Down and Out on Murder Mile: A Novel

3.93 avg rating
( 373 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061582868: Down and Out on Murder Mile: A Novel

After exhausting their resources in the slums of Los Angeles, a junkie and his wife settle in London's "murder mile," the city's most violent and criminally corrupt section. Persevering past failed treatments, persistent temptation, urban ennui, and his wife's ruinous death wish, the nameless narrator fights to reclaim his life.

In prose that could peel paint from a car, Tony O'Neill re-creates the painfully comic, often tragic days of a recovering heroin addict.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Tony O'Neill is the author of Digging the Vein and Down and Out on Murder Mile, and the coauthor of Neon Angel and the New York Times bestseller Hero of the Underground. He lives in New York with his wife and daughter.

Review:

“Down and Out on Murder Mile doesn’t disappoint if you’re looking for a visceral, grisly experience...Fans of Irvine Welsh and Warren Ellis are sure to enjoy this dark, disturbing journey.” (Metro)

The continuation of O’Neill’s autobiographical debut, Digging the Vein (2006), even more caustic than its predecessor...whip-smart...Call it a junkie fairy tale: Boy meets girl, gets clean and lives. The whole truth with no reservations: not a pretty story, but a rare telling. (Kirkus Reviews)

“Fast-paced, compulsively readable portrait of a young would-be rocker junkie...the novel’s consistent tone of urgency and desperation creates a gritty world of its own that compels.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Tony O’Neill is one of my favorite new writers, and DOWN AND OUT ON MURDER MILE is his best book yet. In O’Neill’s wizardlike hands, all the drugs and sex, the fierce fights and shouts and blaring rock & roll, amount to a story both horrifying and beautiful.” (Scott Heim, author of Mysterious Skin and We Disappear)

“Finishing DOWN AND OUT ON MURDER MILE hurts. O’Neill paints a vividly original picture of addiction and recovery that made my veins thirst and my heart worry.” (Josh Kilmer-Purcell, author of Candy Everybody Wants and I Am Not Myself These Days)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

ONeill, Tony
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY82M006VLR

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.63
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

O'Neill, Tony
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061582868

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.01
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

O'Neil, Tony
Published by Harper Collins 2008-11-01 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2008-11-01, 2008. Softcover. Book Condition: New. Softcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061582868B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.53
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tony O Neill
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. After exhausting their resources in the slums of Los Angeles, a junkie and his wife settle in London s murder mile, the city s most violent and criminally corrupt section. Persevering past failed treatments, persistent temptation, urban ennui, and his wife s ruinous death wish, the nameless narrator fights to reclaim his life. In prose that could peel paint from a car, Tony O Neill re-creates the painfully comic, often tragic days of a recovering heroin addict. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061582868

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Tony O Neill
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. After exhausting their resources in the slums of Los Angeles, a junkie and his wife settle in London s murder mile, the city s most violent and criminally corrupt section. Persevering past failed treatments, persistent temptation, urban ennui, and his wife s ruinous death wish, the nameless narrator fights to reclaim his life. In prose that could peel paint from a car, Tony O Neill re-creates the painfully comic, often tragic days of a recovering heroin addict. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061582868

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

O'neill, Tony
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061582867

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Tony O Neill
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. After exhausting their resources in the slums of Los Angeles, a junkie and his wife settle in London s murder mile, the city s most violent and criminally corrupt section. Persevering past failed treatments, persistent temptation, urban ennui, and his wife s ruinous death wish, the nameless narrator fights to reclaim his life. In prose that could peel paint from a car, Tony O Neill re-creates the painfully comic, often tragic days of a recovering heroin addict. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061582868

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

O'Neill, Tony
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061582867 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132260632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.01
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Tony O'Neill
Published by HarperPerennial (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperPerennial, 2008. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TH9780061582868

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.66
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Tony O'Neill
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN 10: 0061582867 ISBN 13: 9780061582868
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Down and Out on Murder Mile: A Novel, Tony O'Neill, After exhausting their resources in the slums of Los Angeles, the nameless narrator and his wife settle in London's worst section - its 'murder mile.' There, perservering past failed treatments and heartbreaking relapses, the narrator reclaims his life and recovers. His wife does not. Bookseller Inventory # B9780061582868

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book