Robison E. Wells Variant

ISBN 13: 9780062114211

Variant

3.93 avg rating
( 19,327 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062114211: Variant

Benson Fisher thought that a scholarship to Maxfield Academy would be the ticket out of his dead-end life.

He was wrong.

Now he's trapped in a school that's surrounded by a razor-wire fence. A school where video cameras monitor his every move. Where there are no adults. Where the kids have split into groups in order to survive.

Where breaking the rules equals death.

But when Benson stumbles upon the school's real secret, he realizes that playing by the rules could spell a fate worse than death, and that escape-his only real hope for survival-may be impossible.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Robison Wells lives in Holladay, Utah, with his wife and three kids. He recently finished graduate school, during which he read and wrote novels when he should have been studying finance. He is also the author ofVariant.

Review:

“An intense journey with some of the most shocking twists and turns I’ve ever read.” (Pittacus Lore, #1 New York Times bestselling author of I Am Number Four)

“A chilling, masterful debut. With its clever premise, quick pace, and easy-to-champion characters, Wells’ story is a fast, gripping read with a cliffhanger that will leave readers wanting more.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Variant is a compelling story on so many levels. I loved it! The twist behind it all is my favorite since Ender’s Game.” (James Dashner, New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner)

“An exciting, edge-of-your-seat read that combines psychological themes from works like Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games and Ender’s Game in a truly unique way. Variant should join the ranks of today’s must-read science fiction and fantasy series. A highly recommended addition to any collection for teens.” (Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (starred review))

“Benson’s account unfolds in a speedy, unadorned first person. Hard to put down from the very first page, this fast-paced novel answers only some of the questions it poses, holding some of the most tantalizing open for the next installment in a series that is anything but ordinary.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Good old-fashioned paranoia taken to giddy extremes. Take Veronica Roth’s Divergent, strip out the angst, add a Michael Grant-level storytelling pace, and you have this very satisfying series starter.” (Booklist)

“Fans seeking a fast-paced, action-heavy read will find this generates a lot of excitement.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Filled with heart-racing action and suspense. An impressive debut with wide appeal, especially for fans of Alexander Gordon Smith’s Lockdown and James Dashner’s The Maze Runner.” (School Library Journal)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: 5.07
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Robison E. Wells
Published by HarperCollins Children's Books (2011)
ISBN 10: 0062114212 ISBN 13: 9780062114211
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Children's Books, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 62114212

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
88.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.07
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds