Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

3.78 avg rating
( 12,763 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061561559: Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

Sixteen-year-old Clariel is not adjusting well to her new life in the city of Belisaere, the capital of the Old Kingdom. She misses roaming freely within the forests of Estwael, and she feels trapped within the stone city walls. And in Belisaere she is forced to follow the plans, plots and demands of everyone, from her parents to her maid to the sinister Guildmaster Kilip. Clariel can see her freedom slipping away. It seems too that the city itself is descending into chaos, as the ancient rules binding Abhorsen, King and Clayr appear to be disintegrating. With the discovery of a dangerous Free Magic creature loose in the city, Clariel is given the chance both to prove her worth and make her escape. But events spin rapidly out of control. Clariel finds herself more trapped than ever, until help comes from an unlikely source. But the help comes at a terrible cost. Clariel must question the motivations and secret hearts of everyone around her - and it is herself she must question most of all.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Beautifully written, magnificently imagined, and wholly original, CLARIEL is Garth Nix's finest work yet. --Holly Black, New York Times bestselling author of THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN

This is a must-read ... fans will be sated and new readers will fall in love with the characters and lavish-landscapes --The Times

In this long-awaited prequel, Garth Nix shows us why his Old Kingdom books have influenced a generation of fantasy writers. --Cassandra Clare

About the Author:

Garth Nix was born in 1963 in Melbourne, Australia. A full-time writer since 2001, he has worked as a literary agent, marketing consultant, book editor, book publicist, book sales representative, bookseller, and a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve. Garth's books include the award-winning fantasy novels SABRIEL, LIRAEL and ABHORSEN and the science fiction novels SHADE'S CHILDREN and A CONFUSION OF PRINCES. His fantasy novels for children include THE RAGWITCH; the six books of THE SEVENTH TOWER sequence; THE KEYS TO THE KINGDOM series; and with Sean Williams, the TROUBLETWISTERS books and SPIRIT ANIMALS: BLOOD TIES. More than five million copies of Garth's books have been sold around the world, his books have appeared on the bestseller lists of THE NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, THE GUARDIAN and THE AUSTRALIAN, and his work has been translated into 40 languages. He lives in Sydney, Australia. Follow Garth on twitter at @garthnix or at www.garthnix.com

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nix, Garth
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800615615590000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Nix, Garth
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2014)
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2014. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061561559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Garth Nix
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen, Garth Nix. Bookseller Inventory # B9780061561559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Garth Nix
Published by HarperCollins, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, United States, 2014. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 224 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic and is perfect for fans of Rae Carson, Kristin Cashore, Scott Westerfeld, and Cassandra Clare. Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the King. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the King?. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061561559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Garth Nix
Published by HarperCollins, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, United States, 2014. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 224 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic and is perfect for fans of Rae Carson, Kristin Cashore, Scott Westerfeld, and Cassandra Clare. Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the King. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the King?. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061561559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Garth Nix
Published by HarperCollins 2014-10-14 (2014)
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 2014-10-14, 2014. hardback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061561559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Nix, Garth
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2014)
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2014. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061561559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.62
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Nix, Garth
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006156155X Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 17247392

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.62
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Nix, Garth
Published by Harper Collins (2014)
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TH9780061561559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.33
From Germany to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Nix, Garth
ISBN 10: 006156155X ISBN 13: 9780061561559
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Print on Demand
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Item doesn't include CD/DVD. Bookseller Inventory # 7716315

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10.01
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book