14.17 Baratunde Thurston How to Be Black

ISBN 13: 9780062003225

How to Be Black

3.88 avg rating
( 5,685 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780062003225: How to Be Black

The Onion’s Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like “How to Be the Black Friend,” “How to Speak for All Black People,” “How To Celebrate Black History Month,” and more, in this satirical guide to race issues—written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-media’s insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black culture’s richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on America’s blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurston’s How to Be Black.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

How to be Black

Review:

“A hilarious blend of razor-sharp satire and memoir...Using his own story and humor, Thurston demonstrates that the best way to ‘be’ anything is to simply be yourself.” ( Publishers Weekly)

“Terrific...How to Be Black is an assault on nostalgia--a satirical, biographic attack on the idea that ‘blackness’ or any label should be derived from historical description.” ( Fast Company)

“A hilarious look at the complexities of contemporary racial politics and personal identity.” ( Booklist)

Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you...Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black. ( The Root)

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.” ( Christian Lander (via Twitter))

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Baratunde Thurston
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has over thirty years experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black. Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from How to Be The Black Friend to How to Be The (Next) Black President to How to Celebrate Black History Month . To provide additional perspective, Baratunde assembled an award-winning Black Panel-three black women, three black men, and one white man (Christian Lander of Stuff White People Like ) - and asked them such revealing questions as: When did you first realize you were black? How black are you? Can you swim? The result is a humorous, intelligent, and audacious guide that challenges and satirizes the so-called experts, purists, and racists who purport to speak for all black people. With honest storytelling and biting wit, Baratunde plots a path not just to blackness, but one open to anyone interested in simply how to be. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780062003225

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Baratunde Thurston
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Raised by a pro-black, Pan-Afrikan single mother during the crack years of 1980s Washington, DC, and educated at Sidwell Friends School and Harvard University, Baratunde Thurston has over thirty years experience being black. Now, through stories of his politically inspired Nigerian name, the heroics of his hippie mother, the murder of his drug-abusing father, and other revelatory black details, he shares with readers of all colors his wisdom and expertise in how to be black. Beyond memoir, this guidebook offers practical advice on everything from How to Be The Black Friend to How to Be The (Next) Black President to How to Celebrate Black History Month . To provide additional perspective, Baratunde assembled an award-winning Black Panel-three black women, three black men, and one white man (Christian Lander of Stuff White People Like ) - and asked them such revealing questions as: When did you first realize you were black? How black are you? Can you swim? The result is a humorous, intelligent, and audacious guide that challenges and satirizes the so-called experts, purists, and racists who purport to speak for all black people.With honest storytelling and biting wit, Baratunde plots a path not just to blackness, but one open to anyone interested in simply how to be. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780062003225

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Baratunde Thurston
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800620032250000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Thurston, Baratunde
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062003224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Thurston, Baratunde
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780062003225

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Thurston, Baratunde
Published by Harper Paperbacks (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0062003224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Baratunde Thurston
Published by Harper Paperbacks 2012-12-20 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks 2012-12-20, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-04931908

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Thurston, Baratunde
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780062003225

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Thurston, Baratunde
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New Paperback Quantity Available: 18
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 5811753

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Thurston, Baratunde
Published by Harper Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0062003224 ISBN 13: 9780062003225
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0062003224. Bookseller Inventory # Z0062003224ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book