The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

3.89 avg rating
( 883 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061873256: The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

“You’llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again.” —Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of Lobsters

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America’s foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser’s Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire,and John McPhee’s Oranges, Nordhaus’s stunning exposé illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today,offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The honey bee is a willing conscript, a working wonder, an unseen and crucial link in America's agricultural industry. But never before has its survival been so unclear—and the future of our food supply so acutely challenged.

Enter beekeeper John Miller, who trucks his hives around the country, bringing millions of bees to farmers otherwise bereft of natural pollinators. Even as the mysterious and deadly epidemic known as Colony Collapse Disorder devastates bee populations across the globe, Miller forges ahead with the determination and wry humor of a true homespun hero. The Beekeeper's Lament tells his story and that of his bees, making for a complex, moving, and unforgettable portrait of man in the new natural world.

About the Author:

Hannah Nordhaus is the author of the critically acclaimed national bestseller The Beekeeper’s Lament, which was a PEN Center USA Book Awards finalist, Colorado Book Awards finalist, and National Federation of Press Women Book Award winner. She has written for the Financial Times, Los Angeles Times, Outside magazine, the Times Literary Supplement, Village Voice, and many other publications.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hannah Nordhaus
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. You llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again. -Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of LobstersAward-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America s foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser s Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan s The Botany of Desire,and John McPhee s Oranges, Nordhaus s stunning expose illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today,offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780061873256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hannah Nordhaus
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. You llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again. -Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of LobstersAward-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America s foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser s Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan s The Botany of Desire,and John McPhee s Oranges, Nordhaus s stunning expose illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today,offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780061873256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Nordhaus, Hannah
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061873256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Nordhaus, Hannah
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 006187325X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Nordhaus, Hannah
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2011. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061873256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Nordhaus, Hannah
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 006187325X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.66
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Nordhaus, Hannah
Published by Harper Perennial 2011-05-24 (2011)
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2011-05-24, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Original. 006187325X Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quanities available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS92-9780061873256-11-7868

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Nordhaus, Hannah
Published by Harper Perennial 5/24/2011 (2011)
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 5/24/2011, 2011. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780061873256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Nordhaus, Hannah
Published by Harper Perennial (2011)
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New!. Bookseller Inventory # 006187325X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.28
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Hannah Nordhaus
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 006187325X ISBN 13: 9780061873256
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. You llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again. -Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of LobstersAward-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America s foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser s Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan s The Botany of Desire,and John McPhee s Oranges, Nordhaus s stunning expose illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today,offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061873256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book