Cardboard Universe, The: A Guide to the World of Phoebus K. Dank

3.58 avg rating
( 103 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061686368: Cardboard Universe, The: A Guide to the World of Phoebus K. Dank

Genius or fraud? Hack or Hemingway? The life and work of obese, obsessive, logorrheic pulp novelist Phoebus K. Dank have long enflamed bitter controversy—and numerous drunken rants often culminating in vomiting, unconsciousness, or both. In this uproarious novel, Christopher Miller pulls back the curtain on two unforgettable critics—fawning scholar William Boswell (the world's leading Dankian) and his mortal enemy, the murderously snarky Owen Hirt. No stone is left unturned—and no gooey mess unstepped in—in this essential study of Dank's all-too-brief existence and all-too-extensive oeuvre.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Christopher Miller is the author of the novels The Cardboard Universe, a Huffington Post Best Book of the Year and finalist for the Believer Book of the Year Award, and Sudden Noises from Inanimate Objects, a Seattle Times Best Book of the Year. He lives in Annapolis, Maryland.

Review:

“A delight . . . a Day-Glo Pale Fire, and maybe the best pure comic novel of the year.” (The Believer, citing The Cardboard Universe as a finalist for The Believer Book Awards)

“Ingenious....In the vein of John Kennedy Toole, Swift, and Twain, it’s a tall tale that touches on all manner of topics, from bizarre clothing to punk rock to insomnia....packed with literary allusion and commentary, along with splashes of mystery...a brilliant, deliriously wordy stab at reimagining and recasting fiction.” (Boston Globe)

“[A] pulp Pale Fire...hilarious....It’s deranged metafiction at its most entertaining. (Details)

“A Dickian feat of science-meta-fiction . . . plenty of devastating laughs . . . tragically funny and funnily tragic.” (The Wire (Portsmouth, NH))

“Must reading for [Philip K.] Dick fans and anyone who enjoys a little irreverent fun at the expense of a literary world.” (Booklist)

“Miller’s brilliant, hilarious The Cardboard Universe must be read immediately. Sentence by sentence, Miller proves himself a top-notch comedian, a master of invention, and a writer with a big heart.” (Deb Olin Unferth)

“The funniest novel I’ve read in years. Smart, clever, and utterly original...an instant classic that belongs on the same shelf as Catch-22, Portnoy’s Complaint, and A Confederacy of Dunces....[with] mindblowing plot twists worthy of Philip K. Dick himself, merciless mockery of everything ridiculous about the literary life.” (Mark Jude Poirier, author of Goats and Modern Ranch Living, screenwriter of Smart People)

“Chris Miller’s powers of invention seem infinite...one of the most original books I’ve read in a long time.” (Lynne Sharon Schwartz)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Miller, Christopher
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW003LHL

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Miller, Christopher
Published by Harper Perennial 2009-04-14 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2009-04-14, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. 0061686360 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quanities available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS92-9780061686368-11-7859

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Miller, Christopher
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061686368

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Miller, Christopher
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061686360

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Miller, Christopher
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061686360 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132261714

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Christopher Miller
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. Genius or fraud? Hack or Hemingway? The life and work of obese, obsessive, logorrheic pulp novelist Phoebus K. Dank have long enflamed bitter controversy-and numerous drunken rants often culminating in vomiting, unconsciousness, or both. In this uproarious novel, Christopher Miller pulls back the curtain on two unforgettable critics-fawning scholar William Boswell (the world s leading Dankian) and his mortal enemy, the murderously snarky Owen Hirt. No stone is left unturned-and no gooey mess unstepped in-in this essential study of Dank s all-too-brief existence and all-too-extensive oeuvre. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061686368

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Christopher Miller
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Genius or fraud? Hack or Hemingway? The life and work of obese, obsessive, logorrheic pulp novelist Phoebus K. Dank have long enflamed bitter controversy-and numerous drunken rants often culminating in vomiting, unconsciousness, or both. In this uproarious novel, Christopher Miller pulls back the curtain on two unforgettable critics-fawning scholar William Boswell (the world s leading Dankian) and his mortal enemy, the murderously snarky Owen Hirt. No stone is left unturned-and no gooey mess unstepped in-in this essential study of Dank s all-too-brief existence and all-too-extensive oeuvre. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061686368

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Christopher Miller
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Genius or fraud? Hack or Hemingway? The life and work of obese, obsessive, logorrheic pulp novelist Phoebus K. Dank have long enflamed bitter controversy-and numerous drunken rants often culminating in vomiting, unconsciousness, or both. In this uproarious novel, Christopher Miller pulls back the curtain on two unforgettable critics-fawning scholar William Boswell (the world s leading Dankian) and his mortal enemy, the murderously snarky Owen Hirt. No stone is left unturned-and no gooey mess unstepped in-in this essential study of Dank s all-too-brief existence and all-too-extensive oeuvre. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061686368

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Miller, Christopher
Published by Perennial Pr (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Perennial Pr, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 1st edition. 522 pages. 8.00x5.25x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0061686360

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Christopher Miller
Published by Harper Perennial (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061686360 ISBN 13: 9780061686368
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0061686360

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book