The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

3.99 avg rating
( 23,104 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061995033: The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The provocative follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Predictably Irrational

  • Why can large bonuses make CEOs less productive?
  • How can confusing directions actually help us?
  • Why is revenge so important to us?
  • Why is there such a big difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy?

In his groundbreaking book Predictably Irrational, social scientist Dan Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us into making unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality, he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term habit, how we learn to love the ones we're with, and more.

Drawing on the same experimental methods that made Predictably Irrational one of the most talked-about bestsellers of the past few years, Ariely uses data from his own original and entertaining experiments to draw arresting conclusions about how—and why—we behave the way we do. From our office attitudes, to our romantic relationships, to our search for purpose in life, Ariely explains how to break through our negative patterns of thought and behavior to make better decisions. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home—and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.

About the Author:

Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University, and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061995037 ISBN 13: 9780061995033
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Poverty Hill Books
(La Grange, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. HARDCOVER, BRAND NEW, Perfect Shape, No Black Remainder Mark,Fast Shipping With Online Tracking, International Orders shipped Global Priority Air Mail, All orders handled with care and shipped promptly in secure packaging, we ship Mon-Sat and send shipment confirmation emails. Our customer service is friendly, we answer emails fast, accept returns and work hard to deliver 100% Customer Satisfaction!. Bookseller Inventory # 9033812

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dan Ariely
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061995037 ISBN 13: 9780061995033
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061995037

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Dan Ariely
ISBN 10: 0061995037 ISBN 13: 9780061995033
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
READERS PRIDE
(PLANO, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # RP0061995037BN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper 2010-06-01 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061995037 ISBN 13: 9780061995033
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2010-06-01, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. 0061995037 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0061995037

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061995037 ISBN 13: 9780061995033
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061995037

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dan Ariely
Published by Harper (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061995037 ISBN 13: 9780061995033
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061995037

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
29.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ariely, Dan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061995037 ISBN 13: 9780061995033
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061995037 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1025135

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
55.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds