Confessions of a So-called Middle Child

3.85 avg rating
( 230 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062126917: Confessions of a So-called Middle Child

Meet Charlie C. Cooper, reformed bully, misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child! Fans of Louise Rennison, Harriet the Spy, and Mean Girls will cheer when they meet her. This fresh tween coming-of-age story is an honest look at bullying and the obstacles of middle school from talented screenwriter Maria T. Lennon. Extras in the back of the paperback offer tidbits about famous middle children (including Abraham Lincoln and Madonna) and a special interview with heroine Charlie herself.

Both seriously funny and poignant, this story follows the hilarious Charlie as she tries to fit in at her new school in Los Angeles. As a middle child, she knows what it feels like to be overlooked. To get attention, she resorts to becoming a prankster, which leads to big trouble. So her therapist gives her a seventh-grade mission—she must turn over a new leaf, find the most bullied girl at her school ("Marta the Farta"), and become her friend.

Charlie faces down the mean girls and decides between right and wrong once and for all. And she does it all in turquoise Doc Martens boots! As Charlie learns to help Marta, she uncovers the meaning of true friendship and impresses new crush Bobby along the way.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

People, what you're holding in your greasy little hands is my manifesto, my confessions, written for all you misunderstood middle kids out there who have no room to shine. Yep, when you're sandwiched between an overachieving older sister and a too-cute-for-his-own-good younger brother, how can you ever win, right?

I never really thought of myself as a "middle child." Gifted computer hacker? Check. Fashion trailblazer? Double check. Finest prankster in my sixth-grade class? Triple check.

But then things got messy. You see, I did something really bad. Bad enough to get expelled for. Even bad enough to be sent to a shrink for. But by the end of the summer, I was a changed woman. The day before my brand-new middle-school life was to start, he gave me a mission:

I had to find the most bullied, friendless, hopeless, laughed at, lonely girl in the entire school and be her friend. In public. Just kill me now, please.

About the Author:

Maria T. Lennon is a graduate of the London School of Economics, a novelist, a screenwriter, and the author of Confessions of a So-called Middle Child. She lives in Los Angeles with her family. Charlie visits frequently.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lennon, Maria T.
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800621269170000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Maria T. Lennon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 190 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Meet Charlie C. Cooper, reformed bully, misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child! Fans of Louise Rennison, Harriet the Spy, and Mean Girls will cheer when they meet her. This fresh tween coming-of-age story is an honest look at bullying and the obstacles of middle school from talented screenwriter Maria T. Lennon. Extras in the back of the paperback offer tidbits about famous middle children (including Abraham Lincoln and Madonna) and a special interview with heroine Charlie herself. Both seriously funny and poignant, this story follows the hilarious Charlie as she tries to fit in at her new school in Los Angeles. As a middle child, she knows what it feels like to be overlooked. To get attention, she resorts to becoming a prankster, which leads to big trouble. So her therapist gives her a seventh-grade mission-she must turn over a new leaf, find the most bullied girl at her school ( Marta the Farta ), and become her friend. Charlie faces down the mean girls and decides between right and wrong once and for all. And she does it all in turquoise Doc Martens boots! As Charlie learns to help Marta, she uncovers the meaning of true friendship and impresses new crush Bobby along the way. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780062126917

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Maria T Lennon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062126917

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Maria T. Lennon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 190 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Meet Charlie C. Cooper, reformed bully, misguided fashionista, and so-called middle child! Fans of Louise Rennison, Harriet the Spy, and Mean Girls will cheer when they meet her. This fresh tween coming-of-age story is an honest look at bullying and the obstacles of middle school from talented screenwriter Maria T. Lennon. Extras in the back of the paperback offer tidbits about famous middle children (including Abraham Lincoln and Madonna) and a special interview with heroine Charlie herself. Both seriously funny and poignant, this story follows the hilarious Charlie as she tries to fit in at her new school in Los Angeles. As a middle child, she knows what it feels like to be overlooked. To get attention, she resorts to becoming a prankster, which leads to big trouble. So her therapist gives her a seventh-grade mission-she must turn over a new leaf, find the most bullied girl at her school ( Marta the Farta ), and become her friend. Charlie faces down the mean girls and decides between right and wrong once and for all. And she does it all in turquoise Doc Martens boots! As Charlie learns to help Marta, she uncovers the meaning of true friendship and impresses new crush Bobby along the way. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780062126917

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Maria T. Lennon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc 2014-09-25, New York (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc 2014-09-25, New York, 2014. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780062126917

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lennon, Maria T.
Published by Harpercollins Childrens Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Childrens Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 278 pages. 7.50x5.50x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0062126911

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lennon, Maria T.
Published by Harpercollins Childrens Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Childrens Books, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062126917

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.62
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Maria T Lennon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062126917

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.62
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Lennon, Maria T.
Published by Harpercollins Childrens Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Childrens Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 278 pages. 7.50x5.50x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-0062126911

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Lennon, Maria T.
Published by HarperCollins 2014-09-25 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0062126911 ISBN 13: 9780062126917
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 2014-09-25, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BNT-01408685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book