The Paris Enigma: A Novel

3.26 avg rating
( 888 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061479670: The Paris Enigma: A Novel

In the tradition of Caleb Carr's The Alienist and Eric Larsen's The Devil in the White City comes a gripping tale of murder and the art of crime solving, atmospherically set during the 1889 Paris World's Fair.

It is 1889, and the entire world breathlessly anticipates the Paris World's Fair and the opening of Monsieur Eiffel's iconic tower. The Twelve Detectives—a society of the twelve most famous, compelling, and dazzling detectives from around the world—have been asked to discuss the secrets of their trade as part of the fair's lineup of events. The Twelve travel to Paris to convene as a single body for the first time, but also, if some whispers are to be believed, to debate the very philosophy that underlies their pursuit of the world's most wanted criminals.

But one detective is conspicuously absent: the legendary founding member of The Twelve, Renato Craig, will not attend. In his place he sends his novice assistant, Sigmundo Salvatrio—son of a shoemaker, a lifelong detective-arts devotee, and the only remaining student of Craig's famed Academy for Detectives in Buenos Aires. Salvatrio arrives in Paris, carrying a secret message meant only for Craig's best friend and cofounder of The Twelve, the brilliant, brooding, and fiercely competitive Viktor Arzaky.

When a member of The Twelve is discovered dead at the foot of the gleaming Eiffel Tower, the first in what turns into a series of grisly murders, Arzaky and Salvatrio find themselves in a race against time around glorious fin de siècle Paris, encountering all manner of secret societies, solving philosophical puzzles, while also trying to save a dangerously beautiful woman.

The pair soon realizes that the stakes involved are unimaginably high; they must not only catch the stalking murderer but also alter the fate of their precious brotherhood.

Written in a strikingly original voice, and poignantly evoking a world about to lose its innocence forever, The Paris Enigma opens a window onto crime solving's early days, when wit, common sense, and intelligence were the only tools a detective could rely on.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the tradition of The Alienist and The Devil in the White City comes a gripping, atmospheric tale of murder and the art of crime solving.

Paris, 1889: in anticipation of the World's Fair and the opening of Monsieur Eiffel's tower, a society of the world's most famous detectives convenes as a single body for the very first time. Sent in place of a conspicuously absent Renato Craig, founding member of The Twelve, his novice assistant Sigmundo Salvatrio arrives, bearing a secret message for the brilliant, brooding Viktor Arzaky, Craig's best friend and the society's cofounder. When one of The Twelve is discovered murdered at the Tower's base—the first in a series of grisly slayings—it falls to Arzaky and Salvatrio, the last remaining student of Craig's famed Academy for Detectives in Buenos Aires, to find and stop the killer. But what the two discover as they race around fin-de-siècle Paris—encountering secret societies, philosophical puzzles, and an imperiled, dangerously beautiful woman—has shattering consequences that will alter the fate of their precious brotherhood forever.

About the Author:

A journalist and comic-strip creator who became editorin chief of one of Argentina’s leading comics magazines,Pablo De Santis is the author of six critically acclaimed novels, one work of nonfiction, and a number of books for young adults. His works have been published in more than twenty countries. He lives in Buenos Aires.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061479675 ISBN 13: 9780061479670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061479675 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # HGT6315RMLC102616H1021

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061479675 ISBN 13: 9780061479670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Skymedia
(PLANTATION, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061479675 TRACKING NUMBER INCLUDED New Unread Book May have some very minor shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # A-1-170

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper 2008-11-11 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061479675 ISBN 13: 9780061479670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Cellar, LLC
(Nashua, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2008-11-11, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061479675 BRAND NEW. Over 1,000,000 satisfied customers since 1997! We ship daily M-F. Choose expedited shipping (if available) for much faster delivery. Delivery confirmation on all US orders. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061479675ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Pablo De Santis
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061479675 ISBN 13: 9780061479670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061479675

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Santis, Pablo De
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061479675 ISBN 13: 9780061479670
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Enterprise Books
(Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition; First Printing. New. No notes. No names or ANY markings. DJ not price clipped ($24.95). ; Author's 1st mystery. ; 244 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 48097

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper 2008-11-11 (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061479675 ISBN 13: 9780061479670
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2008-11-11, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 0061479675 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0061479675

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Pablo De Santis
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061479675 ISBN 13: 9780061479670
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0061479675

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061479675 ISBN 13: 9780061479670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061479675

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

De Santis, Pablo
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061479675 ISBN 13: 9780061479670
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061479675 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0954006

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds