When the Garden Was Eden: Clyde, the Captain, Dollar Bill, and the Glory Days of the New York Knicks

4.08 avg rating
( 271 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061956249: When the Garden Was Eden: Clyde, the Captain, Dollar Bill, and the Glory Days of the New York Knicks

In the tradition of The Boys of Summer and The Bronx Is Burning, New York Times sports columnist Harvey Araton delivers a fascinating look at the 1970s New York Knicks—part autobiography, part sports history, part epic, set against the tumultuous era when Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, and Bill Bradley reigned supreme in the world of basketball. Perfect for readers of Jeff Pearlman’s The Bad Guys Won!, Peter Richmond’s Badasses, and Pat Williams’s Coach Wooden, Araton’s revealing story of the Knicks’ heyday is far more than a review of one of basketball’s greatest teams’ inspiring story—it is, at heart, a stirring recreation of a time and place when the NBA championships defined the national dream.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The late 1960s and early 1970s, in New York City and America at large, were years marked by political tumult, social unrest . . . and the best professional basketball ever played. Paradise, for better or worse, was a hardwood court in midtown Manhattan.

Harvey Araton has followed the Knicks, old and new, for decades—first as a teenage fan, then as a young sports reporter with the New York Post, and now as a writer and columnist for the New York Times. When the Garden Was Eden is the definitive account of the New York Knicks in their vintage pomp. With measured prose and shoe-leather reporting, Araton relives their most glorious triumphs and bitter rivalries, and casts light on a team all but forgotten outside of pregame highlight reels and nostalgic reunions at the Garden.

About the Author:

Harvey Araton has been a sports columnist for the New York Times since 1991. He lives in Montclair, New Jersey, with his wife and two hoops-loving sons.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Araton, Harvey
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW00269L

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Araton, Harvey
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Harvey Araton
Published by Harper Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Campustexxts
(Vicksburg, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New. We take pride in our customer service, please contact us if you have any questions regarding the listing. Bookseller Inventory # 0061956244

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Araton, Harvey
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061956244

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Araton, Harvey
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Harvey Araton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of The Boys of Summer and The Bronx Is Burning, New York Times sports columnist Harvey Araton delivers a fascinating look at the 1970s New York Knicks--part autobiography, part sports history, part epic, set against the tumultuous era when Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, and Bill Bradley reigned supreme in the world of basketball. Perfect for readers of Jeff Pearlman s The Bad Guys Won!, Peter Richmond s Badasses, and Pat Williams s Coach Wooden, Araton s revealing story of the Knicks heyday is far more than a review of one of basketball s greatest teams inspiring story--it is, at heart, a stirring recreation of a time and place when the NBA championships defined the national dream. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Harvey Araton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In the tradition of The Boys of Summer and The Bronx Is Burning, New York Times sports columnist Harvey Araton delivers a fascinating look at the 1970s New York Knicks--part autobiography, part sports history, part epic, set against the tumultuous era when Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, and Bill Bradley reigned supreme in the world of basketball. Perfect for readers of Jeff Pearlman s The Bad Guys Won!, Peter Richmond s Badasses, and Pat Williams s Coach Wooden, Araton s revealing story of the Knicks heyday is far more than a review of one of basketball s greatest teams inspiring story--it is, at heart, a stirring recreation of a time and place when the NBA championships defined the national dream. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Araton, Harvey
Published by Harper Paperbacks 10/2/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks 10/2/2012, 2012. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. When the Garden Was Eden: Clyde, the Captain, Dollar Bill, and the Glory Days of the New York Knicks. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Harvey Araton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of The Boys of Summer and The Bronx Is Burning, New York Times sports columnist Harvey Araton delivers a fascinating look at the 1970s New York Knicks--part autobiography, part sports history, part epic, set against the tumultuous era when Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, and Bill Bradley reigned supreme in the world of basketball. Perfect for readers of Jeff Pearlman s The Bad Guys Won!, Peter Richmond s Badasses, and Pat Williams s Coach Wooden, Araton s revealing story of the Knicks heyday is far more than a review of one of basketball s greatest teams inspiring story--it is, at heart, a stirring recreation of a time and place when the NBA championships defined the national dream. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061956249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Araton, Harvey
Published by Harper Paperbacks (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061956244 ISBN 13: 9780061956249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Paperbacks, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0061956244

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book