A Bloodsmoor Romance

3.71 avg rating
( 391 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062269195: A Bloodsmoor Romance

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Oates, Joyce Carol
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622691950000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates s lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era--one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women s independence.Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, a novel of manners in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women s suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century s greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde.Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9780062269195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco Press
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, A Bloodsmoor Romance, Joyce Carol Oates. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062269195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates s lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era--one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women s independence.Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, a novel of manners in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women s suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century s greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde.Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9780062269195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco 2013-10-22 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco 2013-10-22, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0062269194. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062269194ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.84
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco Press 2013-10-22 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press 2013-10-22, 2013. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062269195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062269194. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062269194ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.84
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Harper Collins Publ. USA (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publ. USA, 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062269195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Oates, Joyce Carol
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Publisher/Verlag: HarperCollins US | Finally returned to print in a beautiful new trade paperback edition, comes Joyce Carol Oates lost classic: a satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic Romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose 19th century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture. | Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American cultureWhen their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era-one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women's independence.Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, "a novel of manners" in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde.Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day. | Format: Paperback | Language/Sprache: english | 537 gr | 201x134x33 mm | 768 pp. Bookseller Inventory # K9780062269195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.32
From Germany to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062269194 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 16544070

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.68
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book