is a spine-tingling and beautifully written novel that will leave you guessing until the very last page - perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn or Kate Atkinson.

Something had followed them home from Russia.

On a snowy Christmas morning, Holly Judge awakens with the fragments of a nightmare floating on the edge of her consciousness. Thirteen years ago, she and her husband Eric adopted baby Tatty, their pretty, black-haired Rapunzel, from the Pokrovka Orphanage #2. Now, at fifteen, Tatiana is more beautiful than ever - and disturbingly erratic.As a blizzard rages outside, Holly and Tatiana are alone. With each passing hour, Tatiana's mood darkens, and her behaviour becomes increasingly frightening ...until Holly finds she no longer recognises her daughter.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

It's rare and wonderful to find a book like Mind of Winter that is both a masterwork of evocative prose and a bone-chilling page-turner - Jennifer McMahon

Thought-provoking and chilling, Mind of Winter will have you looking over your shoulder as you tear through the pages to the shocking and heartbreaking conclusion - Kimberly McCreight

Few novels sustain such levels of domestic creepiness and the revelation at the end feels like a punch -- Sunday Times

Shocking -- Vogue

Few novels sustain such levels of domestic creepiness and the revelation at the end feels like a punch -- Sunday Times

Shocking -- Vogue

About the Author:

Laura Kasischke teaches in the University of Michigan MFA program and the Residential College. She has published seven collections of poetry and seven novels. Two of her novels have been made into films, including The Life Before Her Eyes (2007) starring Uma Thurman, and her novel, The Raising, was shortlisted for the 2011 Prix Femina (France).

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kasischke, Laura
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062284398 Ships promptly from Texas. Bookseller Inventory # HGT2288IVRA042716H0504A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kasischke, Laura
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sequitur Books
(Boonsboro, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Clean, unmarked pages. Fine binding and cover. Hardcover and dust jacket. Ships daily. Bookseller Inventory # 1409040003

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kasischke, Laura
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622843960000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Laura Kasischke
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622843961.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kasischke, Laura
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062284398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.81
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Laura Kasischke
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062284398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Kasischke, Laura
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2014. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062284396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Author Laura Kasischke
Published by Harper, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, United States, 2014. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New.. 208 x 140 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Laura Kasischke, the critically acclaimed and nationally bestselling poet and author of The Raising, returns Mind of Winter, a dark and chilling thriller that combines domestic drama with elements of psychological suspense and horror--an addictive tale of denial and guilt that is part Joyce Carol Oates and part Chris Bohjalian. On a snowy Christmas morning, Holly Judge awakens with the fragments of a nightmare floating on the edge of her consciousness. Something followed them from Russia. Thirteen years ago, she and her husband Eric adopted baby Tatty, their pretty, black-haired Rapunzel, from the Pokrovka Orphanage #2. Now, at fifteen, Tatiana is more beautiful than ever--and disturbingly erratic. As a blizzard rages outside, Holly and Tatiana are alone. With each passing hour, Tatiana s mood darkens, and her behavior becomes increasingly frightening . . . until Holly finds she no longer recognizes her daughter. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062284396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Kasischke, Laura
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062284398 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 16462232

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Author Laura Kasischke
Published by Harper, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062284398 ISBN 13: 9780062284396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, United States, 2014. Hardback. Book Condition: New. New.. 208 x 140 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Laura Kasischke, the critically acclaimed and nationally bestselling poet and author of The Raising, returns Mind of Winter, a dark and chilling thriller that combines domestic drama with elements of psychological suspense and horror--an addictive tale of denial and guilt that is part Joyce Carol Oates and part Chris Bohjalian. On a snowy Christmas morning, Holly Judge awakens with the fragments of a nightmare floating on the edge of her consciousness. Something followed them from Russia. Thirteen years ago, she and her husband Eric adopted baby Tatty, their pretty, black-haired Rapunzel, from the Pokrovka Orphanage #2. Now, at fifteen, Tatiana is more beautiful than ever--and disturbingly erratic. As a blizzard rages outside, Holly and Tatiana are alone. With each passing hour, Tatiana s mood darkens, and her behavior becomes increasingly frightening . . . until Holly finds she no longer recognizes her daughter. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780062284396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book