Daphne Kalotay Sight Reading: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780062253798

Sight Reading: A Novel

3.32 avg rating
( 757 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062253798: Sight Reading: A Novel

For readers who loved Bel Canto, Three Junes, and The Hours... On a warm spring day after a long New England winter, Hazel and Remy spot each other for the first time in years. Under ordinary circumstances, this meeting might seem insignificant. But Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to the Scottish composer Nicholas Elko--once the love of Hazel' s life, now struggling with a masterwork he cannot realize. In the twenty years since Hazel' s world was tipped on its axis, these three artists have faced unexpected joys, mysterious afflictions and other puzzles of life, their fates irrevocably interlaced.

As their story unfolds across two decades, moving from Europe to America and from conservatory life to the Boston Symphony Orchestra, this moving novel explores how the desire to create something real and true--be it a work of art or one's own life--can lead to deeper personal revelations, including the secrets we keep, even from ourselves.  Lyrical and evocative, Sight Reading asks questions about what makes a family, about the importance of art and beauty in daily life, and about the role of intuition in both the creative process and the evolution of the self.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

Winner of the 2014 New England Society Book Award, Sight Reading is an intense, literary love story.

When Hazel and Remy happen upon each other on a warm Boston spring day, their worlds immediately begin to spin. Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to composer Nicholas Elko, who was once the love of Hazel's life. From Europe to America, from conservatory life to the Boston Symphony Orchestra, their lives have crisscrossed, diverged, and interlaced, each woman discovering how the quest to create something real and true can lead to profound personal revelations—and the unearthing of long-held secrets. As Remy and Hazel find themselves once more linked by shifting fate, Sight Reading explores mysteries of intuition and perception while unspooling a transporting story of marriage, family, and the secrets we keep, even from ourselves.

From the Back Cover:

The critically acclaimed author of Russian Winter turns her "sure and suspenseful artistry" (Boston Globe) to the lives of three colleagues and lovers in the world of classical music in this beautifully composed novel.

On a Boston street one warm spring day, Hazel and Remy spot each other for the first time in years. At first their brief meeting might seem insignificant. But behind them lie two decades in which their life paths have crisscrossed, diverged, and ultimately interlaced. Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to the composer Nicholas Elko—once the love of Hazel's life.

Lyrical and evocative, Sight Reading is a moving exploration of what makes a family, of the importance of art in daily life, and of the role of intuition in both the creative process and the evolution of the self.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kalotay, Daphne
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW0013ZY

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kalotay, Daphne
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062253798

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kalotay, Daphne
Published by HarperLuxe 2013-05-21 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe 2013-05-21, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Lrg. 0062253794 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quanities available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS67-9780062253798-11-1560

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kalotay, Daphne
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062253794

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Daphne Kalotay
Published by Harperluxe, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperluxe, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. large type edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. Lyrical and evocative, Sight Reading by Daphne Kalotay is an intense, literary love story. When Hazel and Remy happen upon each other on a warm Boston spring day, their worlds immediately begin to spin. Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to composer Nicholas Elko, who was once the love of Hazel s life. Over the decades, each buried secrets, disappointments, and betrayals that now threaten to undermine their happiness. We follow the notes of their complicated, intertwined lives from 1987 to 2007, from Europe to America, and from conservatory life to the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Sight Reading, from the author of the acclaimed debut novel Russian Winter, is an exploration of what makes a family, of the importance of art in daily life, and of the role of intuition in both the creative process and the evolution of the self. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062253798

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Daphne Kalotay
Published by Harperluxe, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperluxe, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. large type edition. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Lyrical and evocative, Sight Reading by Daphne Kalotay is an intense, literary love story. When Hazel and Remy happen upon each other on a warm Boston spring day, their worlds immediately begin to spin. Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to composer Nicholas Elko, who was once the love of Hazel s life. Over the decades, each buried secrets, disappointments, and betrayals that now threaten to undermine their happiness. We follow the notes of their complicated, intertwined lives from 1987 to 2007, from Europe to America, and from conservatory life to the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Sight Reading, from the author of the acclaimed debut novel Russian Winter, is an exploration of what makes a family, of the importance of art in daily life, and of the role of intuition in both the creative process and the evolution of the self. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780062253798

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Daphne Kalotay
Published by Harperluxe, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperluxe, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. large type edition. Language: English . Brand New Book. Lyrical and evocative, Sight Reading by Daphne Kalotay is an intense, literary love story. When Hazel and Remy happen upon each other on a warm Boston spring day, their worlds immediately begin to spin. Remy, a gifted violinist, is married to composer Nicholas Elko, who was once the love of Hazel s life. Over the decades, each buried secrets, disappointments, and betrayals that now threaten to undermine their happiness. We follow the notes of their complicated, intertwined lives from 1987 to 2007, from Europe to America, and from conservatory life to the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Sight Reading, from the author of the acclaimed debut novel Russian Winter, is an exploration of what makes a family, of the importance of art in daily life, and of the role of intuition in both the creative process and the evolution of the self. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062253798

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Daphne Kalotay
Published by HarperLuxe
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062253798

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Daphne Kalotay
Published by Harperluxe (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperluxe, 2013. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TV9780062253798

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.66
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Daphne Kalotay
Published by HarperLuxe (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062253794 ISBN 13: 9780062253798
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0062253794

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book