De Santis, Pablo The Paris Enigma

ISBN 13: 9780061479687

The Paris Enigma

3.24 avg rating
( 821 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061479687: The Paris Enigma

An elegant, atmospheric literary puzzle thriller that will delight equally fans of crime fiction and ‘The Shadow of the Wind’

In turn of the century Europe, Jack the Ripper stalks the streets of London and the city of Paris marvels at a new spectacle: the Eiffel Tower. As visitors are drawn to glimpse the centrepiece in an exhibition of wonderful scientific creation, another momentous gathering is taking place in the city.

Twelve of the world’s greatest sleuths have gathered to dicuss their most famous cases and debate the nature of mystery. When one of them is found viciously murdered, however, the symposium becomes an elite task force dedicated to solving the outrage.

For a young apprentice policeman, Sigmund Salvatorio, this is the chance to realize a dream of working with some of the finest criminologists to ever practice. But as, one by one, members of the committee fall prey to the mysterious killer, the dream becomes a shocking nightmare…

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Australian praise:

‘By turns comforting and confronting, it s a prizewinner in its original Spanish. There should be more like it for aficionados of crime fiction’ Courier Mail

Praise for ‘The Paris Enigma’:

‘Discriminating general readers as well as whodunit fans will enjoying this outstanding puzzler… de Santis conjures up a veritable Justice league of master sleuths… intelligent and entertaining’ Publishers Weekly

‘A beguiling historical whodunit’ New York Times

‘Murder and mayhem… colourful characters and cases create a hazy atmosphere of intelligent escapism’ Washington Post

‘Luminous thriller… tightly spun and a quick read, thanks to the able translation’ Wall St Journal

‘Provokes thought as well as entertainment’ Associated Press

About the Author:

Pablo De Santis was born in Buenos Aires, studied Literature at the Universidad de Buenos Aires and subsequently worked as a journalist and comic-strip creator, becoming Editor-in-Chief of one of Argentina’s leading comics magazines, Fierro. De Santis is also the author of a number of books for young adults. He lives in Buenos Aires.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061479683. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061479683ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

De Santis, Pablo
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EYDQW001436

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper Perennial (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of Caleb Carr's The Alienist and Eric Larsen's The Devil in the White City comes The Paris Enigma, a gripping tale of murder and the art of crime solving. Written in a strikingly original voice, and poignantly evoking a world about to lose its innocence forever, The Paris Enigma features two detectives who find themselves in a race against time around glorious fin de sicle Paris, encountering all manner of secret societies and solving philosophical puzzles, while also trying to save a dangerously beautiful woman. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0061479683

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper Perennial 2009-12-08 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2009-12-08, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0061479683. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061479683ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 6
Seller
K12books
(Scottsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061479683 Multiple Copies! NEW with no wear, sharp corners, usually ships within 24 hours. Expedited shipping available. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061479683ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper Perennial (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061479683

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by PERENNIAL (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PERENNIAL, 2009. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days.THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IP-9780061479687

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by HARPER PERENNIAL, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER PERENNIAL, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 201 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.In the tradition of The Alienist and The Devil in the White City comes a gripping, atmospheric tale of murder and the art of crime solving. Paris, 1889: in anticipation of the World s Fair and the opening of Monsieur Eiffel s tower, a society of the world s most famous detectives convenes as a single body for the very first time. Sent in place of a conspicuously absent Renato Craig, founding member of The Twelve, his novice assistant Sigmundo Salvatrio arrives, bearing a secret message for the brilliant, brooding Viktor Arzaky, Craig s best friend and the society s cofounder. When one of The Twelve is discovered murdered at the Tower s base--the first in a series of grisly slayings--it falls to Arzaky and Salvatrio, the last remaining student of Craig s famed Academy for Detectives in Buenos Aires, to find and stop the killer. But what the two discover as they race around fin-de-siEcle Paris--encountering secret societies, philosophical puzzles, and an imperiled, dangerously beautiful woman--has shattering consequences that will alter the fate of their precious brotherhood forever. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780061479687

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

De Santis, Pablo
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800614796871.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

De Santis, Pablo
ISBN 10: 0061479683 ISBN 13: 9780061479687
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Item doesn't include CD/DVD. Bookseller Inventory # 810977

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book