The Midwife of Hope River (P.S.)

4 avg rating
( 9,749 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062198891: The Midwife of Hope River (P.S.)

"Call The Midwife" meets "The Help" in this debut novel featuring Patience Murphy, a midwife in the 1930s struggling against disease, poverty, prejudices - and her own haunting past - to bring new life into the world. As a midwife working in rural poverty during the Depression, Patience Murphy's only solace is her gift: the chance to escort mothers through the challenges of childbirth. Just beginning, she takes on the jobs no one else wants: those most in need-and least likely to pay. Patience is willing to do what it takes to fulfil her mentor's wishes, but starting a midwife practice means gaining trust, and Patience's secrets won't allow her to let anyone in. "The Midwife of Hope River" beats with authenticity as Patience faces seemingly insurmountable conditions: disease, poverty, and prejudices threaten at every turn. From the dangerous mines of West Virginia to the terrifying attentions of the Ku Klux Klan, Patience must strive to bring new light, and life, into an otherwise cruel world. It is suitable for fans of "Call The Midwife" and "One Born Every Minute", readers of Diane Chamberlain, Jennifer Worth and Kathryn Stockett.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"* 'From start to satisfying conclusion, it is a beautifully imagined novel, a marvel of a debut, rich with fully realized characters and events. This is one I'll read again, more slowly next time.' - Johanna Moran, author of The Wives of Henry Oades * 'The Midwife of Hope River is a rich and deeply moving book that will pleasantly linger in your thoughts long after you've finished reading it. Patricia Harman has created such a striking and original heroine that pregnant women everywhere will be wanting Patience Murphy to deliver their babies.' - Theresa Brown, author of Critical Care: A New Nurse Faces Death, Life and Everything in Between, and New York Times Opinion Columnist * 'I learned, I laughed, I cried, but most of all I was deeply impressed by the artistry of the midwife and her central role in women's lives prior to the advent of commercialized, institutionalized medicine. This novel will live in my heart for years to come.' - Amy Hill Hearth, author of Miss Dreamsville and the Collier County Women's Literary Society: A Novel"

About the Author:

Patricia Harman, CNM, is a regular presenter at national midwifery conferences. Harman got her start as a lay-midwife on the rural communes where she lived in the '60s and '70s, going on to become a nurse-midwife on the faculty of Ohio State University, Case Western Reserve University, and West Virginia University. She lives and works near Morgantown, West Virginia, and has three sons. A debut novelist, she has published two acclaimed memoirs.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Harman, Patricia
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW0027U2

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Harman, Patricia
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
scafurobooks
(Hatchville, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062198890 New softcover book. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1005620

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Harman, Patricia
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800621988910000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Harman, Patricia
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062198890

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.83
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Harman, Patricia
Published by William Morrow Company, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Company, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Original. 201 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Midwife Patience Murphy has a gift: a talent for escorting mothers through the challenges of bringing children into the world. Working in the hardscrabble conditions of Appalachia during the Depression, Patience takes the jobs that no one else wants, helping those most in need and least likely to pay. She knows a successful midwifery practice must be built on a foundation of openness and trust but the secrets Patience is keeping are far too intimate and fragile for her to ever let anyone in.Honest, moving, and beautifully detailed, Patricia Harman s The Midwife of Hope River rings with authenticity as Patience faces nearly insurmountable difficulties. From the dangerous mines of West Virginia to the terrifying attentions of the Ku Klux Klan, Patience must strive to bring new light and life into an otherwise hard world. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062198891

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Harman, Patricia
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062198890 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 16013162

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Harman, Patricia
Published by WILLIAM MORROW (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WILLIAM MORROW, 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062198891

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Harman, Patricia
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: '.will definitely renew your faith in love, loyalty, forgiveness, understanding and just plain HOPE.' (Fran Lewis). Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0062198890

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Harman, Patricia
Published by William Morrow Company, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Company, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Original. 201 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Midwife Patience Murphy has a gift: a talent for escorting mothers through the challenges of bringing children into the world. Working in the hardscrabble conditions of Appalachia during the Depression, Patience takes the jobs that no one else wants, helping those most in need and least likely to pay. She knows a successful midwifery practice must be built on a foundation of openness and trust but the secrets Patience is keeping are far too intimate and fragile for her to ever let anyone in.Honest, moving, and beautifully detailed, Patricia Harman s The Midwife of Hope River rings with authenticity as Patience faces nearly insurmountable difficulties. From the dangerous mines of West Virginia to the terrifying attentions of the Ku Klux Klan, Patience must strive to bring new light and life into an otherwise hard world. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062198891

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Harman, Patricia
ISBN 10: 0062198890 ISBN 13: 9780062198891
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 5285214

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book