An Eagle Named Freedom: My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

3.98 avg rating
( 376 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061826740: An Eagle Named Freedom: My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

"A hauntingly beautiful story of rescue and rehabilitation....[A] gorgeous tale of redemption."
--Susan Richards, New York Times bestselling author of Chosen by a Horse

"I could not put this book down."
--Stacey O'Brien, New York Times bestselling author of Wesley the Owl

In the tradition of A Lion Called Christian and Alex and Me comes An Eagle Named Freedom, Jeff Guidry's remarkable story of how he rehabilitated a severely damaged bald eagle back to health--and how the majestic bird later inspired the author to triumph over cancer. Animal lovers and readers fascinated by the spiritual ties between animals and humans will not soon forget this beautiful, inspiring true tale of an extraordinary friendship.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

From the moment Jeff Guidry saw the baby eagle with broken wings, his life was changed. For weeks he and the staff at Sarvey Wildlife Care Center in Puget Sound, Washington, tended to the injured bird. Miraculously, she recovered, and Jeff, a center volunteer, became her devoted caretaker. Though Freedom would never fly, she had Jeff as her wings. And after Jeff was diagnosed with stage three non-Hodgkin's lymphoma in 2000, Freedom returned his gift. Between sessions of debilitating chemotherapy, Jeff's visits to Freedom and their special bond soothed his spirit and gave him the strength to fight. A tender tale of hope, love, trust, and life, this moving true story is an affirmation of the spiritual connection that humans and animals share.

About the Author:

Jeff Guidry is a rock and rhythm-and-blues guitarist who has played with such artists as Brian Wilson of the Beach Boys and guitarist Roy Buchanan. He spends his spare time volunteering for the Sarvey Wildlife Care Center in Washington State. He lives in Monroe, Washington.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Guidry, Jeff
Published by William Morrow, U.S.A. (2010)
ISBN 10: 006182674X ISBN 13: 9780061826740
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Renaissanceman Books
(Albany, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, U.S.A., 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. New. First. (First stated and number line starts with 1 plus has advance praise on dust jacket.) Could be gifted. Dust jacket not clipped ($21.99). No markings or writings inside or out. Not a remainder. Bookseller Inventory # 002179

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Guidry, Jeff
Published by William Morrow (2010)
ISBN 10: 006182674X ISBN 13: 9780061826740
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11006182674X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
32.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Guidry, Jeff
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 006182674X ISBN 13: 9780061826740
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006182674X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1778507

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.86
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jeff Guidry
Published by William Morrow (2010)
ISBN 10: 006182674X ISBN 13: 9780061826740
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX006182674X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
64.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jeff Guidry
Published by William Morrow (2010)
ISBN 10: 006182674X ISBN 13: 9780061826740
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 006182674X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
69.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds