The Taste of Tomorrow: Dispatches from the Future of Food

3.53 avg rating
( 148 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061804212: The Taste of Tomorrow: Dispatches from the Future of Food

For fans of Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman, Josh Schonwald delivers a fascinating investigation into the trends and technologies that are transforming the world of food before our very eyes—from Alice Waters's micro farm to nanotechnology and beyond. Building upon the knowledge base we have gained from such books as The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Schonwald takes our contemporary conversation about food a step further, debunking myths, clarifying controversies (such as the current storm over GMOs, or genetically modified organisms), and exploring the wild possibilities that food science and chemical engineering are making realities today—from food pills to new species of scratch-built fish.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

A fascinating look at the people, trends, and technologies transforming the food of today and tomorrow

In The Taste of Tomorrow, journalist Josh Schonwald sets out on a journey to investigate the future of food. His quest takes him across the country and into farms and labs around the globe. From Alice Waters' microfarm to a Pentagon facility that has quietly shaped American supermarkets, The Taste of Tomorrow is a rare, behind-the-scenes glimpse at what we eat today—and what we'll be eating tomorrow.

Schonwald introduces us to a motley group of mad scientists, entrepreneurs, renegade farmers, and food engineers who are revolutionizing the food we eat. We meet the Harvard-trained pedia-trician who wants to change the way humans raise fish; a New York chef who believes he's found the next great ethnic cuisine; a lawyer-turned-nanotechnologist who believes he can solve human nutritional needs without using food.

In this lively and fascinating book, Schonwald explains how new foods happen; why some foods explode on the scene virtually overnight while others take decades—and countless failures—to catch on. And he doesn't shy away from controversy. Although the book begins as a simple search for "the salad, meat, seafood, and pad Thai of the future," Schonwald becomes increasingly focused on finding environmentally friendly foods of the future. Ultimately, he comes to believe that emerging scientific breakthroughs—genetic engineering, nanotechnology, food processing—are essential to feeding the globe's expanding (and hungry) population.

About the Author:

Josh Schonwald has written for the New York Times, the Washington Post, and Salon. He lives in Evanston, Illinois, with his wife, children, and indoor aquaponic system.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Josh Schonwald
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # BK0114571

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Schonwald, Josh
Published by Harper 2012-04-10 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2012-04-10, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061804215. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061804215ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Schonwald, Josh
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061804215. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061804215ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Schonwald, Josh
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061804215. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061804215ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Josh Schonwald
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061804215

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Josh Schonwald
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800618042121.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Josh Schonwald
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800618042120000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Josh Schonwald
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman, Josh Schonwald delivers a fascinating investigation into the trends and technologies that are transforming the world of food before our very eyes-from Alice Waters s micro farm to nanotechnology and beyond. Building upon the knowledge base we have gained from such books as The Omnivore s Dilemma, Schonwald takes our contemporary conversation about food a step further, debunking myths, clarifying controversies (such as the current storm over GMOs, or genetically modified organisms), and exploring the wild possibilities that food science and chemical engineering are making realities today-from food pills to new species of scratch-built fish. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780061804212

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Josh Schonwald
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman, Josh Schonwald delivers a fascinating investigation into the trends and technologies that are transforming the world of food before our very eyes-from Alice Waters s micro farm to nanotechnology and beyond. Building upon the knowledge base we have gained from such books as The Omnivore s Dilemma, Schonwald takes our contemporary conversation about food a step further, debunking myths, clarifying controversies (such as the current storm over GMOs, or genetically modified organisms), and exploring the wild possibilities that food science and chemical engineering are making realities today-from food pills to new species of scratch-built fish. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780061804212

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Schonwald, Josh
ISBN 10: 0061804215 ISBN 13: 9780061804212
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061804212

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book