Elizabeth Crane We Only Know So Much

ISBN 13: 9780062099471

We Only Know So Much

3.2 avg rating
( 956 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062099471: We Only Know So Much

A funny and moving debut novel that follows four generations of a singularly weird American family, all living under one roof, as each member confronts a moment of crisis in a narrative told through a uniquely quirky, charming, and unforgettable voice. Acclaimed short story writer Elizabeth Crane, well known to public radio listeners for her frequent and captivating contributions to WBEZ Chicago’s Writer’s Block Party, delivers a sublime, poignant, and often hilarious first novel, perfect for fans of Jessica Anya Blau’s The Summer of Naked Swim Parties and Heather O’Neill’s Lullabies for Little Criminals.

“Crane has a distinctive and eccentric voice that is consistent and riveting.” —New York Times Book Review

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Jean Copeland, an emotionally withdrawn wife and mother of two, has taken a secret lover—only to lose him in a moment of tragedy that leaves her reeling. Her husband, Gordon, is oblivious, distracted by the fear that he's losing his most prized asset: his memory. Daughter Priscilla (a pill since birth—don't get us started) is talking about clothes, or TV, or whatever, and hatching a plan to extend her maddening reach to all of America. Nine-year-old Otis is torn between his two greatest loves: crossword puzzles and his new girlfriend.

At the back of the house, grandfather Theodore is in the early throes of Parkinson's disease. (And he's fine with it—as long as they continue to let him walk the damn dog alone.) And Vivian, the family's ninety-eight-year-old matriarch, is a razor-sharp grande dame who suffers no fools...and still harbors secret dreams of her own.

With empathy, humor, and an unforgettable voice, Elizabeth Crane reveals what one family finds when everyone goes looking for meaning in all the wrong places.

About the Author:

Elizabeth Crane is the author of the novel We Only Know So Much and three collections of short stories. Her stories have been featured on NPR’s Selected Shorts. She is a recipient of the Chicago Public Library 21st Century Award, and her work has been adapted for the stage by Chicago’s Steppenwolf Theatre Company. A feature film adaptation of We Only Know So Much will be released in 2016.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Crane, Elizabeth
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 8
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW002UKI

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062099477 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # HGT6021MLGG032217H0066

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Elizabeth Crane
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grandisbooks
(Neptune, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. New and unused. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 3148LU001H5R

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Crane, Elizabeth
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062099471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Elizabeth Crane
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A funny and moving debut novel that follows four generations of a singularly weird American family, all living under one roof, as each member confronts a moment of crisis in a narrative told through a uniquely quirky, charming, and unforgettable voice. Acclaimed short story writer Elizabeth Crane, well known to public radio listeners for her frequent and captivating contributions to WBEZ Chicago s Writer s Block Party, delivers a sublime, poignant, and often hilarious first novel, perfect for fans of Jessica Anya Blau s The Summer of Naked Swim Parties and Heather O Neill s Lullabies for Little Criminals. Crane has a distinctive and eccentric voice that is consistent and riveting. --New York Times Book Review. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062099471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Elizabeth Crane
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. A funny and moving debut novel that follows four generations of a singularly weird American family, all living under one roof, as each member confronts a moment of crisis in a narrative told through a uniquely quirky, charming, and unforgettable voice. Acclaimed short story writer Elizabeth Crane, well known to public radio listeners for her frequent and captivating contributions to WBEZ Chicago s Writer s Block Party, delivers a sublime, poignant, and often hilarious first novel, perfect for fans of Jessica Anya Blau s The Summer of Naked Swim Parties and Heather O Neill s Lullabies for Little Criminals. Crane has a distinctive and eccentric voice that is consistent and riveting. --New York Times Book Review. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780062099471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Elizabeth Crane
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. A funny and moving debut novel that follows four generations of a singularly weird American family, all living under one roof, as each member confronts a moment of crisis in a narrative told through a uniquely quirky, charming, and unforgettable voice. Acclaimed short story writer Elizabeth Crane, well known to public radio listeners for her frequent and captivating contributions to WBEZ Chicago s Writer s Block Party, delivers a sublime, poignant, and often hilarious first novel, perfect for fans of Jessica Anya Blau s The Summer of Naked Swim Parties and Heather O Neill s Lullabies for Little Criminals. Crane has a distinctive and eccentric voice that is consistent and riveting. --New York Times Book Review. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9780062099471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062099477

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062099477 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132262279

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Crane, Elizabeth
Published by Harper Perennial (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062099477 ISBN 13: 9780062099471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # BKTY9780062099471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book