Swarns, Rachel L. American Tapestry

ISBN 13: 9780061999864

American Tapestry

3.54 avg rating
( 216 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061999864: American Tapestry

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama’s mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself.

In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research—in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family—author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama’s black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know.

At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

“Extraordinary. . . . A fascinating account of the First Lady’s family. . . . No political [book] has ever looked like this one.” (New York Times Book Review)

“Riveting. . . . A microcosm of this country’s story. . . . The real-life saga of struggle, survival, triumph and tragedy serves as an uplifting companion to Alex Haley’s Roots.” (USA Today)

“Richly detailed. . . . A lushly layered portrait of the nation itself. . . .Swarns weaves a narrative in which massive social changes (slavery, Reconstruction, the Great Migration) and the microscopic details of DNA play equally important roles.” (Boston Globe)

“Swarns has unearthed and disseminated crucial American history here. . . . A remarkable, only-in-America story that Swarns tells with care and thoughtfulness. . . . Her passion for the story is clear and striking. . . . This book is a worthy and significant endeavor.” (Washington Post)

“Swarns paints a vivid, intriguing portrait of people whose struggles, losses, and triumphs speak volumes about the pull of family and the power of American endurance.” (Los Angeles Times)

“A meticulously researched and eloquently written real-life detective story.” (Essence)

“A completely fascinating look at the complex ancestry of one family, African Americans, and all Americans.” (Booklist (starred review))

“Tremendously moving. . . . Swarns provides numerous tales of heartbreak and achievement, many of which essentially make up the American story.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“An engrossing book. . . . Swarns outlines the fascinating journeys taken by various ancestors of First Lady Michelle Obama—the people who, across the generations, helped make her who she is today.” (Library Journal)

“[A] meticulous, detailed investigation into Mrs. Obama’s family tree. . . . American Tapestry holds rewards.” (Denver Post)

“Swarns discovers an interesting world that not only helps to define the First Lady’s personal background but is also an essential piece of the fabric that makes up America’s roots. . . . A great glimpse into America’s multicultural foundations.” (Upscale Magazine)

“[A] layered, scrupulously researched, and wrenching chronicle.” (Publishers Weekly)

“The First Family becomes ever more fascinating—and ever more representative of the nation as a whole—in Rachel Swarns’s terrific investigation into the roots of Michelle Obama. . . . This is a most compelling read and more evidence for our interconnectedness as a people.” (Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Harvard University professor and host and executive producer of PBS's Finding Your Roots)

“A grand, important book that shows how American bloodlines are rarely wholly black or purely white, neither one race nor another. Nowhere is that more true than in American Tapestry, an eloquent history of the First Lady’s family.” (James McBride, author of the New York Times bestseller The Color of Water)

“Rachel Swarns has not only excavated, with painstaking care, the family tree that is Michelle Obama’s, but, with great insight and beautiful prose, has revealed the complex, eye-opening, and disconcerting experiences that are America. This is a work of impressive historical imagination and deep cultural significance.” (Steven Hahn, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Nation under Our Feet)

“Illuminating. . . . Unforgettable in its sweep and movingly told, American Tapestry has the power to reshape our understanding of the phrase ‘descended from slaves.’” (Janny Scott, author of A Singular Woman: The Untold Story of Barack Obama's Mother)

“In this tour de force of biological sleuthing, Rachel L. Swarns explodes simplistic notions of life and love in the Old South.. . . . Swarns has bestowed upon all Americans a revelatory understanding of our shared racial heritage.” (Fergus M. Bordewich, author of Bound for Canaan)

From the Back Cover:

Michelle Obama's family saga is a remarkable, quintessentially American story—a journey from slavery to the White House in five generations. Yet, until now, little has been reported on the First Lady's roots. Prodigiously researched, American Tapestry traces the complex and fascinating tale of Michelle Obama's ancestors, a history that the First Lady did not even know herself. Rachel L. Swarns, a correspondent for the New York Times, brings into focus the First Lady's black, white, and multiracial forebears, and reveals for the first time the identity of Mrs. Obama's white great-great-great-grandfather—a man who remained hidden in her lineage for more than a century.

American Tapestry illuminates the lives of the ordinary people in Mrs. Obama's family tree who fought for freedom in the Revolutionary and Civil Wars; who endured the agonies of slavery, the disappointment of Reconstruction, the displacement of the Great Migration, and the horrors of Jim Crow to build a better future for their children. Swarns even found a possible link to the Jewish Reform movement.

Though it is an intimate family history, American Tapestry is also the collective chronicle of our changing nation, a nation in which racial intermingling lingers in the bloodlines of countless citizens and slavery was the crucible through which many family lines—black, white, and Native American—were forged.

Epic in scope and beautifully rendered, this is a singularly inspiring story with resonance for us all.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Swarns, Rachel L.
Published by Harper Collins, New York (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061999865 ISBN 13: 9780061999864
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bethel Charkoudian Books
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, New York, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1st Edition, 1st Printing. First Edition, 1st Printing of this brand new hardcover with dustjacket, very fine, gift quality. Publisher's review materials and errata slip included. Bookseller Inventory # 50007

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 17.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Swarns, Rachel L.
Published by Amistad (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061999865 ISBN 13: 9780061999864
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061999865

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 27.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Swarns, Rachel L.
Published by Amistad (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061999865 ISBN 13: 9780061999864
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061999865

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 49.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.48
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Swarns, Rachel L.
Published by Amistad (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061999865 ISBN 13: 9780061999864
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself. In this extraordinary feat of genealogical researchin the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Familyauthor Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama's black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know. At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0061999865

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 52.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Swarns, Rachel L.
Published by Amistad Pr (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061999865 ISBN 13: 9780061999864
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad Pr, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 1st edition, 1st printing edition. 400 pages. 9.25x6.50x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0061999865

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 50.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Swarns, Rachel L.
Published by Amistad (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061999865 ISBN 13: 9780061999864
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Fine Old Books Coastside
(Moss Beach, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Amistad 2012 First Edition, First Printing. Brand new and unread. Condition: fine/fine. Covered in clear archival Brodart wrapper. Packaged with care and shipped in a box to arrive in best condition. Complete satisfaction guarantee; no sale is final until you are satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 120819-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 55.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Swarns, Rachel L.
Published by Amistad Pr (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061999865 ISBN 13: 9780061999864
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Books From California
(Simi Valley, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad Pr, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001300903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 75.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Swarns, Rachel L.
ISBN 10: 0061999865 ISBN 13: 9780061999864
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800619998641.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 98.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds