The Believers: A Novel

3.36 avg rating
( 4,599 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061430206: The Believers: A Novel

“[Zoe Heller] is an extraordinarily entertaining writer, and this novel showcases her copious gifts, including a scathing, Waugh-like wit.”—New York Times

Best-selling author Zoe Heller has followed up the critical and commercial success of What Was She Thinking? Notes on a Scandal with another tour-de-force on the meaning of faith, belief, and trust: The Believers. Tragic and comic, witty and intense, The Believers is the story of a dysfunctional family forced by tragedy to confront their own personal demons. In the vein of Claire Messud and Zadie Smith, Zoe Heller has written that rare novel that tackles the big ideas without sacrificing page-turning readability.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

When radical New York lawyer Joel Litvinoff is felled by a stroke, his wife, Audrey, uncovers a secret that forces her to reexamine everything she thought she knew about their forty-year marriage. Joel’s children will soon have to come to terms with this discovery themselves, but for the meantime, they are struggling with their own dilemmas and doubts.

Rosa, a disillusioned revolutionary, has found herself drawn into the world of Orthodox Judaism and is now being pressed to make a commitment to that religion. Karla, a devoted social worker hoping to adopt a child with her husband, is falling in love with the owner of a newspaper stand outside her office. Ne’er-do-well Lenny is living at home, approaching another relapse into heroin addiction.

In the course of battling their own demons—and one another—the Litvinoff clan is called upon to examine long-held articles of faith that have formed the basis of their lives together and their identities as individuals. In the end, all the family members will have to answer their own questions and decide what—if anything—they still believe in.

Hailed by the Sunday Times (London) as "one of the outstanding novels of the year," The Believers explores big ideas with a light touch, delivering a tragic, comic family story as unsparing as it is filled with compassion.

About the Author:

Zoe Heller is the author of two previous novels, Everything You Know and Notes on a Scandal, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2003. She lives in New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Heller, Zoe
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 006143020X ISBN 13: 9780061430206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006143020X Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # HCI6665SRGG061117H0022

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Heller, Zoe
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 006143020X ISBN 13: 9780061430206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Barnes & Nooyen Books
(Spring, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New Condition, Hardcover Book, Bookseller Inventory # 1705280023

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Zoe Heller
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 006143020X ISBN 13: 9780061430206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX006143020X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Heller, Zoe
Published by Harper 2009-03-03 (2009)
ISBN 10: 006143020X ISBN 13: 9780061430206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2009-03-03, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006143020X We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-006143020X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Zoe Heller
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 006143020X ISBN 13: 9780061430206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M006143020X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Heller, Zoe
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 006143020X ISBN 13: 9780061430206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P11006143020X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
24.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Heller, Zoe
Published by Harper Collins Publishers, Inc., New York, NY, U.S.A. (2009)
ISBN 10: 006143020X ISBN 13: 9780061430206
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Joe Staats, Bookseller
(Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers, Inc., New York, NY, U.S.A., 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First American Edition. Signed and dated by author on title page. Author of NOTES ON A SCANDAL. New, opened only for signing, in new, mylar-protected dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory # 18922

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
39.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Heller, Zoe
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 006143020X ISBN 13: 9780061430206
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006143020X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0858763

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds