15.20 Joshua Gaylord Hummingbirds: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780061769023

Hummingbirds: A Novel

3.19 avg rating
( 469 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061769023: Hummingbirds: A Novel

"Those of us who love Muriel Spark's The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord's winning debut." —Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New England

"Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord's stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance." —Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You

In the tradition of Francine Prose's Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep, and Alan Bennett's The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord's Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining—and darkly surprising—relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Hummingbirds is a wonderfully compelling novel about the intertwining and darkly surprising relationships at the elite Carmine-Casey School for Girls on Manhattan's Upper East Side, where the rivalries and secrets of teachers and students intersect and eventually collide.

In the world of students, popular Dixie Doyle battles to wrest attention away from Liz Warren, who spends her time writing and directing plays based on the Oresteia. In the world of teachers, Leo Binhammer must now share his territory with Ted Hughes, the new English teacher who threatens Binhammer's status as sole owner of the girls' hearts. Seasons change and tensions mount as the students, longing for entry into the adult world, toy with their premature powers of flirtation. The deceptive innocence of adolescence becomes a trap into which flailing teachers fall, as the line between maturity and youth begins to blur.

About the Author:

Joshua Gaylord has taught at an Upper East Side prep school for the past ten years. He also teaches literature and cultural studies as an adjunct professor at the New School. He lives in New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gaylord, Joshua
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061769029. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061769029ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gaylord, Joshua
Published by Harper Collins 2009-10-01 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2009-10-01, 2009. Softcover. Book Condition: New. Softcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061769023B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.60
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gaylord, Joshua
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061769023

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gaylord, Joshua
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061769023

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Joshua Gaylord
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Those of us who love Muriel Spark s The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord s winning debut. --Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist s Guide to Writers Homes in New England Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord s stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance. --Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You In the tradition of Francine Prose s Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld s Prep, and Alan Bennett s The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord s Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining--and darkly surprising--relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061769023

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gaylord, Joshua
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061769029

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Joshua Gaylord
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Those of us who love Muriel Spark s The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord s winning debut. --Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist s Guide to Writers Homes in New England Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord s stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance. --Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You In the tradition of Francine Prose s Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld s Prep, and Alan Bennett s The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord s Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining--and darkly surprising--relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780061769023

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Joshua Gaylord
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Those of us who love Muriel Spark s The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord s winning debut. --Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist s Guide to Writers Homes in New England Hummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight. Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them, Gaylord s stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance. --Jonathan Tropper, author of This Is Where I Leave You In the tradition of Francine Prose s Blue Angel, Curtis Sittenfeld s Prep, and Alan Bennett s The History Boys, Joshua Gaylord s Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining--and darkly surprising--relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all-girls prep school in New York City. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061769023

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Gaylord, Joshua
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Item doesn't include CD/DVD. Bookseller Inventory # 811855

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gaylord, Joshua
Published by Harper Perennial (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061769029 ISBN 13: 9780061769023
New Paperback Quantity Available: 13
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061769029

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book