The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

3.9 avg rating
( 2,134 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062228833: The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative.
 
When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece’s Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe’s earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery.
                                              
Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox's riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegean—the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen—to the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the deipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In 1900, while excavating on Crete, the charismatic Victorian archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed inscribed clay tablets amid the ruins of a lavish Bronze Age palace. Written by palace scribes circa 1450 b.c., the script they displayed—featuring outline drawings of swords, chariots, and horses' heads, as well as other tiny pictograms—resembled no alphabet ever seen. Evans named the script Linear B, and from the start it posed a deep mystery. No one knew what language Linear B recorded, much less what the curious inscriptions meant. If the tablets could be deciphered, they would open a portal onto a refined, wealthy, and literate society that had flourished in Greek lands three thousand years earlier, a full millennium before the glories of the Classical Age.

The Riddle of the Labyrinth is the true story of the quest to solve one of the most mesmerizing riddles in history—Linear B—and of the three brilliant, obsessed, and ultimately doomed investigators whose combined work would eventually crack the code. There was Evans, who had discovered the script but could never unravel it; Alice Kober, the fiery American scholar whose vital work on Linear B never got the recognition it deserved; and Michael Ventris, the haunted English architect who would solve the riddle triumphantly at the age of thirty only to die four years later under circumstances that remain the subject of speculation even now.

For half a century some of the world's foremost scholars tried to coax the tablets to yield their secrets. Then, in 1952, the script was deciphered seemingly in a single stroke—not by a scholar but by Ventris, an impassioned amateur whose obsession with the tablets had begun in childhood. The decipherment brought him worldwide acclaim. But it also cost him his architectural career, his ties to his family, and quite possibly his life. 

That is the narrative of the decipherment as it has been known thus far. But a major actor in the drama has long been missing: Alice Kober, a classicist at Brooklyn College. Though largely forgotten today, she came within a hair's breadth of deciphering Linear B before her own untimely death in 1950. As The Riddle of the Labyrinth reveals, it was Kober who built the foundation on which Ventris's decipherment stood, an achievement that until now has been all but lost to history. Drawing on a newly opened archive of Kober's papers, Margalit Fox restores this unsung heroine to her rightful place at last.

Above all, this book is a detective story in the tradition of Dava Sobel and Simon Winchester. As Fox narrates the lives of Evans, Kober, and Ventris, she takes readers step-by-step through the forensic process involved in cracking a secret code from the past. Following the three investigators as they hunt down, analyze, and interpret a series of linguistic clues hidden within the script itself, The Riddle of the Labyrinth offers the first complete account of one of the most fascinating conundrums of all time. 

About the Author:

An award-winning journalist trained as a linguist, Margalit Fox is a senior writer at the New York Times. She holds bachelor's and master's degrees in linguistics from Stony Brook University and a master's degree in journalism from Columbia Univer-sity. She lives in Manhattan with her husband, the writer and critic George Robinson.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062228838 ISBN 13: 9780062228833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
pickabook
(San francisco, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000172891

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.01
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Fox, Margalit
ISBN 10: 0062228838 ISBN 13: 9780062228833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Sharehousegoods
(Milwaukee, WI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. This is a brand new book! Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Mailer - Our goal is to deliver a better item than what you are hoping for! If not we will make it right!. Bookseller Inventory # 1XGGTE0000I8_ns

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.01
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062228838 ISBN 13: 9780062228833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0062228838

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.01
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Margalit Fox
Published by Ecco (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062228838 ISBN 13: 9780062228833
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0062228838

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062228838 ISBN 13: 9780062228833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110062228838

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
23.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Fox, Margalit
Published by Ecco
ISBN 10: 0062228838 ISBN 13: 9780062228833
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062228838 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0019967

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds