Late for Tea at the Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams of My Iraqi Family

3.69 avg rating
( 282 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061240409: Late for Tea at the Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams of My Iraqi Family

“It’s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this.” —Christopher Hitchens

In the tradition of Jung Chang’s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir’s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi’s unique memoir of returning to her family’s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter’s journey through the annals of her family’s tumultuous history, Chalabi’s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Just ten days after Baghdad’s fall in 2003, Tamara Chalabi arrived in the city after a lifetime in exile—finally entering the homeland she’d known only through stories and her own imagination.

Investigating four generations of her family’s history at the forefront of Iraqi society, Chalabi offers a rich portrait of Middle Eastern life and a provocative look at a lost Iraq. Unforgettable characters provide glimpses of the end of the Ottoman Empire, the birth of the Iraqi state, the flowering of “the Paris of the Middle East,” and Iraq’s descent into chaos. At once intimate and magisterial, Chalabi’s memoir of return and reclamation vividly captures the rich history of a country shattered by war and a family that has never forgotten its past.

About the Author:

Tamara Chalabi holds a PhD in history from Harvard University. She has written for The Wall Street Journal, The New Republic, Slate, and The Sunday Times, among other publications.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. It s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this. --Christopher Hitchens In the tradition of Jung Chang s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi s unique memoir of returning to her family s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter s journey through the annals of her family s tumultuous history, Chalabi s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061240409

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. It s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this. --Christopher Hitchens In the tradition of Jung Chang s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi s unique memoir of returning to her family s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter s journey through the annals of her family s tumultuous history, Chalabi s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061240409

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. It s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this. --Christopher Hitchens In the tradition of Jung Chang s Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir s Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi s unique memoir of returning to her family s homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter s journey through the annals of her family s tumultuous history, Chalabi s powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061240409

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc. Paperback / softback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Late for Tea at the Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams of My Iraqi Family, Tamara Chalabi, Just ten days after Baghdad's fall in 2003, Tamara Chalabi arrived in the city after a lifetime in exile--finally entering the homeland she'd known only through stories and her own imagination. Investigating four generations of her family's history at the forefront of Iraqi society, Chalabi offers a rich portrait of Middle Eastern life and a provocative look at a lost Iraq. Unforgettable characters provide glimpses of the end of the Ottoman Empire, the birth of the Iraqi state, the flowering of "the Paris of the Middle East," and Iraq's descent into chaos. At once intimate and magisterial, Chalabi's memoir of return and reclamation vividly captures the rich history of a country shattered by war and a family that has never forgotten its past. Bookseller Inventory # B9780061240409

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by Harper Perennial, New York
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, New York. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780061240409

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Chalabi, Tamara
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061240409

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.20
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Chalabi, Tamara
Published by Harper Perennial 2012-01-31 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial 2012-01-31, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0061240400 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% guarantee. Multiple quanities available. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS92-9780061240409-11-8452

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10.61
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by Perennial (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Perennial, 2012. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TH9780061240409

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
From Germany to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Chalabi, Tamara
Published by Perennial (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Perennial, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. reprint edition. 448 pages. 8.50x5.50x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-0061240400

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Tamara Chalabi
Published by Harper Perennial (2012)
ISBN 10: 0061240400 ISBN 13: 9780061240409
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061240400

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.82
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book