Thurston, Baratunde How to Be Black

ISBN 13: 9780062003225

How to Be Black

3.88 avg rating
( 5,468 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780062003225: How to Be Black

The Onion’s Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like “How to Be the Black Friend,” “How to Speak for All Black People,” “How To Celebrate Black History Month,” and more, in this satirical guide to race issues—written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-media’s insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black culture’s richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on America’s blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurston’s How to Be Black.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

“A hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir...Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to ‘be’ anything is to simply be yourself.” ( Publishers Weekly)

“Terrific...How to Be Black is an assault on nostalgia--a satirical, biographic attack on the idea that ‘blackness’ or any label should be derived from historical description.” ( Fast Company)

“A hilarious look at the complexities of contemporary racial politics and personal identity.” ( Booklist)

Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you...Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black. ( The Root)

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.” ( Christian Lander (via Twitter))

From the Back Cover:

  • Have you ever been called "too black" or "not black enough"?
  • Have you ever befriended or worked with a black person?
  • Have you ever heard of black people?
  • If you answered yes to any of these questions, this book is for you. Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has more than over thirty years' experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black. Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from "How to Be the Black Friend" to "How to Be the (Next) Black President" to "How to Celebrate Black History Month."

    "About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

    Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

    1.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New Quantity Available: > 20
    Seller
    BWB
    (Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800620032250000000

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    8
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: FREE
    Within U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    2.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
    Seller
    Big River Books
    (Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW002UPO

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    5.42
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: 2.82
    Within U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    3.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    Published by Harper Collins Publishers
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New Quantity Available: > 20
    Seller
    INDOO
    (Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062003224

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    6.52
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: 2.83
    Within U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    4.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New Quantity Available: 5
    Seller
    GreatBookPrices
    (Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 18569440-n

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    7.44
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: 2.13
    Within U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    5.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    Published by Harper Paperbacks (2012)
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
    Seller
    Book Deals
    (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description Harper Paperbacks, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: The Onion's Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like "How to Be the Black Friend," "How to Speak for All Black People," "How To Celebrate Black History Month," and more, in this satirical guide to race issueswritten for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-media's insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black culture's richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on America's blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurston's How to Be Black. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0062003224

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    9.62
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: FREE
    Within U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    6.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    Published by Harper Paperbacks
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
    Seller
    Movie Mars
    (Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description Harper Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062003224 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 16067608

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    7.43
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: 3.22
    Within U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    7.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
    Seller
    VNHM SHOP
    (Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. New. This item is new unopened, never used and still in its original manufacturer condition. Tracking number will be provided to you so that you may track your order (for all USA orders). Bookseller Inventory # BAA-B-3628159

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    11.40
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: FREE
    Within U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    8.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
    Seller
    Ria Christie Collections
    (Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has over thirty years' experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroic. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780062003225_rkm

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    8.15
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: 3.34
    From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    9.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New Quantity Available: 1
    Seller
    Speedy Hen LLC
    (Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0062003224. Bookseller Inventory # ST0062003224

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    12.33
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: FREE
    Within U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    10.

    Thurston, Baratunde
    Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc
    ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
    New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
    Seller
    THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
    (Southport, United Kingdom)
    Rating
    [?]

    Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, How to be Black, Baratunde Thurston, Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has over thirty years' experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black. Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from "How to Be The Black Friend" to "How to Be The (Next) Black President" to "How to Celebrate Black History Month". To provide additional perspective, Baratunde assembled an award-winning Black Panel-three black women, three black men, and one white man (Christian Lander of "Stuff White People Like") - and asked them such revealing questions as: When did you first realize you were black? How black are you? Can you swim? The result is a humorous, intelligent, and audacious guide that challenges and satirizes the so-called experts, purists, and racists who purport to speak for all black people. With honest storytelling and biting wit, Baratunde plots a path not just to blackness, but one open to anyone interested in simply how to be. Bookseller Inventory # B9780062003225

    More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

    Buy New
    6.68
    Convert Currency

    Add to Basket

    Shipping: 5.94
    From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
    Destination, Rates & Speeds

    There are more copies of this book

    View all search results for this book