16.38 Emma Donoghue Hood: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780062117106

Hood: A Novel

3.56 avg rating
( 1,957 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062117106: Hood: A Novel

From the New York Times bestselling author of Room,Emma Donoghue, Hood is a graceful tale of a young woman who must come toterms with love and loss in the wake of her partner’s sudden passing. The NewYork Times Book Review calls Hood “utterly charming,” writing that,“Ms. Donoghue displays her confidence by avoiding the grandiose and the showy,and dipping into the ordinary with control and the occasional sustainingdescriptive flashes of a born writer.” For readers of Jeanette Winterson’s Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and JoyceCarol Oates’s The Widow’s Story, Donoghue’s Hood is a masterfullycrafted narrative of relationships and a daring, deft exploration of the love’simperfection—and how it can nonetheless dominate our lives as we grow andchange.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

From the author of the highly acclaimed novel Stir-Fry and the groundbreaking work of lesbian scholarship Passions Between Women, Hood is a sexy, bittersweet lesbian romance.

From the Back Cover:

A tale of grief and lust, frustration and hilarity, death and family

Penelope O’Grady and Cara Wall are risking disaster when, like teenagers in any intolerant time and place—here, a Dublin convent school in the late 1970s—they fall in love. Yet Cara, the free spirit, and Pen, the stoic, craft a bond so strong it seems as though nothing could sever it: not the bickering, not the secrets, not even Cara’s infidelities.

But thirteen years on, a car crash kills Cara and rips the lid off Pen’s world. Pen is still in the closet, teaching at her old school, living under the roof of Cara’s gentle father, who thinks of her as his daughter’s friend. How can she survive widowhood without even daring to claim the word? Over the course of one surreal week of bereavement, she is battered by memories that range from the humiliating, to the exalted, to the erotic, to the funny. It will take Pen all her intelligence and wit to sort through her tumultuous past with Cara, and all the nerve she can muster to start remaking her life.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Donoghue, Emma
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW002XMN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Emma Donoghue
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the New York Times bestselling author of Room, Emma Donoghue, Hood is a graceful tale of a young woman who must come toterms with love and loss in the wake of her partner s sudden passing. The NewYork Times Book Review calls Hood utterly charming, writing that, Ms. Donoghue displays her confidence by avoiding the grandiose and the showy, and dipping into the ordinary with control and the occasional sustainingdescriptive flashes of a born writer. For readers of Jeanette Winterson s Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and JoyceCarol Oates s The Widow s Story, Donoghue s Hood is a masterfullycrafted narrative of relationships and a daring, deft exploration of the love simperfection--and how it can nonetheless dominate our lives as we grow andchange. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780062117106

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Emma Donoghue
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the New York Times bestselling author of Room, Emma Donoghue, Hood is a graceful tale of a young woman who must come toterms with love and loss in the wake of her partner s sudden passing. The NewYork Times Book Review calls Hood utterly charming, writing that, Ms. Donoghue displays her confidence by avoiding the grandiose and the showy, and dipping into the ordinary with control and the occasional sustainingdescriptive flashes of a born writer. For readers of Jeanette Winterson s Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit and JoyceCarol Oates s The Widow s Story, Donoghue s Hood is a masterfullycrafted narrative of relationships and a daring, deft exploration of the love simperfection--and how it can nonetheless dominate our lives as we grow andchange. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780062117106

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Donoghue, Emma
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062117106

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Donoghue, Emma
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Print on Demand
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Item doesn't include CD/DVD. Bookseller Inventory # 2499982

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Donoghue, Emma
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062117106 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132260560

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Donoghue, Emma
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062117106

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Donoghue, Emma
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. Book Condition: Brand New. Ships from USA. FREE domestic shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 0062117106

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Donoghue, Emma
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062117106 Brand New! Not Overstocks or Low Quality Book Club Editions! Direct From the Publisher! We're not a giant, faceless warehouse organization! We're a small town bookstore that loves books and loves it's customers! Buy from us and you get great service as well as a great price! Your business is valued and your satisfaction is guaranteed!. Bookseller Inventory # OTF-S-9780062117106

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Emma Donoghue
ISBN 10: 0062117106 ISBN 13: 9780062117106
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800621171060000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book