08 (Quality PB) Gordon, Alex Gideon: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780061687372

Gideon: A Novel

3.38 avg rating
( 303 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061687372: Gideon: A Novel

Preston & Child meets Kim Harrison in this edge-of-your-seat debut thriller—a superb blend of mystery, urban fantasy, horror, romance, and the supernatural.

When Lauren’s father dies, she makes a shocking discovery. The man she knew as John Reardon was once a completely different person, with a different name. Now, she’s determined to find out who he really was, even though her only clues are an old photograph, some letters, and the name of a town—Gideon.

But someone—or something—doesn’t want her to discover the truth. A strange man is stalking her, appearing everywhere she turns, and those who try to help her end up dead. Neither a shadowy enemy nor her own fear are going to prevent her from solving the mystery of her father—and unlocking the secrets of her own life.

Making her way to Gideon, Lauren finds herself more confused than ever. Nothing in this small Midwestern town is what it seems, including time itself. Residents start going missing, and Lauren is threatened by almost every townsperson she encounters. Two hundred years ago, a witch was burned at the stake, but in Gideon, the past feels all too chillingly present . . .

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

This is an edge-of-your-seat supernatural thriller from debut author Alex Gordon - think Preston & Child meets Kim Harrison - in which a community of gate keepers is forced to battle a centuries old demon, and their only hope for safety lies in the hands of a young woman who's never heard of them.

Review:

“A deliciously creepy paranormal thriller, Gideon sucks you in one step at a time until you are well and truly caught in the story. Highly recommended.” (Anne Bishop, New York Times bestselling author of the Black Jewels trilogy)

“A seductive work of paranormal horror that will draw readers into its cold and gloomy world. …This novel will thoroughly satisfy readers looking for suspense, horror and a grisly good time.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Crisp and shiveringly disturbing prose, a solid plot, and well-developed characters all make for a deeply satisfying read.” (Publishers Weekly)

“...Gideon delivers a fast-paced plot that makes you want to finish it in a day, even if you don’t have time. ...Gordon’s descriptions of the petty jealousies and the insular nature of a small town make this paranormal novel feel scarily realistic.” (Washington Post)

“Fast paced and filled with lively details, Gordon’s prose propels readers into a fantastical world that is haunting to the very end.” (Shelf Awareness)

“With a superbly drawn supporting cast....and a singularly fantastic location, Gordon has created a wonderful entry in the field of contemporary fantasy. She’s sure to attract a legion of fans, eager for her next book. Highly recommended.” (SFRevu)

“This debut supernatural tale does a solid job of portraying the menace of small-town evil. ... This will appeal to fans of books such as Katherine Howe’s The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane or Deborah Harkness’s A Discovery of Witches.” (Library Journal (starred review))

“...An engaging and suspenseful story.” (Booklist)

“Anchored by well-crafted prose that features a creepy-as-hell villain, Gideon feels like Arthur Miller’s “The Crucible” brilliantly reconceived in a Neil Gaiman-esque universe. Gordon hooks readers from page one ... making for a book that is impossible to put down.” (RT Book Reviews (4.5 stars))

“I definitely recommend Gideon to anyone who loves dark urban fantasy stories.” (Gizmo's Reviews)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alex Gordon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 203 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is an edge-of-your-seat supernatural thriller from debut author Alex Gordon - think Preston Child meets Kim Harrison - in which a community of gate keepers is forced to battle a centuries old demon, and their only hope for safety lies in the hands of a young woman who s never heard of them. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780061687372

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alex Gordon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 203 x 132 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is an edge-of-your-seat supernatural thriller from debut author Alex Gordon - think Preston Child meets Kim Harrison - in which a community of gate keepers is forced to battle a centuries old demon, and their only hope for safety lies in the hands of a young woman who s never heard of them. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780061687372

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Alex Gordon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # HR-9780061687372

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gordon, Alex
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800616873720000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Alex Gordon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Gideon: A Novel, Alex Gordon, This is an edge-of-your-seat supernatural thriller from debut author Alex Gordon - think Preston & Child meets Kim Harrison - in which a community of gate keepers is forced to battle a centuries old demon, and their only hope for safety lies in the hands of a young woman who's never heard of them. Bookseller Inventory # B9780061687372

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gordon, Alex
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. original edition. 464 pages. 7.00x5.00x1.00 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0061687375

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Alex Gordon
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc 2010-11-15, New York (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc 2010-11-15, New York, 2010. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061687372

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Gordon, Alex
Published by Harper Voyager 2015-02-12 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager 2015-02-12, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BNT-01466758

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

GORDON ALEX
Published by HCP US (PG UK) (2015)
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HCP US (PG UK), 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780061687372 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0988467

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gordon, Alex
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0061687375 ISBN 13: 9780061687372
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061687375 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 13353568

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.62
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book