A Bloodsmoor Romance

3.71 avg rating
( 403 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062269195: A Bloodsmoor Romance

Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture

When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era--one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women's independence.

Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, "a novel of manners" in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde.

Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and be....

About the Author:

Joyce Carol Oates is a recipient of the National Medal of Humanities, the National Book Critics Circle Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award, the National Book Award, and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction. She is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University and has been a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 1978.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco 2013-10-22 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco 2013-10-22, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0062269194. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062269194ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062269194. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062269194ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062269194. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062269194ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062269194. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062269194ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062269194. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062269194ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062269194. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062269194ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Oates, Joyce Carol
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY7SO002PCJ

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.73
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Professor of Humanities Joyce Carol Oates
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800622691950000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Oates, Joyce Carol
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062269194

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.73
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Oates, Joyce Carol
ISBN 10: 0062269194 ISBN 13: 9780062269195
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062269195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book