Jake Ransom and the Skull King's Shadow

3.87 avg rating
( 2,331 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061473807: Jake Ransom and the Skull King's Shadow

When a mysterious envelope arrives for Jake Ransom, he and his older sister, Kady, are plunged into a gripping adventure. An artifact found by their archaeologist parents on an expedition from which they never returned leads Jake and Kady to a strange world inhabited by a peculier mix of long-lost civilisations, a world that may be the key to their parents' disappearence - if Jake and Kady can survive long enough to solve the mystery.

Blockbuster adult author James Rollins delivers all the thrills and spills he's famous for in an adventure perfect for fans of Alex Rider , Maximum Ride and Indiana Jones.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Three years ago, a mysterious package arrived for Jake and Kady Ransom. Inside were two halves of a Mayan gold coin, their mother's sketchbook and their father's notebook. But their architect parents failed to return from an expedition to the site of a long-lost Mayan civilization. Now Jake and Kady are plunged into a terrifying adventure. Someone is very interested in what's happened to their parents. And in Jake and Kady themselves. So begins a journey into a world of dangers both ancient and modern. Can Jake and Kady survive long enough to solve the mystery?

Review:

A breathtaking and original tale of two young people who find themselves in a mysterious and dangerous world... the book is not merely a high-octane, suspense-filled thriller. There is just enough detail about the varied civilisations within Calypsos to whet the appetite of young readers, and while they wait for the next book in the series, many will feel encouraged to do some further research. ( THE BOOKBAG)

A Children's title that parents will find themselves sneaking out of their kid's room for a crafty read...Entertaining, enlightening and with the pace and exoticism of a Jaguar; we couldn't peel our eyes away from page after page... the only disappointment came when we realised we'd reached then end. Rollins may be a good thriller writer, but he is a magnificent children's author. ( THE TRUTH ABOUT BOOKS)

James Rollins is a brilliant author who is blessed with the talent of being able to entertain readers of all ages. Very few books appeal to everybody, but this amazing plotline is a definite exception! People will practically have their eyes glued to each page of it as the plot quickly unfolds before them. (Amy Naylor, age 14)

I would recommend this book for children aged 10+. It's a great storyline with twists and turns on every page, a real thriller. I would also recommend this book to fantasy lovers, and fans of historical fiction... I loved this book and hopefully others will too. (Reuben, age 11 CHICKLISH)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

James Rollins
ISBN 10: 0061473804 ISBN 13: 9780061473807
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800614738071.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
37.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds