The Big Scrum: How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Football

3.53 avg rating
( 221 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061744501: The Big Scrum: How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Football

John J. Miller delivers the intriguing, never-before-told story of how Theodore Roosevelt saved American Football—a game that would become the nation’s most popular sport. Miller’s sweeping, novelistic retelling captures the violent, nearly lawless days of late 19th century football and the public outcry that would have ended the great game but for a crucial Presidential intervention. Teddy Roosevelt’s championing of football led to the creation of the NCAA, the innovation of the forward pass, a vital collaboration between Walter Camp, Charles W. Eliot, John Heisman and others, and, ultimately, the creation of a new American pastime. Perfect for readers of Douglas Brinkley’s Wilderness Warrior, Michael Lewis’s The Blind Side, and Conn and Hal Iggulden’s The Dangerous Book for Boys, Miller’s The Big Scrum reclaims from the shadows of obscurity a remarkable story of one defining moment in our nation’s history.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"Football enthusiasts and Theodore Roosevelt admirers will both enjoy and learn from these little-known but important historic events that preserved from extinction one of America's favorite sports."
--Tweed Roosevelt, president of the Theodore Roosevelt Association
 
"In Miller's hands, the story of Theodore Roosevelt's love for, and defense of, 'the great game' has as much vigor and passion as Roosevelt himself. It's a fascinating, thoroughly American tale."
--Candice Millard, author of The River of Doubt
 
"The Big Scrum tells the fascinating story of why Teddy Roosevelt thought football was so relevant to American life, and how and why the game he essentially fathered became one of this country's most important cultural institutions. At a time when a coalition of suburban soccer moms and misguided caretakers of American athletics are hell-bent on watering down the game of football, you should take the time to read this book."
--Sal Paolantonio, national correspondent, ESPN

About the Author:

John J. Miller is director of the Dow Journalism Program at Hillsdale College, national correspondent for National Review, a contributor to the Wall Street Journal, and the author of five books, including the novel The First Assassin.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Miller, John J.
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061744506 ISBN 13: 9780061744501
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061744506 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # HCI2686DHGG041117H0133A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John J. Miller
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061744506 ISBN 13: 9780061744501
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0061744506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John J. Miller
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061744506 ISBN 13: 9780061744501
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061744506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.01
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Miller, John J.
Published by Scarborough, ON, Canada: HarperCollins Canada, Limited (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061744506 ISBN 13: 9780061744501
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
bainebridge booksellers
(Bronx, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scarborough, ON, Canada: HarperCollins Canada, Limited, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. Language: eng Language: eng. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-8714789577

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Miller, John J.
Published by Harper 2011-04-12 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061744506 ISBN 13: 9780061744501
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2011-04-12, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 0061744506 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0061744506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.01
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Miller, John J.
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061744506 ISBN 13: 9780061744501
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110061744506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
30.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Miller, John J.
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061744506 ISBN 13: 9780061744501
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061744506 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0017640

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds