Born of Illusion

3.72 avg rating
( 4,279 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062187543: Born of Illusion

For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life playing sidekick to her faux-medium mother—and trying to hide the fact that she possesses magnificent powers.

As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini—or so her mother claims—gifted illusionist Anna Van Housen easily navigates the underground world of magicians and mediums in 1920s New York, though the real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother. But as Anna's powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the powers she's tried so long to hide.

Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Illusion and its whip-smart, savvy protagonist.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Anna Van Housen has a secret.

A gifted illusionist, Anna assists her mother, the renowned medium Marguerite Van Housen, in her stage show and séances, easily navigating the underground world of magicians and mentalists in 1920s New York. For Anna, the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini—or so Marguerite claims—handcuffs and sleight-of-hand illusions have never been much of a challenge. The real trick is keeping her own gifts secret from her mother: because while Marguerite's powers may be a sham, Anna possesses a true ability to sense people's feelings and foretell the future.

But as Anna's powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions of her mother in peril, which lead her to explore the abilities she's tried so long to hide. And when a mysterious young man named Cole moves into the flat downstairs, introducing Anna to a society that studies people with gifts like hers, she begins to wonder if there's more to life than keeping secrets.

As her visions become darker and her powers spin out of her control, Anna is forced to rethink all she's ever known. Is her mother truly in danger, or are Anna's visions merely illusions? And could the great Houdini really be her father, or is it just another of Marguerite's tricks?

From Teri Brown comes a world bursting with magic, with romance, with the temptations of Jazz Age New York—and the story of a girl about to become the mistress of her own destiny.

About the Author:

Teri Brown is most proud of her children, but coming in a close second is the fact that she jumped out of an airplane and beat the original Legend of Zelda video game. She is a word scribbler, head banger, math hater, book reader, food fixer, kitty keeper, and city slicker. She is also the author of the Born of Illusion novels. Teri lives with her husband and way too many pets in Portland, Oregon.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Brown, Teri
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062187543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Teri Brown
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800621875430000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Brown, Teri
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062187546

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Teri Brown
Published by Balzer Bray/Harperteen, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer Bray/Harperteen, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life playing sidekick to her faux-medium mother--and trying to hide the fact that she possesses magnificent powers. As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini--or so her mother claims--gifted illusionist Anna Van Housen easily navigates the underground world of magicians and mediums in 1920s New York, though the real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother. But as Anna s powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the powers she s tried so long to hide. Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Illusion and its whip-smart, savvy protagonist. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062187543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brown, Teri
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062187543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Teri Brown
Published by Balzer Bray/Harperteen, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer Bray/Harperteen, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life playing sidekick to her faux-medium mother--and trying to hide the fact that she possesses magnificent powers. As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini--or so her mother claims--gifted illusionist Anna Van Housen easily navigates the underground world of magicians and mediums in 1920s New York, though the real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother. But as Anna s powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the powers she s tried so long to hide. Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Illusion and its whip-smart, savvy protagonist. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062187543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Brown, Teri
Published by Balzer + Bray
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer + Bray. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062187546 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132276815

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Teri Brown
Published by Balzer Bray/Harperteen, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer Bray/Harperteen, United States, 2013. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life playing sidekick to her faux-medium mother--and trying to hide the fact that she possesses magnificent powers. As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini--or so her mother claims--gifted illusionist Anna Van Housen easily navigates the underground world of magicians and mediums in 1920s New York, though the real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother. But as Anna s powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the powers she s tried so long to hide. Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Illusion and its whip-smart, savvy protagonist. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9780062187543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Brown, Teri
Published by Balzer + Bray (2013)
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Balzer + Bray, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062187546

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.28
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Teri Brown
ISBN 10: 0062187546 ISBN 13: 9780062187543
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Set in 1920s New York City, this is the story of budding magician Anna Van Housen, who has spent her whole life playing sidekick to her faux-medium motherNand trying to hide the fact the .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 373 pages. 0.454. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062187543

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book