A Fractured Light (Beautiful Dark)

4.04 avg rating
( 7,437 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061990687: A Fractured Light (Beautiful Dark)

When Skye wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, she knows something terrible has happened. But it's not until she hears Asher's voice that the memories come rushing back. She struggles to put the past behind her but knows she'll be haunted by the betrayal that almost took her life.

Skye returns home, but nothing is the same. As she tests the limits of her powers, Skye discovers that her abilities are stronger than anyone could have imagined. Now both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as an inevitable war looms between factions. Skye can't get past the terrifying truth she knows about the Order, yet something is holding her back from siding with the Rebellion. With Dark and Light vying for her allegiance, which will Skye turn toward?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jocelyn Davies is the author of A Beautiful Dark and A Fractured Light, the first two books in this captivating trilogy. She edits young adult fiction at a publishing house in New York, a job that has allowed her to cultivate a keen interest in all things angsty, hilarious, and/or unrequited. She is a graduate of Bates College, and lives in an apartment overflowing with books.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 9 Up-After the explosive ending of A Beautiful Dark (HarperCollins, 2011), Skye wakes up to find herself fully healed from Devin's betrayal and assassination attempt. Now aware that she is descended from angels on rival sides of a holy war, she must decide whom she can trust and on which side she will fight. Though she pledges herself to Asher and the Rebels, she finds herself continuously questioning her own balance of powers and her intuition that Devin can be redeemed. As she learns more from her guardian about her parents' decision to fight and where her own human friends may fit into her life, Skye is forced to make some very tough choices. Her love may be strong, but her determination to find her true path will turn out to be even more powerful. While some readers might fear that this novel seems to have the most overdone tropes of the genre-a love triangle and a main character unsure of herself and led by others-those who stick with the story will be rewarded. Davies pushes through and delivers a main character who defies expectations and chooses her own path, refusing those blatantly offered. She neither neglects her human life nor allows herself to be blindly led into a new world by an amazingly good-looking boy. Readers will once again be left breathlessly waiting to see how Skye tackles the challenges set before her, but will find themselves confident that she will find a way to save the day-and herself.-Jessica Miller, New Britain Public Library, CTα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jocelyn Davies
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. When Skye wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, she knows something terrible has happened. But it s not until she hears Asher s voice that the memories come rushing back. She struggles to put the past behind her but knows she ll be haunted by the betrayal that almost took her life.Skye returns home, but nothing is the same. As she tests the limits of her powers, Skye discovers that her abilities are stronger than anyone could have imagined. Now both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as an inevitable war looms between factions. Skye can t get past the terrifying truth she knows about the Order, yet something is holding her back from siding with the Rebellion. With Dark and Light vying for her allegiance, which will Skye turn toward?. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780061990687

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jocelyn Davies
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. But it s not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories of Devin and his shocking betrayal come flooding back. Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she s capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can t forgive the Order for nearly killing her, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion. A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark s shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate s Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick s Hush, Hush saga. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780061990687

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jocelyn Davies
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800619906870000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Davies, Jocelyn
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061990687

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.08
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Davies, Jocelyn
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061990687

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.08
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jocelyn Davies
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. But it s not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories of Devin and his shocking betrayal come flooding back. Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she s capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can t forgive the Order for nearly killing her, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion. A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark s shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate s Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick s Hush, Hush saga. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9780061990687

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Davies, Jocelyn
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 006199068X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Davies, Jocelyn
Published by Harper Collins 2013-08-27 (2013)
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2013-08-27, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061990687B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.63
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jocelyn Davies
Published by HarperCollins (2013)
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001001046

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Davies, Jocelyn
Published by HarperTeen (2013)
ISBN 10: 006199068X ISBN 13: 9780061990687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 006199068X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book