The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone---Especially Ourselves

3.91 avg rating
( 9,536 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062183590: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone---Especially Ourselves

Dan Ariely, behavioral economist and the New York Times bestselling author of The Upside of Irrationality and Predictably Irrational, examines the contradictory forces that drive us to cheat and keep us honest, in this groundbreaking look at the way we behave: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty.

From ticket-fixing in our police departments to test-score scandals in our schools, from our elected leaders’ extra-marital affairs to the Ponzi schemes undermining our economy, cheating and dishonesty are ubiquitous parts of our national news cycle—and inescapable parts of the human condition.

Drawing on original experiments and research, in the vein of Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Survival of the Sickest, Ariely reveals—honestly—what motivates these irrational, but entirely human, behaviors.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational and The Upside of Irrationality returns with thought-provoking work to challenge our preconceptions about dishonesty and urge us to take an honest look at ourselves.

  • Does the chance of getting caught affect how likely we are to cheat?
  • How do companies pave the way for dishonesty?
  • Does collaboration make us more honest or less so?
  • Does religion improve our honesty?

Most of us think of ourselves as honest, but, in fact, we all cheat. From Washington to Wall Street, the classroom to the workplace, unethical behavior is everywhere. None of us is immune, whether it's the white lie to head off trouble or padding our expense reports. In The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty, award-winning, bestselling author Dan Ariely turns his unique insight and innovative research to the question of dishonesty.

Generally, we assume that cheating, like most other decisions, is based on a rational cost-benefit analysis. But Ariely argues, and then demonstrates, that it's actually the irrational forces that we don't take into account that often determine whether we behave ethically or not. For every Enron or political bribe, there are countless puffed résumés, hidden commissions, and knockoff purses. In The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty, Ariely shows why some things are easier to lie about; how getting caught matters less than we think; and how business practices pave the way for unethical behavior, both intentionally and unintentionally. Ariely explores how unethical behavior works in the personal, professional, and political worlds, and how it affects all of us, even as we think of ourselves as having high moral standards.

But all is not lost. Ariely also identifies what keeps us honest, pointing the way for achieving higher ethics in our everyday lives. With compelling personal and academic findings, The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty will change the way we see ourselves, our actions, and others.

About the Author:

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University, and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110062183591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
34.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Green Street Books
(San Mateo, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062183591. Bookseller Inventory # 048408

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
44.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.08
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper 2012-06-05 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2012-06-05, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062183591 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0062183591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
45.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ACJBooks
(Staten Island, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062183591 !!!!This is a 1st Edition!!!!! This is a hardcover book with dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory # 244W5

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
45.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.61
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Dan Ariely
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0062183591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
56.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0062183591 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1025943

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
55.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0062183591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
67.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Dan Ariely
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0062183591BNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
68.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Dan Ariely
ISBN 10: 0062183591 ISBN 13: 9780062183590
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800621835901.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
87.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds