Forgive Me, I Meant to Do It: False Apology Poems

3.79 avg rating
( 1,121 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061787256: Forgive Me, I Meant to Do It: False Apology Poems

HardCover Pub Date: 2012 Pages: 80 in Publisher: HarperCollins Inspired by William Carlos Williams s famous poem This Is Just to Say. Gail Carson Levine s newest book is On a collection of funny and original false apology poems that gleefully imagine how tricksters feel about the mischief they make. Is Timmy really sorry for eating your ice-cream sundae Don t bet on it. Matthew Cordell s playful line art captures the clever. lighthearted spirit of the poems. The irreverent humor and lively illustrations will appeal to fans of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky and to those who like their poetry more tongue-in-cheek than overly sweet.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

This Is Just to Say

If you’re looking for a nice happy book

put this one down and run away quickly

Forgive me sweetness and good cheer are boring

Inspired by William Carlos Williams’s famous poem ”This Is Just to Say,” Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine delivers a wickedly funny collection of her own false apology poems, imagining how tricksters really feel about the mischief they make. Matthew Cordell’s clever and playful line art lightheartedly captures the spirit of the poetry. This is the perfect book for anyone who’s ever apologized . . . and not really meant it.

Review:

“A playful primer on insincerity for budding poets. This mischievous collection is sure to engage the devilish side of readers of all ages.” (Kirkus)

“Readers will enjoy sharing the surprising selections, which will make them rethink what they thought they knew.” (Booklist (starred review))

“Levine models more than 40 poems after William Carlos Williams’s “This Is Just to Say,” taking its quasi-repentant tone to a whole new level. Poetry fans fine-tuning their sense of sarcasm need look no further. ” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Gleeful false-apology poems. Taking as her model William Carlos William’s poem about purloined plums, “This Is Just to Say,” Ms. Levine has devised verses written from the point of view of any number of unrepentant malefactors. Matthew Cordell’s comic drawings leaven the mordant wit.” (Wall Street Journal)

“Gail Carson Levine’s gleefully snarky poems in “Forgive Me, I Meant to Do It” go a long way in turning this high-minded literary form into a joy for youngsters and their adults.” (Sacramento Bee)

“The collection overall possesses appealing irreverence and vitality. The open and breezy format adds accessibility, with each spread offering one or two of the terse verses offset by Cordell’s humorous art, monochromatic, wittily scrawled images often containing their own exclamations or sound effects.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

Praise for A Tale of Two Castles:“A thoroughly delicious romp from the author of Ella Enchanted. The plot is winningly unpredictable, the characters easy to relate to, the humor subtle and the action well-paced. Newbery Honor-winner Levine has once again breathed new life into old stories.” (Kirkus Reviews (starred review))

Praise for A Tale of Two Castles:“Readers are certain to be pulled, like Elodie herself, right into the midst of the rich and swirling life of Two Castles.” (School Library Journal)

Praise for Writing Magic:“Levine encourages readers to take their work seriously while remembering to have fun. An informative and encouraging must-read for young writers.” (School Library Journal (starred review))

Praise for Writing Magic:“A veritable treasure trove of advice and guidance for writers across a range of ages.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

Praise for Writing Magic:“Writing Magic is a great introduction to writing for children. The “voice” is upbeat and not condescending. It is clearly written, and includes examples when they are needed. As far as I know, there is nothing else like this available.” (Harold Underdown, author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Publishing Children's Books)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gail Carson Levine
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800617872560000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Levine, Gail Carson
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061787256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Levine, Gail Carson
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061787256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Levine, Gail Carson
Published by Harper Collins 2012-03-13 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2012-03-13, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061787256B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.62
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Levine, Gail Carson
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061787256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gail Carson Levine
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Matthew Cordell (illustrator). 231 x 175 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This Is Just to Say If you re looking for a nice happy book put this one down and run away quickly Forgive me sweetness and good cheer are boring Inspired by William Carlos Williams s famous poem This Is Just to Say, Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine delivers a wickedly funny collection of her own false apology poems, imagining how tricksters really feel about the mischief they make. Matthew Cordell s clever and playful line art lightheartedly captures the spirit of the poetry. This is the perfect book for anyone who s ever apologized .and not really meant it. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061787256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Gail Carson Levine
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Matthew Cordell (illustrator). 231 x 175 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This Is Just to Say If you re looking for a nice happy book put this one down and run away quickly Forgive me sweetness and good cheer are boring Inspired by William Carlos Williams s famous poem This Is Just to Say, Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine delivers a wickedly funny collection of her own false apology poems, imagining how tricksters really feel about the mischief they make. Matthew Cordell s clever and playful line art lightheartedly captures the spirit of the poetry. This is the perfect book for anyone who s ever apologized .and not really meant it. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061787256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Levine, Gail Carson
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061787256. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061787256ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Levine, Gail Carson
Published by HarperCollins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061787256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gail Carson Levine
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061787256 ISBN 13: 9780061787256
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Hardback. Book Condition: New. Matthew Cordell (illustrator). 231 x 175 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. This Is Just to Say If you re looking for a nice happy book put this one down and run away quickly Forgive me sweetness and good cheer are boring Inspired by William Carlos Williams s famous poem This Is Just to Say, Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine delivers a wickedly funny collection of her own false apology poems, imagining how tricksters really feel about the mischief they make. Matthew Cordell s clever and playful line art lightheartedly captures the spirit of the poetry. This is the perfect book for anyone who s ever apologized .and not really meant it. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061787256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book