Cardboard Universe, The: A Guide to the World of Phoebus K. Dank (P.S.)

3.56 avg rating
( 101 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061686368: Cardboard Universe, The: A Guide to the World of Phoebus K. Dank (P.S.)

Genius or fraud? Hack or Hemingway? The life and work of obese, obsessive, logorrheic pulp novelist Phoebus K. Dank have long enflamed bitter controversy—and numerous drunken rants often culminating in vomiting, unconsciousness, or both. In this uproarious novel, Christopher Miller pulls back the curtain on two unforgettable critics—fawning scholar William Boswell (the world's leading Dankian) and his mortal enemy, the murderously snarky Owen Hirt. No stone is left unturned—and no gooey mess unstepped in—in this essential study of Dank's all-too-brief existence and all-too-extensive oeuvre.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

“A delight . . . a Day-Glo Pale Fire, and maybe the best pure comic novel of the year.” (The Believer, citing The Cardboard Universe as a finalist for The Believer Book Awards)

“Ingenious.…In the vein of John Kennedy Toole, Swift, and Twain, it’s a tall tale that touches on all manner of topics, from bizarre clothing to punk rock to insomnia….packed with literary allusion and commentary, along with splashes of mystery…a brilliant, deliriously wordy stab at reimagining and recasting fiction.” (Boston Globe)

“[A] pulp Pale Fire…hilarious.…It’s deranged metafiction at its most entertaining. (Details)

“A Dickian feat of science-meta-fiction . . . plenty of devastating laughs . . . tragically funny and funnily tragic.” (The Wire (Portsmouth, NH))

“Must reading for [Philip K.] Dick fans and anyone who enjoys a little irreverent fun at the expense of a literary world.” (Booklist)

“Miller’s brilliant, hilarious The Cardboard Universe must be read immediately. Sentence by sentence, Miller proves himself a top-notch comedian, a master of invention, and a writer with a big heart.” (Deb Olin Unferth)

“The funniest novel I’ve read in years. Smart, clever, and utterly original…an instant classic that belongs on the same shelf as Catch-22, Portnoy’s Complaint, and A Confederacy of Dunces….[with] mindblowing plot twists worthy of Philip K. Dick himself, merciless mockery of everything ridiculous about the literary life.” (Mark Jude Poirier, author of Goats and Modern Ranch Living, screenwriter of Smart People)

“Chris Miller’s powers of invention seem infinite…one of the most original books I’ve read in a long time.” (Lynne Sharon Schwartz)

About the Author:

Christopher Miller is the author of Sudden Noises from Inanimate Objects, a Seattle Times Best Book of the Year. He teaches at Bennington College in Vermont.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Miller, Christopher
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW003LHL

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.68
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Miller, Christopher
Published by Harper Perennial 2009-04-14 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2009-04-14, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. 0061686360 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quanities available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS92-9780061686368-11-7859

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Miller, Christopher
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800616863680000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Miller, Christopher
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061686360

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Miller, Christopher
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061686368

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Christopher Miller
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. From his humble beginnings as a scribbler of generic science fictions to the night of his horrifying death, Phoebus Kinsman Dank was probably the only real genius of our time, and certainly the most prolific.So writes William Bill Boswell, the nation s leading Dankian scholar and coauthor of The Cardboard Universe , the seminal biographical guide to the science fiction writer s life and work. After years of tracking the obese, obsessive, and logorrheic pulp novelist, Boswell joins his coauthor, critic, and disaffected fellow acolyte Owen Hirt, to create the ultimate guide to Dank s life and work: a biographical encyclopedia, in which the two memorialize - and fight over - Dank s treasured yet hackneyed body of work. As the reader is pulled along by the unbelievable antics of Dank, the raucous Boswell vs. Hirt backstory gradually comes into focus, and eventually subsumes the story altogether. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061686368

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Christopher Miller
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800616863681.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Christopher Miller
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. From his humble beginnings as a scribbler of generic science fictions to the night of his horrifying death, Phoebus Kinsman Dank was probably the only real genius of our time, and certainly the most prolific.So writes William Bill Boswell, the nation s leading Dankian scholar and coauthor of The Cardboard Universe , the seminal biographical guide to the science fiction writer s life and work. After years of tracking the obese, obsessive, and logorrheic pulp novelist, Boswell joins his coauthor, critic, and disaffected fellow acolyte Owen Hirt, to create the ultimate guide to Dank s life and work: a biographical encyclopedia, in which the two memorialize - and fight over - Dank s treasured yet hackneyed body of work. As the reader is pulled along by the unbelievable antics of Dank, the raucous Boswell vs. Hirt backstory gradually comes into focus, and eventually subsumes the story altogether. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061686368

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Christopher Miller
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. From his humble beginnings as a scribbler of generic science fictions to the night of his horrifying death, Phoebus Kinsman Dank was probably the only real genius of our time, and certainly the most prolific.So writes William Bill Boswell, the nation s leading Dankian scholar and coauthor of The Cardboard Universe , the seminal biographical guide to the science fiction writer s life and work. After years of tracking the obese, obsessive, and logorrheic pulp novelist, Boswell joins his coauthor, critic, and disaffected fellow acolyte Owen Hirt, to create the ultimate guide to Dank s life and work: a biographical encyclopedia, in which the two memorialize - and fight over - Dank s treasured yet hackneyed body of work. As the reader is pulled along by the unbelievable antics of Dank, the raucous Boswell vs. Hirt backstory gradually comes into focus, and eventually subsumes the story altogether. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061686368

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Christopher Miller
Published by Harper Perennial (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061686360

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book