The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini

3.58 avg rating
( 208 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061988912: The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini

For fans of Jerry Spinelli's Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt's The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos's Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson.

When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it's hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home.

No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel.

Rule #8 for Writing a Kid's Novel: Try to include a few lists in your novel. Kids like lists.

After all, Houdini's life is way more interesting than the kid the author wrote about.

Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business; befriend Old Man Jackson, a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously scary dog; and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it's hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is reported missing in action in Iraq.

No matter what, Houdini and his friends will have to stick together to figure out how to do the right thing.

About the Author:

Peter Johnson grew up in Buffalo, New York, at a time when they had a good football team, which seems like fifty years ago. Similar to Benny Alvarez and his friends, Peter always loved words, knowing he was going to be a teacher or a professional baseball player. Also, being from a long line of Irish storytellers, he loved reading and telling tales, and when he realized that his stories changed every time he told them, and that he could get paid for this kind of lying, he decided to become a novelist. His first middle grade novel, The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. AKA Houdini, was named one of the Best Children's Books by Kirkus Reviews, and he's received many writing fellowships, most notably from the National Endowment for the Arts.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Johnson, Peter
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Jerry Spinelli s Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt s The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos s Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson. When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home. No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. For fans of Jerry Spinelli s Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt s The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos s Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson. When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home. No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Peter Johnson
Published by HarperCollins, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Jerry Spinelli s Maniac Magee, Gary D. Schmidt s The Wednesday Wars, and Jack Gantos s Joey Pigza Books comes a hilarious and poignant slice-of-life novel from critically acclaimed author and poet Peter Johnson. When an author comes to speak to his class in a rundown area of Providence, Houdini decides to make money by writing his own novel. Houdini chronicles his life as he and his friends start a leaf-raking business, befriend Old Man Jackson (a Vietnam War veteran with a seriously intimidating dog), and get even with the neighborhood bully, Angel. But it s hard to find a way to write about his dad losing his job or his brother, Franklin, who is first reported missing in action in Iraq and then still seems to be missing when he comes home. No matter what, Houdini and his friends rely on one another to figure out how to do the right thing. And Houdini discovers that writing and thinking about his friends and family lets him get to know them in completely new ways. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Johnson, Peter
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 006198891X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Johnson, Peter
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 006198891X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Johnson, Peter
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Johnson, Peter
Published by Harper Collins 2014-07-29 (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2014-07-29, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061988912B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.54
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Johnson, Peter
Published by HarperCollins 7/29/2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 7/29/2014, 2014. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. The Amazing Adventures of John Smith, Jr. Aka Houdini. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780061988912

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Johnson, Peter
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 006198891X ISBN 13: 9780061988912
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 006198891X. Bookseller Inventory # Z006198891XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book