The Inquisitor's Mark (The Eighth Day)

4.3 avg rating
( 582 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062272188: The Inquisitor's Mark (The Eighth Day)

This sequel to The Eighth Day, a fantasy adventure that VOYA called "unparalleled" and "absolutely necessary for middle grades," continues with higher stakes, greater world building, and more pulse-pounding action. With suspense, action, and intrigue at every corner, this fast-paced fantasy series will be a welcome addition for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter.

After an all-out battle in Mexico, Jax, Riley, and Evangeline have gone into hiding. There are still rogue Transitioners and evil Kin lords on the hunt for Riley, a descendant of King Arthur, and Evangeline, a powerful wizard with bloodlines to Merlin, in order to gain control over the Eighth Day.

So when Finn Ambrose, a mysterious stranger, contacts Jax claiming to be his uncle, Jax's defenses go up—especially after Jax learns that he's holding Jax's best friend, Billy, hostage. To rescue Billy and keep Riley and Evangeline out of the fray, Jax sneaks off to New York City on his own. But once there, he discovers a surprising truth: Finn is his uncle and Jax comes from a long line of Dulacs—a notoriously corrupt and dangerous Transitioner clan who want Riley dead and Evangeline as their prisoner. And family or not, the Dulacs will stop at nothing to get what they want.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

“Ancient magic pairs nicely with modern intrigue. Complicated alliances and ruthless villains keep the pages turning. A promising start to a new trilogy.” (Kirkus Reviews (on The Eighth Day))

“[A] fast-paced, magical adventure. An unparalleled mix of evil villains, humor, and background that set this up for a likeable trilogy to be recommended for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. Absolutely necessary for middle grades.” (Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (on The Eighth Day))

“Fascinating…Melds Arthurian legend into present day. Fast paced and exciting.” (School Library Journal (on The Eighth Day))

“Adventure, magic, and Arthurian legend combine in a roller-coaster ride of secrets. Perfect fodder for fans who adore mythology, legends, and series with more volumes yet to come.” (ALA Booklist (on The Eighth Day))

About the Author:

Dianne K. Salerni attended the University of Delaware, where she earned her bachelor's degree in elementary education, and then went on to earn a master's in language arts education at the University of Pennsylvania. She has been teaching the fourth and fifth grades for over twenty years now and has also managed to write several books, including We Hear the Dead and The Caged Graves. Though she knows it doesn't exist, Dianne secretly hopes to discover a real Eighth Day so she can find the time to grade all her students' papers. Until then, she lives in Chester County, Pennsylvania, with her husband, Bob, and two daughters, Gabrielle and Gina.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Salerni, Dianne K.
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062272187

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Salerni, Dianne K.
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622721880000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Dianne K Salerni
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 213 x 142 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The sequel to The Eighth Day, a fantasy adventure that VOYA called unparalleled and absolutely necessary for middle grades, continues with higher stakes, greater world building, and more pulse-pounding action. With suspense, danger, and new discoveries around every corner, this fast-paced fantasy series that Kirkus Reviews raved was an exciting blend of modern intrigue and ancient magic will be a welcome addition for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. After an all-out battle in Mexico, Jax, Riley, and Evangeline have gone into hiding. There are still rogue Transitioners and evil Kin lords on the hunt for Riley, a descendant of King Arthur, and Evangeline, a powerful wizard with bloodlines to Merlin, in order to gain control over the Eighth Day. So when Finn Ambrose, a mysterious stranger, contacts Jax claiming to be his uncle, Jax s defenses go up--especially after Jax learns that he s holding Jax s best friend, Billy, hostage. To rescue Billy and keep Riley and Evangeline out of the fray, Jax sneaks off to New York City on his own. But once there, he discovers a surprising truth: Finn is his uncle, and Jax comes from a long line of Dulacs--a notoriously corrupt and dangerous Transitioner clan who want Riley dead and Evangeline as their prisoner. And family or not, the Dulacs will stop at nothing to get what they want. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062272188

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Dianne K Salerni
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, 2015. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062272188

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Salerni, Dianne K.
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Print on Demand
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Item doesn't include CD/DVD. Bookseller Inventory # 7856456

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dianne K Salerni
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2015. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 213 x 142 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The sequel to The Eighth Day, a fantasy adventure that VOYA called unparalleled and absolutely necessary for middle grades, continues with higher stakes, greater world building, and more pulse-pounding action. With suspense, danger, and new discoveries around every corner, this fast-paced fantasy series that Kirkus Reviews raved was an exciting blend of modern intrigue and ancient magic will be a welcome addition for fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter. After an all-out battle in Mexico, Jax, Riley, and Evangeline have gone into hiding. There are still rogue Transitioners and evil Kin lords on the hunt for Riley, a descendant of King Arthur, and Evangeline, a powerful wizard with bloodlines to Merlin, in order to gain control over the Eighth Day. So when Finn Ambrose, a mysterious stranger, contacts Jax claiming to be his uncle, Jax s defenses go up--especially after Jax learns that he s holding Jax s best friend, Billy, hostage. To rescue Billy and keep Riley and Evangeline out of the fray, Jax sneaks off to New York City on his own. But once there, he discovers a surprising truth: Finn is his uncle, and Jax comes from a long line of Dulacs--a notoriously corrupt and dangerous Transitioner clan who want Riley dead and Evangeline as their prisoner. And family or not, the Dulacs will stop at nothing to get what they want. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062272188

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Salerni, Dianne K.
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 13
Seller
Movie Mars
(Matthews, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062272187 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 17448989

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Salerni, Dianne K.
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2015. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062272187

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.41
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Dianne K Salerni
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc. Hardback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Inquisitor's Mark, Dianne K Salerni. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062272188

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Salerni, Dianne K.
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0062272187 ISBN 13: 9780062272188
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062272187. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062272187ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book